The Louise Pettus Archives and Special Collections at Winthrop University serves as the official repository for historically significant records documenting the history of Winthrop University and the state of South Carolina, with a particular focus on the Catawba Region (Chester, Lancaster, Union, and York counties).
To ensure the best possible research experience, researchers are encouraged to contact the Archives in advance via phone, email, or mail to schedule an appointment. This allows our staff to provide tailored assistance and facilitate access to relevant materials.
Manuscript Collection
University Archives Collection
Rare Book Collection
Genealogy Collection
Oral History Collection
Gifts of any size are accepted and appreciated. Please choose Pettus Archives - Historical Preservation Fund from the drop down menu
Connecting people to the physical past.
Visit to explore history, houses, and stories across South Carolina
Rock Hill Yearbook Collection - Emmett Scott High School (The Rattler)
Fort Mill Yearbook Collection - George Fish High School (The Dolphin)
Winthrop Yearbook Collection - Winthrop College (The Tatler)
ca. 1910s - Winthrop Students on Back Campus. Photograph is part of the James Sisters Papers - Accession 869.
The Oral History Collection has number of interviews related to the Civil Rights Movement. To browse a few of these interviews click here
Cuneiform Tablet from approximately 800 BC. This tablet is part of the Cuneiform Tablet Collection - Accession 1382
Tintype of the original Rock Hill Train Depot. From the William Boyce White Jr. Papers - Accession 1488
Wes Sturgis and Eric Miller moving into Bancroft Hall in 1974, the first year Winthrop was fully coeducational. The two were among 110 men in the freshman class of 600.
Book of Hours (Penitential Psalms). Single folio on vellum. Northern France or Flanders, ca. 1450. This folio is part of the Medieval Manuscript Collection - Accession 1500
1914 - Winthrop's Front Campus (L to R: Main Building (Tillman), North Dormitory (Margaret Nance), and Johnson Hall (Bancroft).
Winthrop Student Minnie Brock (Class of 1898) modeling the Spring Uniform for the 1896-1897 Academic Year.