"Cotton in the Coast and Upland Fields of South Carolina"This collection consists of an article titled, “Cotton In The Coast And Upland Fields Of South Carolina” taken from Frank Leslie’s Magazine and written by Jennie Haskell Rose (1856-1935) in 1880. The Article contains a detailed account of the growing and processing of cotton in South Carolina. It is a straightforward account of the different types of cotton and the methods used to turn it into wearable fabric. What is most striking about the article is its portrayal of African-Americans and its pro-slavery bias. It depicts a South still struggling to find itself after the Civil War and the failure of Reconstruction.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Alberta Tucker Grimes PapersAlberta Tucker Grimes (1909-2002) was an educator from Greenville, South Carolina and was the first black school counselor in Greenville County and later became the first full-time African-American counselor in the state. She helped establish the first Head Start Program in the state of South Carolina in Greenville County which was charted on June 15, 1965. The Head Start program she started in Greenville became the model for similar programs throughout the state.
Alberta Tucker Grimes (1909-2002) was an educator from Greenville, South Carolina and was the first black school counselor in Greenville County and later became the first full-time African-American counselor in the state. She helped establish the first Head Start Program in the state of South Carolina in Greenville County which was charted on June 15, 1965. The Head Start program she started in Greenville became the model for similar programs throughout the state. The Alberta Tucker Grimes Papers consist of original charter of the Greenville County Head Start (June 15, 1965), correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings, certificates, and programs relating to Mrs. Grimes’ tenure as president of the Palmetto Education Association and founder of Greenville Project Head Start social work.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Alfred D. Gilchrist Architectural DrawingsThe collection consists of architectural drawings and other related items of Alfred D. Gilchrist (1873-1944). Gilchrist predominately operated in South Carolina and North Carolina from 1913 to 1940. He started working in Rock Hill, SC as the manager of the Rock Hill office of Hook and Rogers, Architects in 1913 and by 1920, he opened his own office in Rock Hill which he maintained through 1940.
The drawings consist of homes, public buildings (i.e. schools, city government buildings, etc.), and private businesses that were mainly located in York County (SC) and Chester County (SC). Some of Mr. Gilchrist’s architectural drawings were done in other cities/locations including: Blackstock, (SC), Darlington (SC), Dillon (SC), Gaffney (SC), Kershaw (SC), Lancaster (SC), Liberty Hill (SC), Mullins (SC), Morganton (NC), Shelby (NC), Winnsboro (SC), Winston-Salem (NC).
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Arnold Michael Shankman Papers - 1Dr. Arnold Shankman (1945-1983) was a highly regarded historian whose scholarship included the American Civil War, the Old South, ethnic and immigrant history, southern Jewish history, civil rights, and women’s history.
Dr. Shankman received his B.A. from Knox College and his M.A. and Ph.D. from Emory University, where he studied under the tutelage of renowned Civil War historian Bell Wiley. Shankman also studied for a year at Harvard with Oscar Handlin, the patriarch of American immigrant history. As a Professor of History at Winthrop University from 1975 to 1983, Dr. Shankman embarked upon his own impressive career, which included the publication of four books, more than 50 articles, and numerous speeches and public service activities. Beloved by students and colleagues, Dr. Shankman’s career was cut short by his untimely death from cancer at the age of 37.
The Arnold Shankman Papers consist mainly of photocopies of manuscript collections which Dr. Shankman used for his research and writing. Included are pamphlets, biographical sketches, correspondence and newspaper accounts. Most of the collection relates to the American Civil War, particularly in Illinois, Georgia, and Pennsylvania, but there is material relating to Jewish history, African-Americans and United States foreign relations.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Arnold Michael Shankman Papers - 2Dr. Arnold Shankman (1945-1983) was a highly regarded historian whose scholarship included the American Civil War, the Old South, ethnic and immigrant history, southern Jewish history, civil rights, and women’s history.
Dr. Shankman received his B.A. from Knox College and his M.A. and Ph.D. from Emory University, where he studied under the tutelage of renowned Civil War historian Bell Wiley. Shankman also studied for a year at Harvard with Oscar Handlin, the patriarch of American immigrant history. As a Professor of History at Winthrop University from 1975 to 1983, Dr. Shankman embarked upon his own impressive career, which included the publication of four books, more than 50 articles, and numerous speeches and public service activities. Beloved by students and colleagues, Dr. Shankman’s career was cut short by his untimely death from cancer at the age of 37.
The Arnold Shankman Papers are a treasure trove of historical research in a variety of areas. Within the American Civil War era, Shankman had extensively researched the “copperhead” movement of northern opposition to the war and was an expert on one of its leading members, Clement Vallandigham. Pursuing his interest in ethnic history, Dr. Shankman was a pioneer in the study of how ethnic and immigrant groups viewed each other. For example, he was one of the first to use early African-American newspapers to determine the views of blacks toward Italian immigrants and other groups. Shankman also was singularly instrumental in the publication of the speeches and writings of Marion Wright, a 20th century crusader for civil rights in North and South Carolina. Many of Mr. Wright’s papers are included within the Shankman files. In addition, Dr. Shankman’s papers include a wide variety of other interesting topics, many concerning the activities of individuals whose stories might have been lost otherwise. For example, Shankman’s papers include his research into the lives of Jewish immigrants to South Carolina in the late 19th and early 20th century, as well as the activism of women such as Dorothy Tilly, a Methodist and advocate for civil rights, and the Hicks sisters of Bainbridge, Georgia, who were early proponents of Socialism.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Arthur Cornwall PapersThe Arthur Cornwall Papers consist of personal, professional, genealogical and reference files of writer, musician, and historian Arthur Cornwall. The collection contains correspondence, radio scripts, feature articles, genealogical research notes, photographs, scrapbooks, and newspaper clippings. Of particular value are the genealogical files which contain exhaustive research relating to the Cornwall-Cornwell and Colvin families of Chester County. The collection includes genealogical research on many other Chester County families, such as Bennett, Coleman, Feaster, Hardin, Loving, Tims, Wylie, and Yongue. Included are many community histories.
The Arthur Cornwall Papers were donated to the Winthrop College Archives and Special Collections by Mrs. Edith B. Coogler, wife of Arthur Cornwall’s nephew, P. Lamar Coogler, on November 26, 1979.
Arthur Cornwall (1900-1979) was a resident of Chester, South Carolina and a writer, author, musician, and secretary (1934-1942) to Congressman J.P. Richards.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
The Attitude of the Antebellum South on Slavery SpeechThis collection consists of a draft of a speech delivered in Rock Hill, South Carolina on May 10, 1913 titled, “The Attitude of the Antebellum South on Slavery.” The speech contains information on the history of slavery, how the institution was perceived by Southern society before and after being forced to hardline their position following Northern pressure to end the practice, and how the South’s position was justified leading up to the American Civil War.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Ball Family PapersThe Ball Family was established in South Carolina in 1698 with the arrival of the emigrant Isaac Ball (ca. 1675-1751). His first wife was Elizabeth Harleston (d. 1720). His son, Elias Ball (1709-1786), married Lydia Chicken, the widow of Capt. George Chicken (d. 1746), who was the son of George Chicken (d. 1727). Members of the Ball family owned numerous plantations in the Berkeley County area. John Ball (1760-1817), son of Elias Ball (1709-1786), owned Kensington, Comingtee, Strawberry, and other properties; among his children were: Isaac Ball (1785-1825); William James Ball (1787-1808); and John Ball (1782- 1834), who married first Elizabeth Bryan, and secondly, Ann Simons (1776-1840). William James Ball (1821-1891) was the son of Isaac Ball (1785-1825). The Ball family was related to the Harleston family through several intermarriages; the Bond family was related to the Harlestons and Balls through the marriage of Sarah Harleston and Dr. William Read (1754- 1845), who was the son of James Read and Rebecca Bond (1730-ca. 1786). *Historical Note is a copy of the Note produced by The South Carolina Historical Society which contains the originals as Ball family papers, 1631-1895, SCHS 1134.00.
