Library Research Guides by Subject
We have research guides for nearly every subject that is taught at Winthrop. These guides will point you in the direction of the best sources for each topic. Especially helpful are the lists of subject-specific databases.
Full list of all of the library's databases
You can use the first drop-down menu that says "All Subjects" to see a more focused list of databases grouped into specific subjects. For example: Art, Environmental Science, History, News (newspapers),etc...
You can search many of our databases at the same time by following these instructions:
1. Click on the link above to access the list of library databases.
2. Click on the letter "E", and then select the "Ebscohost Research Databases".
3. At the top of the page, click on the box next to "Select/deselect all", and then click "Continue".
4. Begin your search. You will be searching in 70 different databases at once. If you want to see the names of these databases, click on the link for "Choose databases" near the top of the page.
Newspaper databases
This is a list of 10 newspaper databases to search.
Provides the electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers. Major local resources included are: The State, The Herald (Rock Hill), and The Charlotte Observer.
Winthrop University Newspapers
The Johnsonian
The Roddey-McMillan record
The South Carolina National Register of Historic Places
South Carolina has more than 1,400 listings in the National Register of Historic Places, including more than 160 historic districts.
South Carolina Department of Archives and History
The mission of the Department of Archives and History is to preserve and promote the documentary and cultural heritage of the state through archival care and preservation, records management, public access, historic preservation, and education.
Dedicated to the celebration and preservation of South Carolina's rich history and heritage
County Government – South Carolina Association of Counties - http://www.sccounties.org/
Election Information - South Carolina State Election Commission - http://www.scvotes.org/
Governor – South Carolina Office of the Governor - http://governor.sc.gov
Municipal Association of South Carolina - http://www.masc.sc/Pages/Default.aspx
Office of Research and Statistics (Health and Demographics) http://hd.ors.sc.gov/
SC.gov - http://sc.gov
SCIway – South Carolina’s Information Highway http://www.sciway.net/
South Carolina Budget and Control Board -http://transparency.sc.gov/BCB/transparency/BCB-transparency-hub.phtm
South Carolina Cities - http://www.statelibrary.sc.gov/sc-cities
South Carolina Legislature - http://www.scstatehouse.gov/
South Carolina Counties - http://www.scstatehouse.gov/
South Carolina Department of Commerce - http://sccommerce.com/
You can use the search box on the Library website homepage to search for books.
The following is a list of some books in Dacus Library about Winthrop and the surrounding area. More books can be found at the Pettus Archives.
Winthrop University:
The torch is passed : a history of Winthrop University
by Ross A Webb, Winthrop University
Location: Dacus Library, General Collection
LD6094 .W43 2002
Campus walking tour guide (2005)
Location: Dacus Library, Reference Collection
LD6094 .A63 2005
Winthrop College : a centennial celebration
by Ron Chepesiuk, Winthrop College
Location: Dacus Library, Reference Collection
REF LB1954.R6 .C46 1985
Benjamin Ryan Tillman : his role in the founding and early history of Winthrop College
by Peggy Diane Neal
Location: Dacus Library, General Collection
E664.T57 N4 1970
Rock Hill:
Rock Hill, South Carolina
by Ron Chepesiuk
Location: Dacus Library, General Collection
F279.R6 C44 2001
Rock Hill, South Carolina : gateway to the New South
by J Edward Lee, Anne E Beard
Location: Dacus Library, General Collection
F279.R6 R63 1999
Empowering the vision : community-wide strategic planning in Rock Hill, South Carolina
by Craig M Wheeland
Location: Dacus Library, General Collection
HD30.28 .W44 2004
A city without cobwebs : a history of Rock Hill, South Carolina
by Douglas Summers Brown
Location: Dacus Library, General Collection
F279.R6 B7
York County:
Historic sites survey : York County
by Catawba Regional Planning Council
Location: Dacus Library, Reference Collection
REF F277.Y6 C37 1977
York County, South Carolina : its people and its heritage
by Arnold M Shankman
Location: Dacus Library, General Collection
F277.Y6 Y6 1983
York and Western York County : the story of a Southern Eden
by J Edward Lee, Jerry Lee West
Location: Dacus Library, General Collection
F279.Y67 L43 2001
Know your county : a survey of York County government and public services
by League of Women Voters of South Carolina
Location: Dacus Library, General Collection
JS451.S69 Y65 1981
Along the Catawba River : images from the Winthrop University Archives
by Ron Chepesiuk, Gina Price White, J Edward Lee
Location: Dacus Library, General Collection
F277.C3 C44 1999
