Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

K-12 Education Resources: K-12 Databases

A guide to K-12 resources available through Dacus Library, and on the web.

Dacus Library has access to several databases geared especially for grades K-12. They include books, articles, images and videos, maps, and much more. Some include puzzles and games to facilitate learning, while others include teaching tools such as lesson plans and information on Common Core and curriculum standards. 


BrainPopJr.  For students in grades K-3, BrainPopJr. has fun video activities that engage young learners.   Provided by


From Encyclopedia Britannica, this online edition includes age appropriate resources for elementary, middle, and high school students.  

Provided by


Credo searches over 3 million articles from 880+ reference books. Appropriate for middle and high school students, as well as adults. 

Provided by


 

 

Explora has articles on many topics from magazines, newspapers, books, and more.  It also includes images and maps.  Each interface and its resources has been designed for specific students - elementary, middle, and high school. Provided by


  For students in grades K-5, Kids InfoBits has articles, pictures, and reference information for all subjects.  Provided by


 

Resources in the Learning Express Library include test-prep tools, skill-building materials, and other career and life-skills resources for students (elementary and up) as well as adults.  Provided by  


Image result for MAS ultra school edition

 

MAS Ultra - School Edition is a database designed specifically for high school libraries. Includes full-text for hundreds of popular high school magazines and reference books.  It also has images, including photographs, maps, and flags.


 

For elementary and middle school students, as well as educators, NoveList helps students find great titles to read - fiction or non-fiction. Advanced search allows for limiting by age, lexile level, and much more. (EBSCO)   Provided by


 

For grades K-6, TumbleBooks contains over 1,400 read-aloud story-books, chapter books, graphic novels, songs, and National Geographic videos.  Provided by


A teaching and lesson planning resource from DISCUS, the World Almanac for Kids (Elementary) has videos, games and more for a variety of topics.

The World Almanac for Kids (Intermediary) is similar to the Elementary Almanac (above), but for middle and high school level lessons.

Writer's Reference Center from DISCUS is a resource for teaching writing to K-12 students (although mainly geared toward Middle and High school levels). There are resources for writing fundamentals, grammar and punctuation, style, and documentation.