The Ball Family Papers consists of 52 microfiche that covers the operation of several plantations on the Cooper River in the Berkeley County area in South Carolina. The Ball Family Papers consist of correspondence, legal documents, wills and estate papers, plantation papers and slave records, accounts, receipts, genealogical material, plats, and other items pertaining to the Ball family and related families. The collection also includes the papers of John Ball (1760-1817), William James Ball (1787-1808), Ann Simons Ball (1776-1840), John Ball (1782-1834), and William James Ball (1821-1891), as well as the journal (1715-1716) of Captain George Chicken (d. 1727). Also included are releases (1645-1646) to John and Edward Harleston of England, and the epitaph (ca. 1699) of James Bond (d. 1699) of England.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Benjamin Ryan Tillman Address**Please note, this collection was created by "unreconstructed white supremacist'" Benjamin Ryan Tillman and therefore might contain language that has no place in society today.**
Benjamin Ryan Tillman [1847-1918] was Governor of South Carolina 1890-1894 and U.S. Senator 1894-1918. Tillman was one of the leading figures in Winthrop's early history and helped get Winthrop put on State support in 1891.
The Benjamin Ryan Tillman Address consists of Tillman's version of the Ned Tennant (July 1874 and February 1875) and the Hamburg (July 1876) race riots, which occurred in Edgefield County, South Carolina. Tillman was Governor of South Carolina1890-1894 and U.S. Senator 1894-1918. The speech appears to be a draft of a speech Tillman delivered in Anderson, SC on August 25, 1909.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Buffalo Room Incident InterviewThis collection consists of a the first draft of a history and a typescript copy of an interview with Charles L. White Jr. conducted by Winthrop Student Orlando Tate. On Sept 5, 1989, Nelson B. Rivers III; James Gallman Sr.; Rev. David Walker; Willar H. Hightower Jr.; Rev. James Jones Sr.; and Charles L. White Jr. were barred admission to an establishment known as the “Buffalo Room” in North Augusta, South Carolina by the owner and manager Bruce H. Salter. The NAACP brought civil action against Salter Enterprises, Inc. challenging Salter’s actions in denying African-American the use, and enjoyment of goods, services, facilities, privileges and accommodations of the “Buffalo Room” by reasons of their race. Charles White, Jr. would eventually be the first African American in the State of South Carolina to receive monetary damages for race discrimination.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Calvary Episcopal Church, Charleston, SC RecordsThis collection consists of microfiche copies of records of the Calvary Episcopal Church in Charleston, South Carolina. Calvary Episcopal Church was founded in 1847 to give free blacks and slaves a separate Episcopal congregation of their own. The original records are housed at the South Carolina Historical Society as SCHS 329 and consist of a Baptismal Register (1832-1978), Register of Confirmations and Communicants, 1849-1975 (with gaps), Marriages, 1848-1977 (with gaps), and Burials, 1853-1978. Antebellum records give data on slave or free status with name of owner often supplied. Records after the Civil War supply varying amounts of information.
BAPTISMAL REGISTER, 1832-1978. 1 vol.
Contains Rev. Paul Trapier’s (1806-1872) application to Charleston, SC Mayor Thomas Leger Hutchinson (1812-1883) for continuance of existing custom of holding services “for my colored people of Calvary Church,” meetings always to end “before drum beat,” and “Sentence of Consecration” signed by Episcopal Bishop of South Carolina, Christopher Edwards Gadsden (1785-1852), 1849.
REGISTER OF CONFIRMATIONS AND COMMUNICANTS, 1849-1975 (with gaps). 1 vol.
Confirmations, 1849-1860. Gives names of owners and only forenames of confirmands. List of Communicants, 1883-1935. Notes occasional transfers, removals and burials to 1975.
MARRIAGES, 1848-1977 (with gaps). 1 vol.
Names of owners of both spouses from 1849-1858. Forenames only provided for slaves, except in marriages of three free women (3 out of 62).
BURIALS, 1853-1978. 1 vol.
Surnames during the years 1848-1858 available for a few free people. In Addition to “Calvary Ground” most often mentioned as the place of burials, there are references to “Baptist Ground,” “Methodist Ground,” “Colored Fellowship Society,” “Mazpelah, St. Michael’s Ground,” “St. Peter’s Ground,” on Line St., “Scotch Church,” “in the country,” and potter’s field.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Chesnut - Miller - Manning PapersSouth Carolina family. John Chesnut (1743-1818), a native of Virginia, was a Camden District, S.C. merchant, plantation owner, and state legislator. He owned large tracts of land in the vicinity of the Wateree River. He was the father of James Chesnut (1773-1866), a plantation owner and state legislator, and the grandfather of James Chesnut, Jr. (1815-1885), who served in the South Carolina legislature and the U.S. Senate and was a member of the committee which drafted the Ordinance of Secession in 1860. James Chesnut, Jr. married Mary Boykin Miller (1823-1886), daughter of South Carolina governor Stephen Decatur Miller.
The Chesnut-Miller-Manning Family Papers consist of financial and property records, correspondence, estate records, legal documents, and other items. Included are the papers of John Chesnut (1743-1818), James Chesnut, Sr. (1773-1866), James Chesnut, Jr. (1815-1885), Stephen Decatur Miller (1787-1838), and John Laurence Manning (1816-1889). Papers pertain to the business, financial, and plantation affairs and political activities of three generations of the Chesnut family, John Chesnut, James Chesnut, Sr. and James Chesnut, Jr., as well as James Chesnut, Jr.’s father-in-law Stephen Decatur Miller and John Laurence Manning.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Craig Family PhotographsThe Craig Family Photograph Collection consists of photographs of the Craig family in Chester, Rock Hill and at Winthrop. The photographs are of family members, friends, and African-American caregivers. The Photographs also show scenes of houses, churches, buildings, pools, farms, dams, bridges, and other scenes of the area.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
David Duncan Wallace PapersDavid Duncan Wallace (1874-1951) was a Professor of History at Wofford College from 1899 through 1947 and was the author of the three volume set titled, History of South Carolina published in 1934.
Colonel James Alfred Hoyt (1837-1904) was a Confederate soldier during the American Civil War and served in Company B 14th Regiment South Carolina Volunteers. He served as editor for The Anderson Intelligencer (1860-1877), The Columbia Register (1877-1879), The Baptist Courier (1879-1891), and The Mountaineer (1892-1904). He also served as Secretary of the South Carolina Democratic State Committee during the campaign of 1876 “and as such was selected by the Campaign Committee to present to General Hampton at Abbeville the proposal to withdraw the electoral ticket which had been urged upon the committee by Judges Mackey and Cooke the day previously at Columbia.” (Note written by Dr. David Duncan Wallace)
Martin Witherspoon Gary (1831-1881) was a Confederate Brigadier General during the American Civil War and an attorney and politician from South Carolina. He served in the State Senate from 1876-1881 and aided Wade Hampton III in his campaign to become South Carolina Governor in 1876. Gary was an outspoken racist who worked with “Red Shirts” (a white supremacist paramilitary group) to help suppress black voting in the state through bribery and intimidation.
Wade Hampton III (1818-1902) was a Confederate Lieutenant General during the American Civil War and was a US Senator from SC from 1879-1891, Governor of South Carolina from 1876-1879, South Carolina state Senator (1858-1861), and served in the South Carolina House of Representatives from 1852-1858.
John Cheves Haskell (1841-1906) was a Civil War Confederate Army Officer who rose to the rank of Lieutenant Colonel and commanded a battalion of artillery in General James Longstreet’s 1st Corps, Army of Northern Virginia. He was present at the Surrender at Appomattox. After the war he practiced law and served in the South Carolina State Legislature from 1877-1890. He married Confederate General Wade Hampton’s daughter, Sarah Buchanan Hampton Haskell (1845-1886).
Alexander Cheves Haskell (1839-1910) was a Civil War Confederate Army Officer who rose to the rank of Colonel of the 7th South Carolina Calvary. After the war he was elected Associate Justice of the South Carolina Supreme Court and served from 1877-1879. He married Confederate General Edward Porter Alexander’s sister, Alice van Yeveren Alexander Haskell (1848-1902).
