Reference resources provide background information or quick facts about a topic. There are many different kinds of reference works, including atlases, dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, biographical dictionaries, and statistical resources. You wouldn't typically cite to a reference work in a research paper. However they play a very useful role in your research by providing keywords and subjects for searching, and even references to other scholarly sources.
Dictionary of American History, 3rd ed. by
The third edition of this classic and indispensable work has been updated completely. Gender, race, and social-history perspectives have been added to many entries for the first time. The editors have also added maps and illustrations throughout the text. -- from "The Best of the Best Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2003.
The Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates by
Explores more than 1,000 years of American history and popular culture. Covering from the 10th century through the 20th, discover dates and events from the first Norse explorers in 986 through the end of 1996. Organized to enable readers to see the progression of events in any given field as well as get a picture of all the important events of any year. Contains an extensive index that allows readers to find specific entries quickly and easily.
The Oxford Companion to United States History by
With over 1,400 entries, this source illuminates not only America's political, diplomatic, and military history, but also social, cultural, and intellectual trends; science, technology, and medicine; the arts; and religion.
The Reader's Companion to American History by
Offers entries covering the critical events, issues and individuals that have shaped American History.
Dictionary of American Biography and Supplements by
Part of an integrated collection of primary documents, secondary reference sources, and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present day. The DAB records the lives of prominent Americans who died by Dec. 31, 1980 and consists of 20 volumes and supplements, including a general index volume. "No living persons ... have biographies in the Dictionary ... [and] no persons who ... [have] not lived in the territory now known as the United States."
National Cyclopedia of American Biography and Supplements
In 62 volumes plus supplements, the "National Cyclopaedia of American Biography" is a multi-decade series of volumes of biographies of Americans in every state, published by James T. White and Company. It contains more than 60,000 entries, mostly compiled from information provided by the subjects or their families, though sources are not usually credited. There is no overall order to the biographies, but indexes exist. The "National Cyclopedia" index covers the entire set (1891-1984). Many of the volumes are available in electronic format via the HathiTrust or the Internet Archive at: http://onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu/webbin/serial?id=ncycusbio.
Who Was Who in America 1607-2008, with World Notables
"Who Was Who in America" preserves in 20 volumes the lifetime accomplishments of many world history-makers with an emphasis on American personages. Extending a tradition of excellence in recording and publishing data, "Who Was Who in America" has proved its uniqueness and usefulness in countless research applications. The volumes are an accumulation of persons deceased from "Who is Who in America." Available via Dacus Library in both print and electronic format.
American National Biography, 24 vols. & Supplement by
American National Biography is the first new comprehensive biographical dictionary focused on American history to be published in seventy years. Produced under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies, the ANB contains over 17,500 profiles on historical figures each written by an expert in the field and completed with a bibliography. The scope of the work is enormous--from the earliest recorded European explorations to the very recent past.
A Guide to the Study of the United States of America; Representative Books Reflecting the Development of American Life and Thought, 2 vols. by
Representative books reflecting the development of American life and thought; prepared under the direction of Roy P. Basler, by Donald H. Mugridge and Blanche P. McCrum. Over 6,000 items described in detail in this guide as to what books are useful in studying a particular subject. An invaluable reference work. Consists of original volume and supplement.
United States History by
Selective but thorough coverage of bibliographic and informational materials, published between the 19th century and 1993.
Historical Atlas of the United States by 
Historical Atlas of Political Parties in the United States Congress by 
U. S. Presidential Elections, 1788-2004 by
This atlas allows researchers to easily make visual comparisons of regional voting patterns throughout the history of the United States. Two pages of maps for each election from 1788 to present include: One national map showing the winning candidate for each county, one national map per major candidate, including important third-party candidates, snapshot data and statistical charts on popular and electoral voting, candidate names and parties, and voter turnout.
