Skip to main content

Louise Pettus Archives and Special Collections

The Winthrop University Archives collects and preserves records, papers, books, artifacts, and other endangered historical material relating to South Carolina history, Women’s History, Winthrop, and subjects corresponding to the Winthrop curriculum.

Louise Pettus Archives & Special Collections

The Louise Pettus Archives and Special Collections at Winthrop University is the repository for historically valuable records relating to the history of Winthrop University and South Carolina, particularly the heritage of the Catawba Region (Chester, York, Union and Lancaster counties).

The Louise Pettus Archives is located at 700 Cherry Road, Rock Hill, S.C. (corner of Cherry Rd. and Charlotte Ave.)

A Winthrop University identification card or a scheduled appointment will be required to access the Archives collection. Researchers must call, write, or email before coming to the archives so that we may better serve you.

Search our collections at Digital Commons

  Digital Commons

 

1904 - Winthrop Students on Back Campus

1914 - Winthrop's Front Campus (L to R: Main Building (Tillman), North Dormitory (Margaret Nance), and Johnson Hall (Bancroft).

September 3, 1903 - Southern Railroad's Old Twenty-Five heading West from Rock Hill, SC Derailed and Plunged into Fishing Creek

Corpus iuris civilis (

Corpus iuris civilis ("Digest")- Med MS 3A

Justinian, Corpus iuris civilis (“Digest”). Single folio on vellum. Southern France, ca. 1275: 45 x 272 mm, essentially the entire page full of writing.

ca. 1900 - View of Cherry Road near Winthrop's Campus

ca. 1910s - Winthrop Students on Back Campus

1898 - Winthrop's First Summer School Class which included the First Male Students on Campus. Winthrop would not go fully coeducational until 1974, but men were permitted to take Evening and Summer School classes.