William Henry Wallace (1827-1901) was a Confederate Army Brigadier General during the American Civil War. He served in the South Carolina House of Representatives in 1860 and from 1872-1877. He was Speaker of the state House from 1876-1877. He was also a circuit court judge from 1877 through 1893.
Samuel McGowan (1819-1897) was a Confederate Brigadier General during the American Civil War. McGowan was elected to US Congress as a member of the Conservative Party, but refused his seat. He became a leader in the fight against “carpetbagger” influences in the state’s legislature. He was elected as an associate justice of the South Carolina Supreme Court in 1879 and served there until July 1894.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
David Duncan Wallace Papers - 2The David Duncan Wallace Papers consists of microfiche copies of letters written to and from Colonel John Cheves Haskell (1841-1906), Colonel Alexander Cheves Haskell (1839-1910), and Colonel James Alfred Hoyt (1837-1904) and a “Statement by General William H. Wallace, as to interview between General [Samuel] McGown and General [Martin Witherspoon] Gary, dated December 20, 1879” regarding the withdrawal of South Carolina Democratic electors in 1880. Also, included is an unpublished article by Col. Hoyt titled “Gary and Hampton” written in about January 1880 while he was editor of The Baptist Courier. The article concerns General Martin Witherspoon Gary (1831-1881) and General Wade Hampton III (1818-1902) and the split in the 1880 state Democratic Party between their respective supporters for the 1880 South Carolina governor race.
Microfiched documents include:
Letter, December 19, 1879, John C. Haskell to James A. Hoyt.
Letter, December 20, 1879, James A. Hoyt to Samuel McGowan.
Statement by General William H. Wallace, as to interview between General Samuel McGowan and General Gary, dated December 20, 1879.
Letter, December 22, 1879, Col. Alexander C. Haskell to James A. Hoyt.
Letter, January 28, 1880, John C. Haskell to James A. Hoyt.
Letter, February 7, 1880, James A. Hoyt to John C. Haskell.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Dr. Cynthia Harriet Plair Roddey PapersThe collection consists of one scrapbook of Cynthia Plair Roddey beginning in 1967, the year she began her studies at Winthrop University. There are also three diplomas included in the collection; one from Johnson C. Smith University, where Roddey received her Bachelor of Arts degree, one from then Winthrop College, where she received her Master of Arts in Teaching, and one from the Mid-Atlantic Seminary, where she received her degree of Doctor of Ministry. The scrapbook contains Roddey’s life history up to 1997. Within the scrapbook are copies of her high school diploma, college and university degrees, a copy of her birth certificate, awards and certificates, report cards, church programs, and newspaper articles.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Dr. Dorothy Perry Thompson PapersDr. Dorothy Perry Thompson was a Winthrop Professor of English and an accomplished poet and writer. As well as teaching in the English Department, Dr. Thompson also coordinated the African American Studies program which she helped found.
Dr. Dorothy Perry Thompson was a Winthrop professor of English and an accomplished poet and writer. As well as teaching in the English Department, Dr. Thompson also coordinated the African American Studies program which she helped found. The Dorothy Perry Thompson Papers consists of her poems and writings, drafts, research, notes, contract agreements, awards and certificates, speaking engagement flyers and records, thank you letters, and promotion and tenure records.
The papers of Dorothy Perry Thompson, writer, poet, Professor of English at Winthrop University, and coordinator of Winthrop University’s African American Studies program, were deposited in the Winthrop University Archives on December 5, 2008 by Donya and Johnny Thompson via Gloria Kelley, Head of Reference at Dacus Library. On February 14, 2012 Dr. Peter Judge, Professor of Philosophy at Winthrop University gifted 6 bound volumes of Dr. Thompson’s poetry.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Emmett Scott High School CollectionThis collection consists of memorabilia, artifacts, and other material related to Emmett Scott High School that was collected by Dr. Sylvia Berry who worked for the Rock Hill School District. Emmett Scott opened in 1920 as the first South Carolina school for blacks and was a segregated educational institution from 1920 until South Carolina Schools were desegregated in 1970. The material in this collections consists of yearbooks, photographs, commencement invitations and programs, graduation tassels, student handbook, football program, concert tickets, a class ring and a student pin, a program from the 50th anniversary celebration of the Class of 1946, football jerseys, a letterman sweater, a jacket, and other uniforms related to the school.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Equal Rights Amendment South Carolina Coalition Records - 1The Equal Rights Amendment South Carolina Coalition Records consist of correspondence, memoranda, flyers, newsletters, reports, newspaper clippings, mailing lists and financial records concerning the drive for the ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) in South Carolina. The ERA was a proposed amendment to the United States Constitution designed to guarantee equal rights for women.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Equal Rights Amendment South Carolina Coalition Records - 2The Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) was a proposed amendment to the United States Constitution designed to guarantee equal rights for women. It was first introduced to Congress in 1923. Re-introduced in 1971, the amendment was passed by both houses of Congress in 1972 and passed to the states for ratification. After attempts to get the amendment ratified for 10 years, only 31 of the necessary 38 states ratified it and therefore it failed.
The Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) records, dating from 1970 to 1978, include correspondence, legislative journals, magazine articles, newspaper clippings, brochures, pamphlets, and other records relating to the work of the South Carolina Coalition in trying to get the ERA ratified by the South Carolina state legislature. There is relevant material concerning the ERA issue in other states. The Coalition was organized in 1972. The Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) was a proposed amendment to the United States Constitution designed to guarantee equal rights for women.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Equal Rights Amendment South Carolina Coalition Records - 3The Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) was a proposed amendment to the United States Constitution designed to guarantee equal rights for women.
Coleman Poag (1930-2004) from Rock Hill, SC was a SC State Senator from 1977-1984. Poag was also a Winthrop Training School graduate, Class of 1947.
The Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) South carolina Coalition Records consists of correspondence, newsletters, brochures, pamphlets, and telegrams, extending from 1972-1978, sent by both supporters and non-supporters of ERA to Coleman Poag, South Carolina state senator for district 6, in an effort to influence Poag’s vote. The ERA was a proposed amendment to the United States Constitution designed to guarantee equal rights for women.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Equal Rights Amendment South Carolina Coalition Records - 4The Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) South Carolina Coalition Records date from 1972-1982 and include minutes of meetings, correspondence, magazine articles and newspaper clippings, brochures, pamphlets, flyers, memoranda, and other records relating to the drive for ERA ratification in South Carolina.The ERA was a proposed amendment to the United States Constitution designed to guarantee equal rights for women.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Equal Rights Amendment South Carolina Coalition Records - 5The Equal Rights Amendment South Carolina Coalition Records consist of pamphlets, membership listings, newsletters, bulletins, interstate correspondence, legislation positions, polls, newspaper clippings, article reprints, general correspondence and various memorabilia to the attempt to obtain South Carolina ratification of the passage of Equal Rights Amendment. The Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) was a proposed amendment to the United States Constitution designed to guarantee equal rights for women.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Equal Rights Amendment South Carolina Coalition Records - 6The Equal Rights Amendment South Carolina Coalition Records consist of the history of the South Carolina Equal Rights Amendment (ERA), meeting minutes, petitions, votes, polls, and memorabilia from the organization. Also, includes a list of committee members from the House and the Senate leaders, newsletters, correspondence, and calendars of events.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Fellowship of the Concerned ReportsThe Fellowship of the Concerned was an organization founded in 1949 and dissolved in 1970. It was an organization of southern women affiliated with the Southern Regional Council and concerned with promoting civil rights.
The Fellowship of the Concerned Reports consist of two reports presented before the Fellowship in Atlanta, with one report by Marion Allan Wright describing the civil rights situation in South Carolina and the other by Father Maurice Shean of the Oratory in Rock Hill describing the work of the Rock Hill Council on Human Relations to better race relations in the city. The Fellowship was founded in 1949 and dissolved in 1970. It was an organization of southern women affiliated with the Southern Regional Council and concerned with promoting civil rights.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Hammond Family PapersThe Hammond Family was principally from North Augusta, South Carolina. The Hammond Family papers consists of a Hammond family history (1645-1969), original correspondence, indenture books, land plats, supply invoices, and surveyor’s certificates dating from 1785-1850. Of special interest is a document relating to the sale of five African-American slaves (1836). Also included are two pages of the Daily Chronicle and Sentinel newspaper of Augusta, GA (1836).
