Skip to Main Content Winthrop University

New Titles @ Dacus

This guide lets you know about new resources now available at Dacus Library, the Music Library, and Pettus Archives.

Highlights

Finding Phoebe
Borderland
Research Methods in the Dance Sciences
Math for Business and Economics
Implicit Bias
Hip-Hop en Français
Video/Art
Handbook of Research on Cyber Law, Data Protection, and Privacy
Insectpedia

Complete list - the letters represent the call number range. A guide to the call numbers is in a box to the left.

EBook Collections

RKMA Market Research 2024 eBook Series

Sage Knowledge Complete 2023 Books & Reference Collection

EBooks

The ethics of microaggression / Regina Rini.

The regal throne power, politics and ribaldry : a guide to Shakespeares Richard II, Henry IV parts 1 and 2, and Henry V / Nicholas Dobson.

Sacred foundations : the religious and medieval roots of the European state / Anna M. Grzymała-Busse.

Finding Phoebe : What New Testament Women Were Really Like.

The Rise and Fall of Dispensationalism : How the Evangelical Battle over the End Times Shaped a Nation.

Oral Roberts and the Rise of the Prosperity Gospel.

Conjured Bodies : Queer Racialization in Contemporary Latinidad / Laura Grappo.

Sport tourism and local sustainable development / edited by Claude Sobry, Sorina Cernaianu.

Geography of happiness : a spatial analysis of subjective well-being / Eric Vaz, editor.

Dance and Belonging : Implicit Bias and Inclusion in Dance Education.

Sport management education : global perspectives and implications for practice / edited by Mike Rayner and Tom Webb.

Sport and the environment : politics and preferred futures / edited by Brian Wilson and Brad Millington.

Dance pedagogy for a diverse world : culturally relevant teaching in theory, research and practice / Nyama McCarthy-Brown ; foreword by Takiyah Nur Amin.

Who let them in? : pathbreaking women in sports journalism / Joanne Lannin ; foreword by Jackie MacMullan.

Sport for development and peace : foundations and applications / edited by Robert E. Baker, Craig Esherick, Pamela Hudson Baker.

Creative character design for games and animation / Jenny Harder.

Qualitative management research in context : data collection, interpretation and narrative / edited by Bruno Luiz Américo, Stewart Clegg, César Tureta.

Sustainable Development and Peace : A Study in Sociological Theory / Romina Gurashi.

Artisan entrepreneurship / edited by Vanessa Ratten [and three others].

Entrepreneurship, neurodiversity & gender : exploring opportunities for enterprise and self-employment as pathways to fulfilling lives / by Dinah Bennett and Yolanda K. Gibb.

Disadvantaged entrepreneurship and the entrepreneurial ecosystem / edited by David Grant Pickernell [and three others].

Border culture : theory, imagination, geopolitics / Victor Konrad and Anne-Laure Amilhat Szary.

Rethinking conflict resolution and management / I. William Zartman, Sinisa Vukovic.

Successful Black entrepreneurs : hidden histories, inspirational stories, and extraordinary business achievements : case studies by Harvard Business School / Steven S. Rogers, Harvard Business School, retired.

Business plans handbook. / Kristin Kahrs, editor ; Karin E. Koek, contributing editor.

Strategic communication and AI : public relations with intelligent user interfaces / Simon Moore and Roland Hübscher.

Achieving business competitiveness in a digital environment : opportunities in e-commerce and online marketing / Tereza Semerádová, Petr Weinlich, editors.

Dark sides of organizational life : hostility, rivalry, gossip, envy and other difficult behaviors / edited by H. Cenk Sözen and H. Nejat Basim.

Financial mathematics : from discrete to continuous time / Kevin J. Hastings.

Storytelling with you : plan, create, and deliver a stellar presentation / Cole Nussbaumer Knaflic.

The business of emotions in modern history / edited by Mandy Cooper and Andrew Popp.

Math for business and economics : compendium of essential formulas / Franz W. Peren.

HBR's 10 must reads on performance management / Marcus Buckingham [and three others].

Conversations on Ethics and Business : A Guide to Thinking about Workplace Ethics.

Banking on slavery : financing Southern expansion in the antebellum United States / Sharon Ann Murphy.

Crises and uncertainty in the economy / Hachmi Ben Ameur [and three others] editors.

Neglected social theorists of color : deconstructing the margins / Korey Tillman [and nine others].

The intolerant middle ages : a reader / edited by Eugene Smelyansky.

Queer : a graphic history / Meg-John Barker, Julia Scheele.

Men, Families, and Poverty [electronic resource] : Tracing the Intergenerational Trajectories of Place-Based Hardship / by Kahryn Hughes, Anna Tarrant.

