Music-Related Database
RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) Abstracts with Full Text
- Structured and works like ERIC and Academic Search Complete
- International gateway to scholarly writings on music and music-related disciplines; has some full-text articles
- Covers 1967 to the present
- Can limit search to Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) publications
- Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term
- Can email, print, or download search results and articles
- Updated monthly
Education-Related Databases
ERIC (EbscoHost)
- Structured and works like RILM Abstracts and Academic Search Complete
- Provides access to more than 1.3 million records of journal articles and other education-related materials covering the entire field of education, including music, music education, music therapy, etc.
- Includes indexing for both non-journal materials (known as ERIC documents, or ED's) and journal articles (EJ's)
- ED's: From 1966 to 2004, available in microfiche on the second floor of the Library; from 1986 to the present, available in full text online
- EJ's: Full text of some articles available on ERIC; for others, use DOC to check for full text availability in another database or in hard copy print format in the Library
- Can limit search by year, language, or document type
- Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term
- Can email, print, or download search results
- Updated twice weekly
Mometrix eLibrary
- Database of test preparation materials for career and professional certification
- Includes study guides, flashcards, and practice questions
- Search for music to find, for example:
- Praxis Music: Instrumental and General Knowledge Secrets Study Guide
- Praxis II Music: Content and Instruction Exam Flashcards
- National Board Certification Music Exam Practice Test Questions
- and many more
Multi-Disciplinary Database
JSTOR
- Multi-disciplinary, multi-language, full-text database of hundreds of Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) journal articles; all journals included go back to their very first issue
- Includes "current" issues of two music journals (19th-Century Music and Journal of the American Musicological Society); all the rest have an embargo of several years before full-text articles can be added to the database ("Moving Wall")
- Full access to 47 journals in music, 59 in education; partial access to 9 journals in music and 18 in education
- Can limit by language, document type, and date, and to a specific discipline or even one or more specific journals
- Remember to use quotation marks around terms ( “ ” ) when searching for an exact phrase
- To print or download a document from a Library computer, first click the link for Download PDF, then the link I Accept JSTOR's Terms and Conditions, proceed to PDF. To email a document from a Library computer, save it to the Desktop, open your own email program, and send the document as an email attachment. Option: Save the article to the Desktop, then upload the document to your own folder on Dropbox