______________________________________________________________________________________
Hutchison Family PapersThe Hutchison Family was a prominent family in Rock Hill, SC. Captain A. E. Hutchison founded the Rock Hill Cotton Mill.
The Hutchison Family Papers consist of diaries, journals, speeches, correspondence, genealogical material and financial papers, concerning the personal and business affairs of a Rock Hill family. Subjects include post-colonial life in the Carolinas, the antebellum plantation system in South Carolina, post-Civil War cotton farming, especially the Rock Hill Cotton Mill, and Rock Hill during World War I. There is also material concerning relations and negotiations with the Catawba Indians by David Hutchison who was one of several commissioners designated by the South Carolina legislature to investigate Catawba land claims and leasing practices; and historical sketches of Glencairn Garden, the White House and the Oakland Avenue Presbyterian Church, all located in Rock Hill, South Carolina. There are also included in the “General Correspondence and Related Papers” series such records as: last will and testament, inventory lists, certificates of indentured servants, legislative acts, (eg. 1840 Treaty with the Catawba Indians) and other similar documents.
______________________________________________________________________________________
Jesse Huey Laurence PapersJessie Huey Laurence (1886-1971) was a club woman, civic leader, native of Union County, SC, and a 1907 Winthrop graduate. She was active in the South Carolina Federation of Women's Clubs, the Winthrop Alumnae Association, Council for the Common Good, and Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR).
The Jessie Huey Laurence Papers primarily consist of correspondence, but also included are speeches, program notes, minutes, financial records, photographs, clippings, and scrapbooks relating to her role in the South Carolina Federation of Women’s Clubs (1928-1937); her promotion of a compulsory school attendance bill for South Carolina (1934-1936); the formation of the South Carolina Council for the Common Good (1935); Works Progress Administration (WPA) and Public Works Administration (PWA) projects in South Carolina; and her interest in the Catawba Indians of York County, as chairman of Indian Affairs Committee for the Catawba Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution.
Subjects include literacy, Santee-Cooper Dam, Winthrop College, World War II, York County Historical Society, York, Chester, and Lancaster Counties and family history material including: Adams, Craig, Jackson, Lesslie, Lessly, Mull, Muehl, Robinson, Taylor, Weidner, Witherspoon, and Wylie families.
______________________________________________________________________________________
Johnette Greene Edwards PapersJohnette Green Edwards (1926-1977) was a social worker, club woman, and first African-American member of the Winthrop College Board of Visitors. A few of her distinctions are: she served as Executive director of the Trident forum for the Handicapped; the Johnette Edwards Scholarship was established at the College of Charleston; she served as President of the S.C. Federations of Women’s Clubs; she served as President of Girl’ Clubs, Inc.; she was also an Executive Council member of the National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs.
Johnette Green Edwards (1926-1977) was a social worker, club woman, and first African-American member of the Winthrop College Board of Visitors. The collection consists of biographical data, correspondence, speeches, financial papers, minutes, photographs, and other records relating to the following organizations: South Carolina Federation of Women’s and Girl’s Clubs, the Trident Forum for the Handicapped, The National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs, the Wilkinson Home for Girls, Southeastern Association of Colored Girl’s Clubs, Delta Sigma Theta, Church Women United, United Community Service, and the National Alliance of Postal and Federal Employees. The collection is a good source of information concerning African-American women’s organizations, social services programs, and intellectual disability.
______________________________________________________________________________________
Juanita Willmon Goggins PapersJuanita Willmon Goggins (1934-2010) was the first African-American woman elected to the South Carolina House of Representatives, House District number 49, representing York County for six years. Born in Pendleton, SC in 1934 she would also become the first African-American woman to serve on the United States Civil Rights Commission as well as the first African-American woman to serve as a state delegate to the Democratic National Convention. Additionally, Goggins was responsible for creating sickle cell anemia testing in all of the county health departments in South Carolina among other accomplishments. Ms. Goggins passed away in 2010.
The Juanita Willmon Goggins Papers include correspondence, speeches, biographical data, reports, studies, newspaper clippings, photographs and other papers documenting the political career of Goggins who was the first African-American woman elected to the South Carolina House of Representatives. Subjects include home rule for York County, African-Americans in politics, sickle cell anemia, appropriations, taxes, and public education in York County.
______________________________________________________________________________________
Knox-Wise Family PapersThe Knox-Wise Family resided in Chester County, South Carolina and were active in politics and medicine. The family kept diaries detailing their lives and life in rural South Carolina from the late 18th century through the early 20th Century. Researchers interested in Chester County history, genealogy, and everyday life in the 1800s including during the Civil War will find this collection valuable.
The Knox-Wise Family Papers includes a land grant issued to John Knox in 1768; diaries written by Dr. John Knox [1792-1859] covering the 1840s and 1850s; James N. Knox [1806-1880] covering 1859-1880; and William D. Knox [1847-1928] covering 1869-1928; indentures, deeds, receipts, court summonses and other papers of Hugh Knox [1757-1821], sheriff and justice of the peace in Chester County, South Carolina (ca. 1780s and 1790s); correspondence of James N. Knox, correspondence, and other professional papers of Dr. John Knox; correspondence, and other papers of William D. Knox, Superintendent of Education in Chester County from 1896-1928. Papers of various other members of the Knox and Wise families including Hugh Boyd Knox [1814-1886], Robert Knox [1796-1879], Sally Knox Wallace [1803-1901], Alexander Walker Wise, and Emmie R. Knox [1885-1969]; family histories of the Knox, Wise, Dunlap, Gaston, and Wilks families; church histories, photographs, and newspaper clippings. Also included are three published volumes of the United Confederate Veterans Minutes of the 21st (1911) and 25th (1915) Annual Meeting and Reunion; and the minutes of the annual reunion of the South Carolina Division of the United Confederate Veterans (1921-1927).
______________________________________________________________________________________
Mary Elizabeth Massey PapersDr. Mary Elizabeth Massey was an historian, educator, and author. She was a Winthrop History Professor from 1950 through 1974 with a focus on the American Civil War.
The Mary Elizabeth Massey Papers consist of Dr. Massey’s professional and organizational files and includes biographical data, correspondence, lecture and teaching materials, rough notes and unpublished drafts of Dr. Massey’s journal articles and books, speeches, research notes and photocopies and typescript copies of historical manuscripts from other repositories. Most of the material pertains to Dr. Massey’s publishing efforts, her work as a Winthrop faculty member and scholar and her involvement with professional organizations, especially the Southern Historical Association and the Civil War Centennial Commission. While there is material extending from Dr. Massey’s student days at Hendrix College (a 1937 graduate), most of the substantive material extends from 1953-1973.
______________________________________________________________________________________
McCrory's Five and Dime Store RecordsMcCrory’s Dime Store was located on Main Street in Rock Hill, South Carolina in a building built in 1901. McCrory’s operated from 1937 through 1997 and from 1960-1961 was the site of several “sit-in” protests by black students from nearby Friendship Jr. College. On January 31, 1961, the famous “sit-in” by the “Friendship Nine” was held at McCrory’s lunch counter. They protesters refused to pay their fines and became the first protesters in the nation to adopt the “Jail No Bail” strategy of protest.
This collection contains correspondence, titles, and leases concerning James S. White Jr. and McCrory’s Dime Store, as well as, blueprints, newspaper clippings, and a McCrory’s Store inventory. McCrory’s Dime Store was located on Main Street in Rock Hill, South Carolina in a building built in 1901. McCrory’s operated from 1937 through 1997 and from 1960-1961 was the site of several “sit-in” protests by black students from nearby Friendship Jr. College.
______________________________________________________________________________________
The Militia and Patrol Laws of South CarolinaThis collection consists of The Militia and Patrol Laws of South Carolina, December 1844 published by order of the General Assembly. This publication was published by A.H. Pemberton, State Printer in Columbia, SC in 1845. This book offers a detailed list of laws regulation the behavior of the South Carolina military. It deals with everything from how much to fine a soldier who fails show up to the proper pay for an enlisted soldier. The book is particularly of interest to those studying the history of slavery in the South, as several of the regulations deal with what to do when coming upon an unattended slave on patrol.