Greening the urban habitat : a quantitative and empirical approach / David Kim Hin Ho.

Handbook of research on the significance of forensic accounting techniques in corporate governance / Suleman Sherali Kamwani, Elisabete S. Vieira, Mara Madaleno, and Graca Azevedo, editors.

Assessing culturally informed parenting in social work / Davis Kiima.

Conflict resolution in de facto states : the practice of engagement without recognition / Sebastian Relitz.

Critical theories in international relations : identity and security dilemma / Edited by Tayyar Ari.

The Ukrainian-Russian borderland : history versus geography / Volodymyr V. Kravchenko.

Handbook of research on cyber law, data protection, and privacy / Nisha Dhanraj Dewani, Zubair Ahmed Khan, Aarushi Agarwal, Mamta Sharma, and Shaharyar Asaf Khan, editors.

Financial Technology and the Law [electronic resource] : Combating Financial Crime / edited by Doron Goldbarsht, Louis de Koker.

Fragmenting markets : post-crisis bank regulations and financial market liquidity / Darrell Duffie.

Implementing augmented reality into immersive virtual learning environments / Donna Russell, editor.

Designing, deploying, and evaluating virtual and augmented reality in education / Gokce Akcayir and Carrie Demmans Epp, editors.

Restorative justice in the classroom : liberating students' voices through relational pedagogy / Crystena A. H. Parker-Shandal.

Survey of US Higher Education Faculty 2023, Interest in Producing or Using Open Access Educational Materials.

Implicit bias : an educator's guide to the language of microaggressions / Theresa M. Bouley, Anni K. Reinking.

Humanizing Education for Immigrant and Refugee Youth : 20 Strategies for the Classroom and Beyond.

Teaching emergent bilingual students with dis/abilities : humanizing pedagogies to engage learners and eliminate labels.

Transformative Learning [electronic resource] : Autoethnographies of Qualitative Research / edited by Frode Soelberg, Larry D. Browning, Jan-Oddvar Sørnes, Frank Lindberg.

Women opera composers : biographies from the 1500s to the 21st century / Mary F. McVicker.

A new history of American and Canadian folk music / Dick Weissman.

Creating Commercial Music : Advertising * Library Music * TV Themes * and More.

Culturally responsive choral music education : what teachers can learn from nine students' experiences in three choirs / Julia T. Shaw.

Commercial and popular music in higher education : expanding notions of musicianship and pedagogy in contemporary education / Jonathan R. Kladder.

Culturally sustaining pedagogies in music education : expanding culturally responsive teaching to sustain diverse musical cultures and identities / Emily Good-Perkins.

Colour Third Edition : A Workshop for Artists, Designers.

Graphic Design Thinking [electronic resource] : Beyond Brainstorming

Werner's Nomenclature of Colours

Saving the planet by design : reinventing our world through ecomimesis / Ken Yeang [electronic resource]

The design of race : how visual culture shapes America / Peter Claver Fine.

Journalism's racial reckoning : the news media's pivot to diversity and inclusion / Brad Clark.

Actions : the actors' thesaurus / Marina Caldarone and Maggie Lloyd-Williams.

The actor and the target / Declan Donnellan

The Routledge companion to journalism ethics / edited by Lada T. Price, Karen Sanders, and Wendy N. Wyatt.

Belligerent broadcasting : synthetic argument in broadcast talk / Michael HIggins and Angela Smith.

The fintech disruption : how financial innovation is transforming the banking industry / edited by Thomas Walker, Elaheh Nikbakht, and Maher Kooli.

Mysteries and conspiracies : detective stories, spy novels and the making of modern societies / Luc Boltanski ; translated by Catherine Porter.

James Joyce and the Irish revolution : the Easter Rising as modern event / Luke Gibbons.

Shakespeare's botanical Imagination edited by Susan C. Staub

Shakespeare's book : the story behind the first folio and the making of Shakespeare / Chris Laoutaris.

Magic in early modern England : literature, politics, and supernatural power / Andrew Moore.

Kazuo Ishiguro.

The East Indian : A Novel.

Planning Science Instruction for Emergent Bilinguals : Weaving in Rich and Relevant Language Support.

The story of proof : logic and the history of mathematics / John Stillwell.

Ancient Mathematics [electronic resource] : History of Mathematics in Ancient Greece and Hellenism / by Dietmar Herrmann.

The new era in American mathematics, 1920-1950 / Karen Hunger Parshall. [electronic resource]

Hacking digital ethics / David J. Krieger and Andréa Belliger.

Understanding climate change : a practical guide / Frank R. Spellman.

