Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Winthrop University

ENVS 520: Senior Seminar in the Environment: Databases

Library Databases for Environmental Sciences

  • Science Direct - good for scientific coverage.
  • SciFinder  - Chemistry database. Great resource for water quality and environmental sciences.
  • GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) - covers emerging green technologies, environmental impact, sustainability.
  • Medline - good for health-related coverage.
  • National Agricultural Library (NAL) - index to the National Agricultural Library's books, articles, reports, and other materials published worldwide from most recently back to the 15th century. Writings about agriculture cover many aspects of environmental importance. Many resources are available online.
  • Agricola - Agricultural sciences, environmental sciences, integrated with full-text coverage in the library's other databases.
  • Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews - nutrition, global health, life sciences.
  • Academic Search Complete - good for general topics with considerable overlap between scientific, economic, political, societal, and other issues.
  • JSTOR - historical backfile of online full-text journals.
  • Business Source Complete - good for economic impacts of environmental issues.