______________________________________________________________________________________
Moses Roper: Escape from Slavery PaperMoses Roper was a mulatto slave born in Caswell County, North Carolina to his master, Henry Roper and his slave mother, Nancy. After he was seven years old he was exchanged to another master and eventually was exchanged or sold to another 17 or more masters in North Carolina, South Carolina, and Florida. He had a particularly harsh master by the name of John Gooch of Chester County, South Carolina. Moses attempted to escape several times during these years before he successfully made his way from Florida to New York in 1834. He made his way to England and was educated there and wrote of his experiences as a slave and of his escape.
This collection consists of photocopies of maps, deeds, wills, and supporting material concerning a paper written by Winthrop student Michael Melone for Dr. Dorothy Thompson’s African-American Literature class titled “Following Moses Roper: A Progress Report” concerning the book titled A Narrative of the Adventures and Escape of Moses Roper from American Slavery by Moses Roper. The student’s paper includes references to documents that prove Moses Roper’s accounts and claims concerning the people and places he encountered in North and South Carolina between 1828 and 1830.
Moses Roper was a mulatto slave born in Caswell County, North Carolina to his master, Henry Roper and his slave mother, Nancy. After he was seven years old he was exchanged to another master and eventually was exchanged or sold to another 17 or more masters in North Carolina, South Carolina, and Florida. He had a particularly harsh master by the name of John Gooch of Chester County, South Carolina. Moses attempted to escape several times during these years before he successfully made his way from Florida to New York in 1934. He made his way to England and was educated there and wrote of his experiences as a slave and of his escape.
______________________________________________________________________________________
National Council of Negro Women, Inc.Columbia, South Carolina Section Records
National Council of Negro Women was founded by Mary McLeod Bethune in 1935. Bethune envisioned NCNW functioning as a clearinghouse, facilitating networking and coalition building, and advocating the use of collective power on issues affecting women, their families and communities.
The National Council of Negro Women, Inc. Columbia Section Records consist of agenda notes, letters, charters, newsletters (Black Women's Voice), pamphlets, clippings relating to the history of the National Council of Negro Women (NCNW) and of the life of Mary McLeod Bethune (1875-1955).
______________________________________________________________________________________
National Council of Negro Women, Inc.Florence, South Carolina Section Records
National Council of Negro Women was founded by Mary McLeod Bethune in 1935. Bethune envisioned NCNW functioning as a clearinghouse, facilitating networking and coalition building, and advocating the use of collective power on issues affecting women, their families and communities.
The National Council of Negro Women, Inc. – Florence Section Records consist of correspondence, brochures, pamphlets, and newspaper clippings relating to the organization’s activities at the local, state, and national levels. Much of the material focuses on educator Mary McLeod Bethune (1875-1955).
______________________________________________________________________________________
Pinckney Family PapersThe Pinckney Family Papers consists of correspondence of Eliza Pinckney, Charles Cotesworth, and Thomas Pinckney; Benjamin Huger; Rebecca Mott, John Q. Adams; Joseph Alston; Lord Charles Grenville; Alexander Hamilton; Thomas Jefferson; Marquis de Lafayette, and others. The longest portion of the correspondence, contained in six letter books, have to do with Thomas Pinckney’s diplomatic service and his service in the War of 1812. The next largest group of letters is that of Eliza Pinckney. Also included are household accounts and family receipts; land, legal, estate, and other papers.
______________________________________________________________________________________
Rock Hill Baseball HistoryThis collection consists of research materials pertaining to professional and semi-professional baseball in Rock Hill from the 1890s Anderson Buggy Team to the 1968 Rock Hill Spinners. This collection’s emphasis is on the 1950 Tri-State League Champion Rock Hill Chiefs, but also, contains research material on famous baseball icons, such as Dusty Rhodes, Steve Carlton, and Sparky Anderson, all of whom played or managed Rock Hill teams. There is material pertaining to David Mobley, the first officially recognized African-American to play on an all-white minor league team in the Carolinas. This material was compiled by Andrew Johnston for a paper and presentation in the Spring of 2003 Public History course taught by Dr. Edward Lee at Winthrop University.
______________________________________________________________________________________
Rock Hill Council on Human RelationsThe Rock Hill Council on Human Relations was organized in 1954 by the Rock Hill City Council to further promote diversity and communication with the city’s African-American population. In 2014, the committee was merged with the Martin Luther King, Jr. Committee and No Room For Racism Committee to form the City of Rock Hill Community Relations Council.
The Rock Hill Council on Human Relations Records consists of minutes, reports, correspondence, program notes, newsletters, membership lists, and other records of a body organized in 1954 by the Rock Hill City Council to further communication between the city’s African- Americans and whites. The collection includes material relating to the South Carolina Council on Human Relations with which the Rock Hill Council was affiliated, American Friends Services committee, Southern Regional Council, and a black & white 16mm film pertaining to the origin and early development of the Council. Correspondents include Alice Spearman Wright, civil rights activist and former executive secretary of the South Carolina Council on Human Relations.
______________________________________________________________________________________
Rock Hill Oratory PhotographsThe Rock Hill Oratory is affiliated with the Catholic Church and was founded in 1934 as part of a worldwide federation of 60 independent houses. The Oratory was early supporter of Civil Rights and the local sit-ins in Rock Hill, SC during the 1960s. The Oratory was also affiliated with the St. Anne Catholic School which became the first racially integrated school in South Carolina.
The Rock Hill Oratory Photograph collection consists of photographs of the Oratory chapel, African-Americans at play, at worship, and in school at St. Mary’s and St. Anne’s, Catholic schools subsidized by the Rock Hill Oratory.
______________________________________________________________________________________
South Carolina Association of Future Homemakers of America RecordsThe South Carolina Future Homemakers of America was founded in 1933 to promote an appreciation of home life and to further interest in home economics on the part of young women in the state.
The South Carolina Association of Future Homemakers of America Records are a valuable source on the history of girls’ home economics clubs in South Carolina from 1936 to 1970. While the first club was organized in 1933 to promote an appreciation of home life and to further interest in home economics on the part of young women in the state, the records do not begin until 1936. The collection includes a short history, constitutions, bylaws, correspondence, handbooks, manuals, annual reports, minutes, newsletters, photographs, newspaper clippings, and scrapbooks relating to the history and activities of the Association. The purpose of the Association is to promote an appreciation of home life, to encourage democracy in home and community, to foster the development of creative leadership, to provide wholesale individual and group recreation and to further interest in home economics. The collection also contains records relating to the New Homemakers Association (NHA) which affiliated with the South Carolina FHA in 1965.
______________________________________________________________________________________
St. Mary's Catholic Church HistorySt. Mary's Catholic Church is located in Rock Hill, SC on Crawford Road. It was founded in 1945 by Fr Edward Wahl. St. Mary's Catholic Church states their Mission as "We the Catholic people of St. Mary Parish, historically rooted in the Black Community and integrated in the local community, strive to listen, share, challenge, and help each other. We are committed to action and will do this by carrying on God's work under the guidance of the blessed Mother and St. Martin de Porres."
This collection consists of a history of the St. Mary Catholic Church in Rock Hill, SC from about 1932 to 1992 written by Micheal Rukstelis titled, bRINGING iT aLL bACK hOME: A Brief History of St. Mary's Catholic Church Rock Hill, South Carolina. The church history also offers a glimpse into the lives of members of the African American community in the Crawford Road area of Rock Hill from the 1930s through the 1990s.
______________________________________________________________________________________
A State Program in Vocational EducationThis series consists of a booklet titled, State of South Carolina State Department of Education: A State Program in Vocational Education prepared by Division of Vocational Education and issued by J.H. Hope, State Superintendent of Education in April 1925. The booklet was aimed to explain the Vocational Education program in the state of South Carolina and why it is important “to train people to earn a living from some honest occupation.”