Polaritonic Chemistry [electronic resource] : Manipulating Molecular Structure Through Strong Light–Matter Coupling / by Javier Galego Pascual​.

The singularity of nature : a convergence of biology, chemistry and physics / John S. Torday and William B. Miller, Jr.

Aquatic animal nutrition : organic macro- and micro-nutrients / Christian E. W. Steinberg.

Insulin : the crooked timber : a history from thick brown muck to Wall Street gold / Kersten T. Hall.

Fats and Associated Compounds.

Virtual Management and the New Normal [electronic resource] : New Perspectives on HRM and Leadership since the COVID-19 Pandemic / edited by Svein Bergum, Pascale Peters, Tone Vold.

Corporate social responsibility in the health sector : CSR and COVID-19 in global health service institutions / Samuel O. Idowu, Mary T. Idowu and Abigail O. Idowu, editors.

Leading innovation and entrepreneurship in healthcare : a global perspective / Claudine Kearney.

Nutrition and human health : effects and environmental impacts / edited by Hicham Chatoui.

The brain on youth sports : the science, the myths, and the future / Julie M. Stamm.

Evidence-based nutrition and clinical evidence of bioactive foods in human health and disease / Asim K. Duttaroy.

Building envelopes [electronic resource] : an integrated approach / Jenny Lovell.

The Index of Middle English Prose : Manuscripts in New York City Libraries.

Grid systems [electronic resource] : principles of organizing type / Kimberly Elam.

Thinking with type : a critical guide for designers, writers, editors, & students / Ellen Lupton.

The Chicago guide to fact-checking / Brooke Borel.

A - Reference Works, Museums, Scholarship

 

B - Philosophy, Psychology, Religion

The lies that bind : rethinking identity, creed, country, color, class, culture / Kwame Anthony Appiah.

Decolonizing the body : healing, body-centered practices for women of color to reclaim confidence, dignity & self-worth / Kelsey Blackwell.

Creativity and innovation : everyday dynamics and practice / Terence Lee, Lauren O'Mahony, Pia Lebeck.

The second circle : how to use positive energy for success in every situation : this book will transform your life, minute to minute / Patsy Rodenburg.

Chasing the devil at Foggy Bottom : the future of religion in American diplomacy / Shaun A. Casey.

The Ilkhanid book of ascension : a Persian-Sunni devotional tale / Christiane Gruber.

The Prophet's ascension : cross-cultural encounters with the Islamic mi'rāj tales / edited by Christiane Gruber and Frederick Colby

The Bahá'í faith and African American history : creating racial and religious diversity / edited by Loni Bramson ; introduction by Loni Bramson.

The other evangelicals : a story of liberal, Black, progressive, feminist, and gay Christians - and the movement that pushed them out / Isaac B. Sharp.

C. S. Lewis and the Christian worldview / Michael L. Peterson.

Be sure to check out the new ebooks in this subject area on the Electronic tab!

C - History

The black Atlantic : modernity and double consciousness / Paul Gilroy.

D - World History

Approaches to global history : to see the world whole / edited by Felipe Fernández-Armesto and Elizabeth Baker, Beatriz Carillo, Samuel K. Fisher, Garrett Fontenot, Andrew Mach, Sarah Naramore, Natalie Sargent.

A pragmatist philosophy of history / Marnie Binder.

Borderland : a journey through the history of Ukraine / Anna Reid.

The pilgrimage road to Santiago : the complete cultural handbook / David M. Gitlitz and Linda Kay Davidson.

E-F - History of the Americas

Bodies out of place : theorizing anti-blackness in U.S. society / Barbara Harris Combs.

The Gaelic and Indian origins of the American Revolution : diversity and empire in the British Atlantic, 1688-1783 / Samuel K. Fisher.

For indigenous minds only : a decolonization handbook / edited by Waziyatawin and Michael Yellow Bird.

Manifest manners : narratives on postindian survivance / Gerald Vizenor.

A sacred path : the way of the Muscogee Creeks / Jean Chaudhuri and Joyotpaul Chaudhuri.

Be sure to check out the new ebook in this subject area on the Electronic tab!

Be sure to check out the new ebooks in these subject areas on the Electronic tab!

G - Geography, Anthropology, Recreation

A bigger picture : my fight to bring a new African voice to the climate crisis / Vanessa Nakate.

The evolution of everything : the patterns and causes of big history / Brian Villmoare, University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

Misanthropology : science, pseudoscience, and the study of humanity / Sean M. Rafferty.

Decolonizing methodologies : research and indigenous peoples / Linda Tuhiwai Smith.

