Model United Nations: Resources

The Index to Proceedings

The Index to Proceedings is an annual bibliographic guide to the proceedings and documentation of the major organs. The Indexes are prepared by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library and are produced at the end of the session/year.

The Indexes are divided into two parts:

1. A comprehensive subject index to the documents (reports, letters, meeting records, resolutions, etc.) issued by the body in question during a particular session/year. The subject indexes correspond to the Agenda items of the body or for the Security Council, the matters it considered.
   For more information see Ask DAG.
2. An index to speeches delivered before the body in question during a particular session/year divided by countries/organizations, speakers, and subjects.

The Indexes to Proceedings have many specialised features, including:

1. voting charts;
2. tables indicating the specific dates on which meetings were held;
3. lists of resolutions adopted during the particular session/year.

Official Document System (ODS)

ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents. The database also includes scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993, including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records. Documents are available in the official languages of the UN; some documents are also available in German.

United Nations Digital Library

The United Nations Digital Library includes UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications. The platform provides access to UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979. System features include linked data between related documentation such as resolutions, meeting records and voting, and refining of searches by UN body, agency or type of document. Click on Help at the top of the screen for a detailed guide on how to use the UN Digital Library.

Yearbook of the United Nations - Beginning in 1946. In Dacus Library:  Call Number JX1977 .A37 .Y4 (1946 – ). Also full-text online.

The Yearbook of the United Nations is the principal reference work of the UN and provides a detailed overview of the Organization's activities during the course of a year. All the Yearbooks, 1945 to the most recent, are available online and provide citation to the documentation and include the full text of resolutions.

UN Info Quest (UN-I-QUE) provides citation to the symbols for documents throughout the history of the organization: each record within UN-I-QUE is historically comprehensive. UN-I-QUE does not provide citation to all documents, but to certain documents of a recurrent nature.

In Dacus Library:

Annual Review of United Nations Affairs (REF JX1977.A1 .A5), (1949 - 2010)

Great debates at the United Nations: an encyclopedia of fifty key issues; 1945-2000 (REF KZ4968 .G67 2001)