______________________________________________________________________________________
United States Army Quartermaster ReportsThe collection consists of microfiche copies of the United States Army Quartermaster reports from Hilton Head Island during the American Civil War for the U.S. Army from October 1, 1861-July 28, 1862. The author of the reports was Captain (later Colonel) Herbert Austin Hascall (1835-1890) who was the Assistant Quartermaster to General Thomas West Sherman (1813-1879) during the Captain Samuel Dupont- General Sherman expedition against Hilton Head and Bay Point, South Carolina. The Battle of Port Royal occurred on November 7, 1861 and resulted in Fort Walker on Hilton Head Island and Fort Beauregard on Bay Point falling to Union forces. Hilton Head Island then became the headquarters for the US Army’ southern department.
The reports include a listing of “Names of Persons And Articles” “Designation And Occupation” Dates of service”, Salary, “Date of Contract, Agreement, or Entry Into Service”, “Remarks” and Time, And The Amount Due and Remaining Unpaid.” There is also a “Report of Contraband Negroes Employed and Hired at Head Quarters by Captain H. A. Hascall, Quartermaster US Army.” These entries include the same entries as the others, but also has an entry for “By Whom Owned.” The documents are not in strict chronological order.
______________________________________________________________________________________
York Multiethnic Heritage ProjectThe York County Multiethnic Heritage Project, administered by Dr. Joyce Pettigrew Berman of Winthrop’s English faculty, was made possible by a $38,000 grant from the Department of Health, Education and Welfare of the U.S. Government. The purpose of the project was to study the total contributions of ethnic groups to the total cultural heritage of York County School District No. 3, the York County Nature Museum and the City of Rock Hill Recreation Department. The project, which began in July, 1976, and ended June 30, 1977, focused on ethnic groups in the area: Southern Appalachian, African-American and American Indian.
The York County Multiethnic Heritage project, administered by Dr. Joyce Pettigrew Berman of Winthrop’s English faculty, was made possible by a $38,000 grant from the Department of Health, Education and Welfare of the U.S. government. The purpose of the project was to study the total contributions of ethnic groups to the total cultural heritage of York County School District No. 3, the York County Nature Museum and the city of Rock Hill Recreation Department. The project, which began in July 1976, and ended June 30, 1977, focused on ethnic groups in the area: Southern Appalachian, African-American and Native American. The collection includes a wide variety of material that could be used for research on York County and for instructional purposes by teachers. The collection consists of magazines, newspaper clippings, books, audio tapes, video cassettes, slides, transparencies, and copies of historical documents such as letters and land records.
Alberta Tucker Grimes Interview - OH 139This interview was conducted with Alberta Tucker Grimes (1909-2002) who was an educator and counselor from Greenville, South Carolina. Alberta Grimes started the first Head Start program for the state of South Carolina in Greenville, SC. Her work became the standard and model for similar programs that sprouted throughout the state. In this interview, she discusses her background as an educator, her education in the African American schools during segregation, her teaching career on boards and committees, and her personal life. The interview also includes information about Charles Hall, a famous psychologist in Washington, Jessie Jackson as a student and financing of African American education.
Alberta Tucker Grimes Interview - OH 637This interview was conducted with Alberta Tucker Grimes (1909-2002) by Ron Chepesiuk. Mrs. Grimes was an educator and counselor from Greenville, South Carolina. She started the Head Start program for the state of South Carolina in Greeneville, SC. Her work became the standard model for similar programs that sprouted throughout the state. Mrs. Grimes discusses her childhood and background. She discusses her experiences with racism during her childhood and young adult years. She also discusses her education career and work to improve education opportunities in the black community. She details some of her experiences as the first full-time black councilor in Greenville, SC as well as a few of her students. Mrs. Grimes discusses her efforts to expand educational opportunities into the black community and the difficulties she faced in those efforts.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Arnetta Gladden Mackey Interview - OH 17In her August 1975 interview with Martha Williams, the 1967 Winthrop graduate, Arnetta Gladden Mackey, reminisces her time at the University. Mackey shares her experience coming to Winthrop as one of the first black students after the school integrated. Mackey recalls the reaction she received from students, faculty, and members of the Rock Hill community. Mackey finally lends her answer to the question of whether or not she would do it all over again. This interview was conducted for inclusion into the Louise Pettus Archives and Special Collections Oral History Program.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Clarence Henry Graham Interview - OH 668This interview was conducted by Dr. George Garrison with Clarence Graham. Clarence Henry Graham (1942-2016) grew up in Rock Hill, SC and graduated from Emmett Scott High School in 1959. He attended Friendship Junior College and was one of the chief organizers of the Friendship Nine civil rights group that participated in nonviolent protests in Rock Hill. He spent 30 days in jail in 1961 after being convicted of trespassing after sitting down at an all-white McCrory’s lunch counter in Rock Hill. Mr. Graham later served in the United States Air force in Vietnam and worked in social services until he retired. In this interview Mr., Graham discusses his experiences growing up in Rock Hill, attending Emmett Scott High School and Friendship College, as well as participating in the Civil Rights Movement in Rock Hill with the Friendship Nine.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
David Williamson, Jr. Interview - OH 669This interview was conducted by Dr. George Garrison with David Williamson. David Williamson grew up in Rock Hill, SC and graduated from Emmett Scott High School. He attended Friendship Junior College and was one the members of the Friendship Nine civil rights group that participated in nonviolent protests in Rock Hill. He spent 30 days in jail in 1961 after being convicted of trespassing after sitting down at an all-white McCrory’s lunch counter in Rock Hill. In this interview, Mr. Graham discusses his experiences growing up in Rock Hill, attending Emmett Scott High School and Friendship College, as well as participating in the Civil Rights Movement in Rock Hill with the Friendship Nine.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Doris Ezell-Schmitz Interview - OH 302In her December 11, 2012 interview with Robert Ryals, Doris Schmitz detailed her time at Winthrop during the era of desegregation and social unrest. Schmitz recalls the Civil Rights movement in Rock Hill and her family’s involvement. In particular, Schmitz describes her perception of the similarities and differences between white and black students during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Schmitz also recalls the courses and professors that had a profound effect on her future career as an educator. This interview was conducted for inclusion into the Louise Pettus Archives and Special Collections Oral History Program.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Dr. Cynthia Harriet Plair Roddey Interview - OH 62In her interview with Cynthia Wilson January 22, 1979, Cynthia Roddey shares her experiences at Winthrop from 1964-1967 as the first African American student admitted to Winthrop College. Roddey details the process of applying to Winthrop, the reaction she received from the Winthrop and Rock Hill community, and her participation in student life. Roddey includes her insight on race relations today and her hopes for the future. This interview was conducted for an article for The Johnsonian, which is the student newspaper for Winthrop University.
Dr. Cynthia Harriet Plair Roddey Interview - OH 642In her interview with James D. Mackey on April 29, 1981, Cynthia Roddey shares her experiences at Winthrop from 1964-1967 as the first African American student admitted to Winthrop College. Roddey details the process of applying to Winthrop, the reaction she received from the Winthrop and Rock Hill community, and her participation in student life. Roddey includes her insight on race relations today and her hopes for the future. This interview was conducted for a student history project.
Dr. Cynthia Harriet Plair Roddey Interview - OH 643In her interview with Paul Finkelstein on September 4, 1994, Cynthia Roddey shares her experiences at Winthrop from 1964-1967 as the first African American student admitted to Winthrop College. Roddey details the process of applying to Winthrop, the reaction she received from the Winthrop and Rock Hill community, and her participation in student life. Roddey includes her insight on race relations today and her hopes for the future. This interview was conducted for an article to be published in the Roddey-McMillan Record.
Dr. Cynthia Harriet Plair Roddey Interview - OH 644In her interview with Robert Ryals on September 12, 2012, Cynthia Roddey shares her experiences at Winthrop from 1964-1967 as the first African American student admitted to Winthrop College. Roddey details the process of applying to Winthrop, the reaction she received from the Winthrop and Rock Hill community, and her participation in student life. Roddey includes her insight on race relations today and her hopes for the future. This interview was conducted for inclusion into the Louise Pettus Archives and Special Collections Oral History Program.