Nomads : the wanderers who shaped our world / Anthony Sattin ; with illustrations by Sylvie Franquet.

Edible people : the historical consumption of slaves and foreigners and the cannibalistic trade in human flesh / Christian Siefkes.

The digital folklore of cyberculture and digital humanities / [edited by] Stamatis Papadakis, and Alexandros Kapaniaris.

Be water, my friend : the teachings of Bruce Lee / Shannon Lee.

Research methods in the dance sciences / edited by Tom Welsh, Jatin P. Ambegaonkar, and Lynda Mainwaring.

Game-based pedagogy in physical education and sports : designing rich learning environments / Jeroen Koekoek, Ivo Dokman and Wytse Walinga.

H - Social Sciences

The social sciences in the looking glass : studies in the production of knowledge / edited by Didier Fassin & George Steinmetz.

The art and science of portraiture / Sara Lawrence-Lightfoot, Jessica Hoffmann Davis.

Desert frontier : ecological and economic change along the Western Sahel, 1600-1850 / James L.A. Webb, Jr.

The Social Dimensions of the circular economy / Lucila Maria de Souza Campos, Diego A. Vázquez-Brust, editors.

Conflict management and intercultural communication : the art of intercultural harmony / edited by Xiaodong Dai, Guo-Ming Chen.

The problem with work : feminism, Marxism, antiwork politics, and postwork imaginaries / Kathi Weeks.

The psychology of belonging / Kelly-Ann Allen.

Imagined globalization / Néstor García Canclini ; translated and with an introduction by George Yúdice.

Inequality & violence in the United States : casualties of capitalism / Barbara H. Chasin.

Gyn/ecology : the metaethics of radical feminism / Mary Daly ; with a new intergalactic introduction by the author.

COVID-19, the LGBTQIA+ community, and public policy / edited by Wallace Swan.

On the inconvenience of other people / Lauren Berlant.

Hijab butch blues : a memoir / Lamya H.

The encyclopedia of rural crime / edited by Alistair Harness, Jessica Rene Peterson, Matt Bowden, Cassie Pedersen, Joseph F. Donnermeyer.

Creative Interventions toolkit : a practical guide to stop interpersonal violence.

Domestic violence against men and boys : experiences of male victims of intimate partner violence / edited by Elizabeth A. Bates and Julie C. Taylor.

Gun violence and gun control : critical engagements / edited by Annette Bailey, Thomas S. Harrison, and Rebecca Jaremko Bromwich.

In their names : the untold story of victims' rights, mass incarceration, and the future of public safety / Lenore Anderson.

Contemporary criminal justice careers : a comprehensive guide / Matthew J. Sheridan, Thomas J. Lalka.

Be sure to check out the new ebooks in these subject areas on the Electronic tab!

J - Political Science

Combining political history and political science : towards a new understanding of the political / edited by Carlos Domper Lasús and Giorgia Priorelli.

L'art d'être français : lettres à de jeunes philosophes / Michel Onfray.

The imperial presidency and American politics : governance by edicts and coups / Benjamin Ginsberg.

Local interests : politics, policy, and interest groups in US city governments / Sarah F. Anzia.

K - Law

Comparative and transnational dispute resolution / edited by Shahla Ali.

Be sure to check out the new ebooks in these subject areas on the Electronic tab!

L - Education

M - Music

Say can you deny me : a guide to surviving music by women from the 16th through the 18th centuries / Barbara Garvey Jackson.

Hip-hop en Français : an exploration of hip-hop culture in the Francophone world / edited by Alain-Philippe Durand ; foreword by Marcyliena Morgan.

Be sure to check out the new ebooks in this subject area on the Electronic tab!

N - Fine Arts

The story of art without men / Katy Hessel.

Image on the edge : the margins of medieval art / Michael Camille.

Video/art : the first fifty years / Barbara London.

Black art : a cultural history / Richard J. Powell.

Fabrice Samyn : I am? / with contributions by Vinciane Despret, Wivine de Traux, Pascal Rousseau ; translation, Emiliano Battista.

New approaches to medieval architecture / edited by Robert Bork, William W. Clark [and] Abby McGehee

The Cambridge guide to the architecture of Christianity / General editor, Richard A. Etlin, University of Maryland, College Park.

Paris and her cathedrals / R. Howard Bloch.

Castle builders : approaches to castle design and construction in the Middle Ages / Malcolm Hislop.

Hrvatski Apoksiomen = The Croatian Apoxyomenos / uredništvo, Miljenko Domijan, Iskra Karniš.

