Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books in Dacus Library
Use the Dacus Online Catalog (DOC) to find books.
1) Try a keyword search for your topic.
2) Look at several relevant records from the results list and write down words and phrases from the "subject" area of the record.
3) Go back to the search screen and search by SUBJECT using the words you identified in step 2.
4) When you find something you would like to see, copy down the call number and location, then locate the item on the shelf.
OneSearch: Find Articles, Books, and More
WorldCat - Search Worldwide Libraries
Culturegrams This link opens in a new window
200+ United Nations-member countries included, with reports containing history, customs, family, lifestyle, recipes, economy and more
Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window
This database provides a collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain, covering all major subject areas and designed to make academic research readily accessible in PDF format. Users enjoy relevant search results due to detailed abstracts in multiple languages and EBSCO's comprehensive indexing of every article.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Contains full text content of newspapers from around the world
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Providing access to thousands of full-text newspapers, this database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers. Videos and podcasts are coming soon.
World Almanac & Book of Facts
The World Almanac database includes the contents of:
- The World Almanac and Book of Facts 1998
- The World Almanac of the U.S.A.
- The World Almanac of U.S. Politics
- The World Almanac for Kids
Can't Find It Here?
Request it from another library!
1) Search Pascal Delivers for books available in other South Carolina libraries. Pascal Delivers will deliver requested books to Dacus Library.
2) If not available through Pascal Delivers, request the item through Interlibrary Loan. The item, if available, will be mailed to Dacus Library.
3) To search for books in libraries worldwide, search WorldCat. Request items through Interlibrary Loan if not available in Dacus Library.