Of course, you'll want to make sure you are citing all your sources, and in the right format. The "Cite" buttons in the catalog and in the databases can be very helpful, but you'll need to make sure the formatting, punctuation, and everything is correct.
MLA Handbook by
This eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
The name Turabian has become synonymous with best practices in research writing and style. Her Manual for Writers continues to be the gold standard for generations of college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines. Now in its eighth edition, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today's writers and researchers. The book begins with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations. This volume reflects the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. Also includes an appendix on paper format and submission that has been vetted by dissertation officials from across the country, and a bibliography with the most up-to-date listing of critical resources available.
The Chicago Manual of Style by
The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. The Sixteenth Edition is available in book form and as a subscription website. The same content from The Chicago Manual of Style is in both versions. This volume includes expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books. An updated appendix on production and digital technology demystifies the process of electronic workflow and offers a primer on the use of XML markup, and a revised glossary includes a host of terms associated with electronic as well as print publishing. The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition, is an invaluable resource in this rapidly changing world. This is the style manual most often used by professional historians.
Evidence Explained by
Evidence Explained is the definitive guide to the citation and analysis of historical sources. According to the author, there are no historical resources we can trust at face value. Records simply offer evidence, and their assertions may or may not be true. To decide what actually happened, we must understand those records. To analyze that evidence and judge what to believe, we also need particular facts about those records. Thus, Evidence Explained has two principal uses: it provides citation models for most historical sources, especially original materials not covered by classic citation guides such as The Chicago Manual of Style. Beyond that, it can help us understand each type of record and identify each in such detail that we and our readers will know not only where to go to find our source, but, equally important, the nature of that source so that the evidence can be better interpreted and the accuracy of our conclusions properly appraised. Teaches readers to separate facts from assertions and theory from proof in the evaluation of evidence. Most Importantly, Evidence Explained discusses source citations for every known class of records, including microfilm and microfiche, and records created by the new digital media such as websites, digital books and journals, DVDs, CDs, audio files, podcasts, and e-zines.
A Student's Guide to History by
This compact, best-selling introduction to the study of history equips students with all the skills they need to succeed in a history course. The ninth edition provides students with even more practical tools and features; including new, hands-on exercises; that reinforce basic skills and explain tricky issues.