Dr. Cynthia Harriet Plair Roddey Interview - OH 690This interview was conducted by Dr. George Garrison with Dr. Cynthia Plair Roddey with a focus on the History of Emmett Scott High School. Emmett Scott was the segregated high school for African-Americans, which was named after Emmett Scott, a former aide to Booker T. Washington and President Woodrow Wilson. The school opened in 1920 and was closed in 1970 when full integration was implemented in Rock Hill, SC schools. Dr. Cynthia Plair Roddey was the first African American to attend Winthrop College and graduated with a M.A.T. in library science in August 1967. Dr. Roddey discusses her childhood and her family history dating back to slavery. She also discusses her native American lineage and that her husband was related to prominent Rock Hillian, John T. Roddey who was a longtime Winthrop Board of Trustee member. She worked at Emmett Scott High School for a few years from 1961-1963 as an English teacher and she discusses her experiences there. Dr. Roddey also discusses the Civil Rights movement in Rock Hill.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Edward "Ed" Harris, Brenda Dow, and Sylvester King Interview - OH 296In May of 2013 Mr. Edward Harris sat down and discussed his brother, Herman K. Harris, who was a part of the freedom riders. Mr. Harris also discusses his military service and his tour of duty in Vietnam. This interview was conducted for inclusion into the Louise Pettus Archives and Special Collections Oral History Program.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Melvin Ernest "Ernie" Nunnery Interview - OH 136This interview was conducted with South Carolina House Representative Melvin Ernest “Ernie” Nunnery (1951-1991) regarding the mysterious death of eighteen-year-old black man Mickey McClinton which sparked a series of protests in Chester, SC during the fall of 1979. The Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC) organized these protests. Mickey McClinton’s death was initially determined to be the result of a hit-and-run accident, but rumors quickly spread that McClinton was the victim of a racially motivated slaying sparking the protests. Mr. Nunnery was a member of the South Carolina House of Representative from 1975-1982 and discusses the incident and how the events of unfolded during the fall of 1979. Subjects include civil rights in Chester; and social unrest among blacks in Chester. Subject Mr. Golden Frinks and Chester Civil Rights.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Gladys Boulware Interview - OH 679This interview was conducted by Dr. George Garrison with Gladys Boulware with a focus on the History of Emmett Scott High School. Emmett Scott was the segregated high school for African-Americans, which was named after Emmett Scott, a former aide to Booker T. Washington and President Woodrow Wilson. The school opened in 1920 and was closed in 1970 when full integration was implemented in Rock Hill, SC schools. Gladys Boulware is a South Carolina native and taught at Emmett Scott High School from 1949 through 1970 and then at Castle Hieghts after integration. She discusses her recollections of the Civil Rights Movement in Rock Hill, SC including the integration of schools and the Friendship Nine. She also discusses her childhood and later living in the Rock Hill area and her husband who was the first black principal of Belleview.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Horace Goggins Interview - OH 132In his April 29, 1981 interview with Viola Sherrill, Horace Goggins shares the story of how he became a dentist, his involvement in the Civil Rights Movement, and how he supports his wife’s political career. This interview was conducted for inclusion into the Louise Pettus Archives and Special Collections Oral History Program.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Isaac Samuel Leevy Johnson Interview - OH 143The former South Carolina General Assembly member discusses his family background, influences, first experience with racism, philosophies, the federal desegregation plan, work in the South Carolina House of Representatives, absence of African Americans in the South Carolina Senate and problems and solutions concerning African Americans.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
James F. Wells Interview - OH 682This interview was conducted by Dr. George Garrison with James Wells with a focus on the History of Emmett Scott High School. Emmett Scott was the segregated high school for African-Americans, which was named after Emmett Scott, a former aide to Booker T. Washington and President Woodrow Wilson. The school opened in 1920 and was closed in 1970 when full integration was implemented in Rock Hill, SC schools. Mr. James F. Wells (b. ca. 1942 - d. 2018) was a native of Rock Hill, SC and graduated from Emmett Scott High School in 1959 and attended Friendship Junior College. He was a member of a South Carolina civil rights group known as the Friendship Nine and spent a month in jail in 1961 after he and eight other black men were charged with trespassing at a whites-only lunch counter (McCrory’s) in Rock Hill. The men, who were attending nearby Friendship Junior College, chose to spend time in jail rather than pay a fine in what was called the "jail, no bail" movement. Their time on a chain gang in York County encouraged protesters to stay in jail to fight segregation, Jim Crow laws and other forms of racism. In the interview Mr. Wells discusses his experiences growing up in the area, attending the Emmett Scott High School and Friendship Junior College, his role in the Friendship Nine, and the Civil Rights movement in general.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
James L. Felder interview - OH 358This is an interview with James L. Felder by Michael A. Cooke conducted for the South Carolina Legislative Black Caucus. James L. Felder is a native South Carolinian who grew up in Sumter, SC. He graduated from Clark College in Atlanta, GA and after serving two years in the United States Army, he graduated from Howard University School of Law in 1967. Mr. Felder was one of the first three black men elected to the South Carolina Legislature since Reconstruction and served from 1970 through 1972.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
James Thomas Funderburk Interview - OH 137This interview was conducted with Chester Mayor James Thomas Funderburk (1922-1983) concerning the mysterious death of eighteen-year-old black man Mickey McClinton which sparked a series of protests in Chester, SC during the fall of 1979. The Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC) organized these protests. Mickey McClinton’s death was initially determined to be the result of a hit-and-run accident, but rumors quickly spread that McClinton was the victim of a racially motivated slaying sparking the protests. Mayor Funderburk (Mayor of Chester, SC 1975-1983) discusses the incident and how the events of unfolded during the fall of 1979. Subjects include civil rights in Chester; and social unrest among blacks in Chester.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Jane Adams Interview - OH 241In her 1996 interview with Ron Chepesiuk, Jane Adams described her time as a 1960s radical. She covered various topics, including bohemians, socialism, beatniks, civil rights, women’s liberation and consciousness, the Vietnam War, counterculture, and World War II. Adams also discussed the Student Peace Union, SNCC and its factions, Progressive Labor, prairie populism, feminism, the Anita Hill-Clarence Thomas hearings, and other ‘60s activists. Adams also briefly discussed her current work with the indigenous people of Latin America and her work as a professor. This interview was conducted for inclusion into the Louise Pettus Archives and Special Collections Oral History Program.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
John Gaines Interview - OH 665This interview was conducted by Dr. George Garrison with John Gaines. The focus of the interview is Emmett Scott High School in Rock Hill, SC and his experiences with the Friendship Nine. Emmett Scott was the segregated high school for African-Americans which was named after Emmett Scott, a former aide to Booker T. Washington and President Woodrow Wilson. The school was opened in 1920 and was closed in 1970 when full integration was implemented in Rock Hill, SC schools. John Gaines was a Rock Hill native and a student at Friendship College. He was a member of the Friendship Nine that spent 30 days in jail in 1961 after being convicted of trespassing after sitting down at an all-white McCrory’s lunch counter in Rock Hill. In this interview Mr. Gaines discusses his experiences growing up in Rock Hill, attending Emmett Scott High School and Friendship College, as well as participating in the Civil Rights Movement in Rock Hill with the Friendship Nine.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
John Henry McCray Interview - OH 212John H. McCray was instrumental in forming the Progressive Democratic Party which was the African American party of choice throughout the South including many counties in South Carolina. This interview also discusses Jim Crow Laws and African American voter registration. A newspaper called the Black National Farmer's Paper which was founded by John McCray is also discussed. This newspaper was an early voice for civil rights.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
John Hope Franklin Interview - OH 194Subjects include family background of Dr. Franklin, educational experiences, racial discrimination, popularity of his books, participation in the march with Martin Luther King from Selma to Montgomery, opinion of current status of African Americans and Reagan Administration policies, naming of orchid in honor of Dr. Franklin, and family life.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Jules Hall Interview - OH 69In his May 10, 1979 interview with Kenneth M. Nelson, Jules “Butch” Hall recounts his time in service and the role he played in Rock Hill’s Black Panther Party. Hall also compares Friendship College to Winthrop College and shares efforts to educate the black community. This interview was conducted for inclusion into the Louise Pettus Archives and Special Collections Oral History Program.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Margaret Gregg Interview - OH 152This interview is conducted by Geoffrey Wilcox with Mrs. Margaret Henrietta Gregg (1908-1987), a professor of English at Winthrop College from 1941 to 1973,. Mrs. Gregg had a letter she wrote to the community advocating for racial equality published in the local newspaper the Rock Hill Herald. She was a member of Winthrop University faculty and discusses her experience during the Civil Rights movement. She details her involvement in the movement as well as her experiences in the community during that time.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Marion A, Wright & Alice Spearman Wright - OH 24This interview was conducted with Marion Allan Wright (1894-1983) who was a civil rights advocate and served as a member of the American Civil Liberties Union. Also interviewed was his wife Alice Buck Norwood Spearman Wright (1902-1989) who was a Civil Rights advocate and was an ardent supporter of racial equality and desegregation policies. She presided over the first integrated South Carolina Council on Human Relations. The interview with both Marion and Alice discusses their upbringing and influences and delve into the flowing topics: the Civil rights movement, interracial marriage, abolition of death penalty by Supreme Court, the ERA (commented on by Alice Wright also), and interest in education (Alice Wright).*
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Mary Agnes Morgan Interview - OH 251In her interview with Michael Cooke, Mary Agnes Morgan discusses growing up in South Carolina, her education, and her experience with the Progressive Democratic Party. Mrs. Morgan details the impact the Progressive Democratic Party had on the local black community of Mullins, South Carolina. She also discusses how private education was established in the South for African Americans, the rise of African American politics in the South and race equality.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Modjeska Monteith Simkins - OH 78This interview was conducted with Modejeska Monteith Simkins (1899-1992) who was a Civil Rights leader in South Carolina and an advocate of public and social reform. The interview began again with the questions of Mrs. Simkins family life. Her mother was a house slave until the Emancipation Proclamation and Mrs. Simkins relates stories of her childhood, parents, education, race relations, health services, nutrition and blacks in S.C. and S.C. politicians. This tape gives deep insight into the conditions, opinions, beliefs and attitudes of a black family from slavery through Reconstruction. The interview is interrupted and continued with questions from Margaret Eppehimer of the Winthrop College Public Affairs Office. Also the interview ends abruptly.
