Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Winthrop University

History of Music from 1750-1900: Databases

This guide presents resources which will help you complete your research paper in music history.

All Databases

Click on the links below for additional databases available for your use.

Databases

Music-Related Databases


Naxos Music Library

  • Streaming access to thousands of CDs in classical, contemporary jazz, jazz/folk/blues legends, and world/folk genres
  • Search by composer, work, genre and CD label, using keyword or advanced search
  • Liner notes for many recordings
  • Users can create personalized playlists
  • Includes much background information, such as audiobook transcriptions about the history of classical music and opera; libretti and synopses of more than 700 operas; work analyses; work details with instrumentation, publishers, durations, and available recordings; classical music podcasts; and more
  • Updated monthly

 

Oxford Music Online


RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) Abstracts with Full Text

  • International gateway to scholarly writings on music and music-related disciplines; has many full-text articles, but not every search result has a full-text article
  • Structured and works like Academic Search Complete
  • Covers 1967 to the present
  • Can limit search to Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) journals
  • Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term
  • Can email, print, or download search results and articles
  • Updated monthly
     

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete

  • Multi-disciplinary index to articles in more than 8,000 journals from 1975 to the present
  • Indexes journals and magazines in all subject areas, many of them in full text
  • Structured and works like RILM Abstracts
  • Can limit to Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) journals
  • Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term
  • Can email, print, or download search results and articles
  • Updated daily

 

Biography In Context

  • Combines biographies from various sources on more than 1 million people from throughout history, across all disciplines and subject areas
  • Includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals, and links to Web sites. Good for basic information
  • Updated daily

 

Films on Demand

  • Web-based streaming video platform for viewing videos from the FIlms Media Group
  • Film producers include PBS, EuroArts Music International, the Broadway Digital Archive, the BBC, ARTE France, National Geographic, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, HBO, and many more
  • As of Jan. 1, 2019, there are 1,204 titles in Music & Dance
  • Updated daily

 

JSTOR

  •  Multi-disciplinary, multi-language, full-text database of hundreds of scholarly (peer-reviewed) journal articles; all journals included go back to their very first issue
  •  Winthrop has full access to 47 journals in music
  •  Searchable; can limit the search by language, document type, and date of publication. Must select a specific discipline or one or more specific journals within a discipline for the search.
  • Remember to use quotation marks around terms ( “ ” ) when searching for an exact phrase
  • To print or download a document, first click on the DOWNLOAD PDF button, then on the link I Accept JSTOR's Terms and Conditions, proceed to PDF. Use the PDF icons to print or download the document. To email a document from a Library computer, click on the DOWNLOAD PDF button, then click on the download icon. This will save the document in the Downloads folder on the Desktop. Next, open your own email program, create a new message, find the document in the Downloads folder, attach it to the email you just created, and send the document wherever you want. Option: Download the article to the Desktop, then save the document to your own folder on Dropbox, Google Docs, etc. The document will be saved on the Desktop for only a short while, until you log off the computer or until the computer refreshes itself.

 

Oxford Reference Online: Premium

  • Has full-text reference titles in 19 broad disciplines, including the Oxford Music Online database, and several other titles in music