Imperial colors : the Roman portrait busts of Septimius Severus and Julia Domna, Sidney and Lois Eskenazi Museum of Art, Indiana University / Julie Van Voorhis, Mark Abbe with Juliet Graver Istrabadi ; foreword by David Brenneman, Wilma E. Kelley Director, Sidney and Lois Eskenazi Museum of Art, Indiana University.

Apoxyòmenos : the athlete of Croatia / edited by Maurizio Michelucci.

Medieval monsters / Damien Kempf & Maria L. Gilbert.

The Bayeux Tapestry : new approaches : proceedings of a conference at the British Museum / edited by Dan Terkla, Gale R. Owen-Crocker, Michael J. Lewis.

The art of cloth in Mughal India / Sylvia Houghteling.

Be sure to check out the new ebooks in this subject area on the Electronic tab!

P - Language and Literature

Race, gender, class and media : studying mass communication and multiculturalism / Sharon Bramlett-Solomon, Meta G. Carstarphen.

The Upright Citizens Brigade comedy improvisation manual / written by: Matt Besser, Ian Roberts, Matt Walsh; edited by Joe Wengert; illustrations by David Kantrowitz.

More than illustrated music : aesthetics of hybrid media between pop, art and video / edited by Kathrin Dreckmann and Elfi Vomberg.

Interpreting music video : popular music in the post-MTV era / Brad Osborn.

The myth of post-racialism in television news / Libby Lewis.

The phantom scientist / Robin Cousin ; translated by Edward Gauvin.

Canisy ; suivi de Chef-lieu / Jean Follain.

Œuvres / Max Jacob ; édition établie, présentée et annotée par Antonio Rodriguez ; préface de Guy Goffette.

Henri Michaux, le corps écrit / Llewellyn Brown.

Bad blood : staging race between early modern England and Spain / Emily Weissbourd.

Sympathy in early modern literature and culture / Richard Meek.

Late Romanticism and the end of politics : Byron, Mary Shelley and the last men / John Havard, Binghamton University.

Key concepts in Victorian studies / William Hughes.

Salman Rushdie in context / edited by Florian Stadtler, University of Bristol.

Death and the body in the eighteenth-century novel / Jolene Zigarovich.

Posthumanity in the Anthropocene : Margaret Atwood's dystopias / Esther Muñoz-González.

Fugitive poses : Native American Indian scenes of absence and presence / Gerald Vizenor.

In the shadow of invisibility : Ralph Ellison and the promise of American democracy / Sterling Lecater Bland Jr.

Imago : poems / by Brian Swann.

The philosophical pathos of Susan Taubes : between nihilism and hope / Elliot R. Wolfson.

The king is dead : stories / Walter Tevis ; introduction by Kevin Brockmeier.

Landlock X : poems / Sarah Audsley.

When in Rome : a novel / Liam Callanan.

Below zero : poems / by Carol V. Davis.

Testament : poems / Luke Hankins.

Proximity / Sam Heaps.

Beasts of a little land : a novel / Juhea Kim.

L'affaire Margot / Sanaë Lemoine ; traduit de l'américain par Manu Causse.

Fight or flight / Andrew McFadyen-Ketchum.

The dog of the north / Elizabeth McKenzie.

Scrape the velvet from your antlers : poems / Kelly McQuain.

While it lasts : stories / Scott Nadelson.

Take what you need / Idra Novey.

To be named something else / Shaina Phenix.

Rooftops of Tehran / Mahbod Seraji.

Ghosts over the boiler : voices from Alabama's death row / Project Hope to Abolish the Death Penalty ; edited by Katie Owens-Murphy.

Be sure to check out the new ebooks in these subject areas on the Electronic tab!

Q - Science

Insectpedia : a brief compendium of insect lore / Eric R. Eaton ; illustrations by Amy Jean Porter.

Food for thought : nutrition and the aging brain / Richard A. Dienstbier.

R - Medicine

A geography of infection : spatial processes and patterns in epidemics and pandemics / Matthew Smallman-Raynor, Andrew Cliff, Keith Ord, Peter Haggett.

S - Agriculture

T - Technology

Losing the cybersecurity war : and what we can do to stop it / Steve King ; edited by Kiren Chaudry.

Called to the camera : Black American studio photographers / Brian Piper with John Edwin Mason, Carla Williams, and Russell Lord ; foreword by Susan Taylor.

Assessing intake of food and dietary supplements in older adults / Emily A Callahan and Hoda Soltani, rapporteurs ; Food and Nutrition Board; Health and Medicine Division.

Be sure to check out the new ebook in this subject area on the Electronic tab!

U - Military Science

Z - Bibliography, Library Science

Be sure to check out the new ebooks in this subject area on the Electronic tab!