Genealogy Collection
The Archives has more than 1600 manuscript collections open to researchers. Many of them contain valuable historical information, including ancestral charts, family histories, scrapbooks, photographs, letters, diaries, wills, grants, indentures and biographical data. Much of the material is unpublished and varies in quantity and content from collection to collection.
The Guide to the Collection
(Search the Collection)
The Archives’ publication, A Guide to Family History Sources in the Winthrop University Archives and Special Collections (113 pp., 2000), has a family surname index of over 1,000 names for which the Archives has family history and genealogical information.
Patron Use of the Collection
Because of time constraints, the Archives cannot do research for patrons. The department will consider requests for limited reproduction of materials when such duplication can be done without injury to the material, without conflicts with donor agreements or copyright restrictions, and when reproduction does not cause undue burden on the staff.
To use genealogical material in the Archives, you must abide by the rules and regulations of the department and sign a "Rules for Use" form. As a security measure, a Winthrop University identification card or a scheduled appointment will be required to access the Archives collection. Researchers must call write or email before coming to the library so that we may better serve you.
Send a postcard or letter with a self-addressed stamped envelope or postcard, or e-mail us. Indicate the family surnames in which you are interested, and the Archives will mail or e-mail you an estimated cost of the duplication. Upon receipt of a check or money order, the Archives will forward the copied material requested. For a listing of reproduction charges and fees please consult the Research Fees page.
