Vocal Pedagogy: Databases

Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)

• Access to 229 full-text, peer-reviewed journals covering education and related fields, including over 25 on music education
• Indexing and abstracting for 1,861 peer-reviewed journals

Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile)

• Provides access to full-text for titles in the ERIC database, including 15 on music education
• Covers multiple levels of education, from preschool to college

ERIC (EbscoHost)

• Access to more than 1.3 million records of journal articles and other education-related materials
• Includes indexing for both non-journal materials (known as ERIC documents or ED's) and journal articles (EJ's)
  • ED's - Full-text available from 1986 to present (Dacus has 1966 to 2004 available in microfiche on the upper level)
  • EJ's - Some full-text is available on ERIC; for others use OneSearch to check for full text availability in another database or in print
• Updated twice weekly

Academic OneFile (Gale)

• Millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources

Academic Search Complete

• Multi-disciplinary index to articles in more than 8,000 journals from 1975 to the present
• Many articles are available in full text
• Can limit to Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) journals
• Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term
• Can email, print, or download search results and articles
• Updated daily

JSTOR

•  Multi-disciplinary, multi-language, full-text database of hundreds of scholarly (peer-reviewed) journal articles; all journals included go back to their very first issue
•  Includes 74 music-related journals
•  Searchable; can limit the search by language, document type, and date of publication
• Remember to use quotation marks around terms ( “ ” ) when searching for an exact phrase

Oxford Reference Online

• Has full-text reference titles in 19 broad disciplines, including the Oxford Music Online database, and several other titles in music