Winthrop University

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New Featured
Alternate Name(s) Academic OneFIle
Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources and covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Also included are thousands of podcasts and videos.
Agriculture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Agriculture Collection
With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of a growing body of knowledge. Researchers will have access to current and authoritative periodical content that spans the industryfrom practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture. With strong emphasis on titles covered in the Agricola database, this collection of journal titles is focused on agriculture-related fields.
Archives Unbound (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Archives Unbound
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. A multi-disciplinary resource, collections cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history.
Users can engage with primary sources by selecting the Explore Topics list, then browse available collections within a pre-filtered research topic. Other advanced search features include a wide range of search indexes, term frequency, and term clusters.
Book Review Index (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Book Review Index Plus
Gale Literature: Book Review Index provides quick access to reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic and professional interests. Thousands of publications are indexed, including journals and national general interest publications and newspapers. Because the content is in database form, it's easily searchable by author, date, illustrator, audiobook reader, review length, reading level, review source, review type, reviewer, title and title of review.
Books and Authors (Gale) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Books & Authors
Gale Books and Authors is a readers advisory database that provides search paths for read-alike books, and multiple booklists from award winners to community and expert picks to make finding a great read much less challenging.
Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Business Collection
Updated daily, Gale OneFile: Business provides full-text coverage of nerly 4,000 leading business and trade publication covering accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.
Chilton Library (Gale) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) ChiltonLibrary.com
Provides domestic and import vehicle information through the current model year. Updated continuously. Offers repair, maintenance, labor estimating, and bulletin/recall information. Includes ASE test prep quizzes for the most popular certification exams.
College (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Student Resources In Context
Gale In Context: College offers interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Communications and Mass Media Collection
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media brings together information found in hundreds of journals. Articles cover all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.
Computer Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Computer Database
Gale OneFile: Computer Science provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database also includes periodicals and journals with information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Contemporary Women's Issues
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Womens Issues offers comprehensive coverage of issues that influence womens lives across the globe with access to current full-text and pertinent backfile content. The database covers topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Criminal Justice Collection
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more.
Culinary Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Culinary Arts Collection
Provides access to academic journals and magazines on all aspects of cooking and nutrition. The database includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
Directory Library (Gale) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Gale Directory Library
Online access to directories of associations, broadcast media, brands, business information, consultants, and publications. Finding a company, person, publication or other entity is easy. Basic search lets users quickly look up entries by name or keyword, or use Advanced Search to search specific fields of information. Generate lists, analyze trends by exporting search results for use in programs like Word or Excel.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Diversity Studies Collection
For social science, history, and liberal arts coursework, the Gale OneFile: Diversity Studiesexplores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection is updated daily.
Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Business Economics and Theory
Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory offers instant access to full-text academic journals and magazineswith a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index. Content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Educator's Reference Complete
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete is a collection of journals & periodicals that seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialtysuch as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Small Business Resource Center
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship is a comprehensive database that covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. The database features a variety of resources for entrepreneurs, including the entire Business Plans Handbook series; a tightly indexed collection of small business-focused eBooks from Gale, John Wiley & Sons, and other publishing partners; articles from journals and magazines like The Economist, Inc., Financial Management and The Tax Adviser; and content from local and national newspapers. Users also have access to downloadable podcasts and radio shows, directories, glossaries, and websites to keep up to date with todays industries.
Environmental Studies (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources)
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information regarding todays environmental issues. The database is updated daily with relevant content integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more on subjects such as climate change, food security, soil ecology, and tourism.
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies & Policy is a digital resource that that answers inquiries about environmental concerns from diverse perspectives. The database provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference materials covering environmental issues.
Exploring Race in Society (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
  • Open Access
New
This open access database provides an in-depth look at the history of race, and context on topics related to race. Resources include proprietary essays, and full- text articles from academic journals, primary source documents, and government agency reports.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Fine Arts and Music Collection
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts is a periodical database that places articles in the hands of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. databases such as the Wilson Art Index and the Rpertoire International de Littrature Musicale (RILM) index are available in full text.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Gale Virtual Reference Library; Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks offers broad cross-curricular collection of non-fiction titles, supporting science, geography, history, language arts, business and other subjects. Optimized for search and discovery, the Gale eBooks platform enables you to search through multiple nonfiction eBooks within a single search.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
New
Cross-search Archives Unbound, Archives of Sexuality and Gender, and Women's Studies Archive.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Gender Studies Collection
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) General OneFile
Gales largest general-interest periodical source, General OneFile allows researchers to find the information they want quickly. Most content in Gale General OneFile is full-text with no embargo and recommended by Bowker's Magazines for Libraries and includes a robust collection of magazines and journals as well as reference, newspaper, and audio content.
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Global Issues In Context
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more, Global Issues is updated daily and offers background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, and more.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Health Reference Center Academic
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine contains up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Health & Wellness Resource Center
Gale Health and Wellness is a comprehensive consumer health database offering access to authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. Features include topic portals with curated content on diseases and conditions; drugs; diagnostics and tests; and therapies, treatments, and surgeries; as well as a broad collection of premier full-text reference works.
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries as well as a wealth of information on state parks and information, planning a vacation, and full-text travel guides from Fodor's.
Information Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Information Science and Library Issues Collection
Gale OneFile: Information Science is a database curated for library science students and information science and technology professionals. The database is updated daily with articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology, including usability, cataloging, circulation, business information, and more.
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) LegalTrac
Gale OneFile: LegalTrac provides indexing for major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including titles in full text. The American Association of Law Libraries not only endorses LegalTracits special advisory committee selects, reviews, and enhances the content of this resource. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
LitFinder (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) LitFinder
Gale Literature: LitFinder provides access to a wealth of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history, including full-text poems and poetry citations, short stories, inaugural presidential speeches, and plays. LitFinder also contains biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Mergent Intellect includes a company database with information on over 280 million businesses, consumer data for more than 98% of US households, Key Business Ratios, and business plan templates.
Mometrix eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Mometrix eLibrary is a robust database of test preparation materials for career and professional certifications.
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) InfoTrac Newsstand
Gale OneFile: News is a full-text newspaper resource providing access to major U.S. regional, local, and national newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Nursing and Allied Health Collection
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health provides access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This essential resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily.
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Pop Culture Collection
Gale OneFile: Popular Culture Studies provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Psychology Collection
Gale OneFile: Psychology provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.
Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Religion and Philosophy Collection
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy is a comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily.
RKMA Market Research eBook Series This link opens in a new window
New
The 2024 editions of 10 RKMA reference ebooks covering marketing, market research, and consumer behavior.
New
Access this collection of over 5,500 titles covering the social sciences - scholarly texts, reference works, handbooks, and professional development titles. Available through May 2024.
Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Science In Context
Gale In Context: Science provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Science showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather. Integrating millions of full-text articles that include national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content, Science is updated daily and offers topics across the curriculum, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more.
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) U.S. History In Context
Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, and the War on Terror.
Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) Vocations and Careers Collection
Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
  • Accessible by Winthrop Community Only
New
Alternate Name(s) World History In Context
Gale In Context: World History reaches back to the ancient worldand forward to today's headlinesto deliver a chronicle of the people, cultures, events, and societies that have formed the history of the human race. A range of topics such as Aztecs, Industrial Revolution, Silk Road, the Buddha, Space Race, and more provide a wide perspective across the globe.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...