The laws, regulations, documents, and data produced by the federal government and individual state governments are an important part of researching environmental science / studies issues. For more extensive information on Government Documents research, be sure to visit the Research Guides for Federal Government Information and South Carolina Government Information.
Government documents are discoverable in OneSearch by filtering for Resource Type Government Documents.
HOWEVER the results are very limited. Better options for locating government information is available through more specialized search engines (see below).
GovInfo
A free service of the USGPO (U.S. Government Publishing Office) providing access to official publications from all 3 branches of the Federal Government.
MetaLib
A service of the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications. It is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, etc., with direct links to selected resources.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
A finding tool for federal publications. Searchable by agency, title, subject, and keyword. Includes descriptive information for historical and current publications, with direct links to selected resources.
The National Archives Catalog
The public portal for the records held at the National Archives (NARA). Contains descriptions at the series level for NARA's holdings. Includes links to selected electronic resources.
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's official open data catalog. Access environmental datasets at the national and regional levels. Also contains links to other open data sources.