Modjeska Monteith Simkins - OH 646This interview was conducted with Modejeska Monteith Simkins (1899-1992) who was a Civil Rights leader in South Carolina and an advocate of public and social reform. In this interview, Simkins discusses her background, upbringing, and her education. She also discusses black politics in the South. The NAACP, the fight for blacks to vote, and the Civil Rights Movement.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Interview with Queen Ann Butler Roseborough Davis - OH 124This interview was conducted by Reginald Gladney with Queen Ann Butler Roseborough Davis (b. 1938 for his Oral History Project. Mrs. Davis was born in Ridgeway, SC to Rev. James R. Butler (1903-2001) and Mary Green Butler (1910-1987). She discusses her childhood and the difficulties experienced by the black community in rural South Carolina during the Jim Crow period as well as the differences she experienced in the North during this time. She discusses the influences she had growing up that inspired her to join the Civil Rights Movement. Mrs. Davis also discusses the effects of the Movement in Winnsboro, South Carolina and more rural areas in general. Mrs. Davis attended Johnson C. Smith University for her BA in English and French and Winthrop College for her Master of Arts in Teaching. She details her experiences and opinion on the differences in education between the black and white communities. As well as her influences and decision to join the National Negro Council of Women (NCNW) and the Student Non-violent Coordinating Committee (SNCC).
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Reverend Herman K. Harris Interview - OH 70Rev. Herman K. Harris II (1939-1988) discusses his family background, growing up in Heath Springs, SC, the Civil Rights movement in the south (Rock Hill in particular), the Freedom Riders, Friendship College, drugs, students in general and the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). Rev. Harris was involved in the movement from 1959 through 1964 and was arrested 33 times in the process. He participated in the Freedom Rides and was among those beaten in Anniston, Alabama. He attended Friendship College in Rock Hill, SC and graduated from Morris College in 1964. This interview took place on May 7, 1979 and May 11, 1979 and was conducted by Mr. Kenneth M. Nelson.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Reverend Thomas J. Moore Interview - OH 210In his interview with Michael Cooke, Reverend Thomas J. Moore (1922-1989) discusses his participation in the Progressive Democratic Party and their efforts during the Civil Rights Movement. Mr. Moore details his experiences growing up and living in Marion South Carolina. He discusses the impact the Progressive Democratic Party had on the area around Marion as well as the State of South Carolina in improving the lives of the black community. He also discusses the Warring Decision which did away with the Literacy Test in South Carolina, African American voter registration, and Jim Crow Laws.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Sam J. Ervin Interview - OH 123In his March 7, 1981 interview with John Cissell, Sam Ervin recounts his work as a U.S. Senator for North Carolina. Ervin explains his defense of Jim Crow Laws and his involvement in an investigative committee that unveiled the Watergate Scandal. This interview was conducted for inclusion into the Louise Pettus Archives and Special Collections Oral History Program.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Septima Poinsette Clark Interview - OH 129This interview with Septima P. Clark was conducted by Mary Ann Wright for a Winthrop College class project on April 10, 1981. Septima Poinsette Clark (1898-1987) was an African-American educator and Civil Rights Activist from Charleston, South Carolina. Dr. Clark discusses her family background and the influence that had on her life. Her mother was raised in Haiti and taught by the English while her father was a slave on the Joel Poinsett plantation. She details her experience growing up in Charleston during segregation and the struggle for education. Dr. Clark discusses her career as an educator and activist for education. Dr. Clark was pivotal in the voter registration movement across the South. She developed and led many handwriting clinics and education workshops in her Citizenship Education Program. Her work with the NAACP and Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. is discussed in detail. Dr. Clark has received many awards and recognition including the Living Legacy Award given to her by President Carter and her honorary Doctorate of Letters degree from the College of Charleston.
Septima Poinsette Clark Interview - OH 131This interview is conducted by Dena Gray with Mrs. Septima Poinsette Clark (1898-1987) for a Winthrop College class project. Mrs. Clark was an African-American educator and leader in the Civil Rights Movement. She was born and raised in Charleston, South Carolina. Mrs. Clark discusses her work as an African-American educator in the Deep South, and her struggle for equal pay for all teachers. Mrs. Clark also discusses her work with the voter registration programs in the South as part of the effort to assist more African-Americans to register to vote as well as the discriminatory practices they had to overcome. Mrs. Clark details her work with Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and the Civil Rights movement as well as her involvement with the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. While describing her background and childhood, Mrs. Clark illustrates the disparity between white and black communities in the South.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
St. Julian F. Devine Interview - OH 207In his interview with Michael Cooke, St. Julian F. Devine (1916-2000) discusses his life and experiences in the Charleston, South Carolina area. Mr. Devine details his work with the South Carolina Progressive Democratic Party as well as various other political organizations such as the Palmetto Voters Association. He also details his political work in the Charleston, South Carolina area. Devine served on the Charleston City Council from 1967 to 1975, making him the first African American member on the council since Reconstruction. He also served as Mayor Pro Tem in 1975. Mr. Devine was a very active participant in the Civil Rights Movement and efforts to improve the lives of the black community.
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Rev. Willie "Dub" Massey Interview - OH 138In his April 27th, 1981 interview with Phil O’Quinn, Rev. Willie T. "Dub" Massey recollects his involvement in the Civil Rights Movement as one of the Friendship 9 protestors and non-violent activists. Massey retells the preparation and events leading up to the sit-in at McCrory’s lunch counter. Massey also shares the negative effects he experienced with his involvement as an activist and leader in the Civil Rights Movement, in particular, his arrest from the McCrory’s sit-in. Massey concludes his interview with advice and hope for the black community. This interview was conducted for inclusion into the Louise Pettus Archives and Special Collections Oral History Program.
African-American Patriots in the Southern Campaign of the American Revolution by