Library Guides: History of Music from 1750-1900: Databases

Additional databases

There are more databases available to you:

Ebscohost Research Databases This link opens in a new window
Select and search across any and all EBSCO databases.
Gale Research Complete cross-search This link opens in a new window
Search across all Gale Research Complete products.

Streaming access to thousands of CDs in classical, contemporary jazz, jazz/folk/blues legends, and world/folk genres
Search by composer, work, genre and CD label, using keyword or advanced search
Liner notes for many recordings
Users can create personalized playlists
Includes much background information, such as audiobook transcriptions about the history of classical music and opera; libretti and synopses of more than 700 operas; work analyses; work details with instrumentation, publishers, durations, and available recordings; classical music podcasts; and more
Updated monthly

Comprehensive integrated full-text music resource
Resources include Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, and the Oxford Dictionary of Music
Updated monthly

Comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and subject indexing
Structured and works like Academic Search Complete
Wealth of content from the early 1800s through the present
Can limit search to Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) journals
Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term
Can email, print, or download search results and articles
Updated monthly

Millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources

Multi-disciplinary index to articles in more than 8,000 journals from 1975 to the present
Many articles are available in full text
Can limit to Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) journals
Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term
Can email, print, or download search results and articles
Updated daily

Combines biographies from various sources on more than 1 million people from throughout history, across all disciplines and subject areas
Includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals, and links to Web sites. Good for basic information
Updated daily

Web-based streaming video platform for viewing videos from the Films Media Group
Film producers include PBS, EuroArts Music International, the Broadway Digital Archive, the BBC, ARTE France, National Geographic, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, HBO, and many more
As of Jan 2024, there are 871 titles on World Music, Music History, and Music Appreciation, and 848 documentaries and live performances
Updated daily

Multi-disciplinary, multi-language, full-text database of hundreds of scholarly (peer-reviewed) journal articles; all journals included go back to their very first issue
Includes 74 music-related journals
Searchable; can limit the search by language, document type, and date of publication.
Remember to use quotation marks around terms ( “ ” ) when searching for an exact phrase

Has full-text reference titles in 19 broad disciplines, including the Oxford Music Online database, and several other titles in music