Gateway searches 60+ databases and 2,200+ scientific websites to provide access to authoritative federal science information.
National Centers for Environmental Information
NCEI maintains an archive of comprehensive oceanic, atmospheric, and geophysical data. Environmental data available through several platforms.
National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS)
NOAA's NESDIS provides secure and timely access to global environmental data gathered from satellites. It maintains one of the most significant archives of environmental data on Earth.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
The mission of the EPA is to protect human health and the environment. Their website has information on laws & regulations, and sites on a variety of environmental topics. Includes Envirofacts - a one-stop search tool for several EPA databases, and Environmental Topics - a topical guide to articles and news on the EPA site.
U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information
Provides access to DOE scientific and technical information emanating from DOE-funded research and development activities at DOE national laboratories and facilities, and at universities and other institutions nationwide.
The USGS is the science arm of the Department of the Interior and brings an array data and expertise to bear in support of decision-making on environmental, resource, and public safety issues. Includes access to USGS Topographic Maps.
U.S. Department of Agriculture Web Soil Survey
The Web Soil Survey, produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey, is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service which has soil maps and data for more than 95% of the nation's counties.
S.C. Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC) - Environment
DHEC promotes and protects the health of the public and the environment in South Carolina. Its Environment site has information on clean-up programs, ongoing environmental projects, loans & grants, permits, and more.
S.C. Department of Natural Resources (DNR)
The SCDNR serves as the principal advocate for and steward of South Carolina's natural resources. Their website provides information about rules & regulations, recreation facilities, conservation efforts, and more. Its Office of Environmental Programs is involved in reviewing proposed environmental impacts and providing science-based expertise to benefit the state's natural resources and its citizens.
York Soil & Water Conservation District
Promotes the wise and responsible use of natural resources for the benefit of York County's citizens. A subdivision of state government in partnership with the SCDNR and the USDA Natural Resource Conservation Service.
North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ)
The mission of the DEQ is to provide "science-based environmental stewardship for the health and prosperity of ALL North Carolinians." Their website has information on rules & regulations, permitting, the State Environmental Policy Act, outreach & education resources, and more.
Historical Soil Survey Maps of South Carolina
A digital collection of the University of South Carolina Libraries. Maps date from 1902-1937.
Topographical Maps of South Carolina
A digital collection of the University of South Carolina Libraries. Maps date from 1888-1975.
American Academy of Environmental Engineers & Scientists (AAEES)
The AASEES serves the professions by providing Board certification to qualified candidates, training and continuing education, and creating pathways for future EES professionals. Student membership is free.
American Society for Environmental History (ASEH)
The ASEH advances understanding of human interactions with the natural world by promoting historical research and teaching and fostering dialogue. Student memberships are available ($45).
The premier nonprofit public interest environmental law organization.
National Association of Environmental Professionals (NAEP)
A multi-disciplinary association for professionals dedicated to the advancement of the environmental professions. Student memberships are available ($50). There are NAEP Chapters in both North Carolina and South Carolina.
Global Council for Science and the Environment
The GCSE promotes the use of science to inform government decision-making about complex environmental challenges. It works collectively and engages scientists, educators, policymakers, business leaders, and officials at all levels of government.
The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
A United Nations body that prepares reports assessing the science related to climate change. These include assessment reports, methodology reports, and special reports.
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
Composed of both government and civil society organisations, the IUCN is the global authority of the status of the natural world and the measures needed to safeguard it.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) - Environment
The OECD is an international organisation that - together with governments, policy makes and citizens - works on establishing evidence-based international standards and finding solution to a range of social, economic and environmental challenges.
United Nations Environment Programme
UNEP's mission is to inspire, inform, and enable nations and peoples to improve their quality of life without compromising that of future generations. The Programme offers more than 15,000 items, from real-time data tools and platforms to key reports, publications, fact sheets, interactives and more.