Dacus Library and Pettus Archives present: “Stepping into Winthrop: Finding and Forming the Black Family on Campus.”
The Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH) theme for the 2021 Black History Month is “The Black Family: Representation, Identity, and Diversity.” Throughout the month of February, we are honoring Black History Month and the ASALH theme by presenting a virtual exhibit highlighting items from the Pettus Archives collection, a library display of materials from the Dacus print and electronic collections, and social media profiles spotlighting members of the Winthrop community.
Enter the Virtual Exhibit of photographs from the Pettus Archives collection:
(The exhibit is best viewed on a tablet or computer.)
This display located near the entrance at Dacus Library features photographs from the Pettus Archives collection alongside materials from the Library's print and electronic collections on the theme of The Black Family on Campus:
Black students on campus have traditionally formed communities that promote educational opportunities about Black Life and Culture. The Association of Ebonites focused on music, dance, event planning, and community service:
African American Fraternities and Sororities: The Legacy and the Vision explores the rich past and bright future of the nine Black Greek-Letter organizations that make up the National Pan-Hellenic Council.
Find this book in the Dacus Library collection: http://ow.ly/HJY450DpEno
Dr. Cynthia Roddey was one of the first African American women to enroll at Winthrop. Read her experiences in her own words: https://bit.ly/39Fi9OC
In Search of Sisterhood: Delta Sigma Theta and the Challenge of the Black Sorority Movement tells the story of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority and the increasing involvement of Black women in the political, social, and economic affairs of America.
Find this book in the Dacus Library collection: https://bit.ly/2MRpEJX
The Roddey McMillan Record is named after Dr. Cynthia Roddey and Atty Sheila McMillan. While attending Winthrop, McMillan was the president of the Association of Ebonites. She was a former attorney in the S.C. Senate for more than 20 years.
Living at the Intersections: Social Identities and Black Collegians brings together diverse authors to advance the use of intersectional approaches in studying Black students in higher education.
Find this ebook in the Dacus Library collection: https://bit.ly/2Zlexvt
Dr. Bessie Ayers Moody-Lawrence (1941-2012) was a professor in the College of Education from 1973 to 2004. She was a graduate of SC State College, Winthrop, and USC, and she was the first Black faculty member to be granted tenure at Winthrop. Dr. Moody-Lawrence was also the first Black professor to serve as a state legislator and the second Black woman to serve in the SC General Assembly from York County (1993-2007).
African American labor enabled the transformation of Sweet Briar Plantation into Sweet Briar College, a private women’s college, in 1906. Invisible Founders: How Two Centuries of African American Families Transformed a Plantation into a College challenges our ideas of what a college “founder” is, restoring African American narratives to their deserved and central place in the story of a single institution ― one that serves as a microcosm of the American South.
Find this book at Dacus Library: http://ow.ly/K2A150DHDri
0 Comments.