Skip to Main Content Winthrop University

New Titles @ Dacus

This guide lets you know about new resources now available at Dacus Library, the Music Library, and Pettus Archives.

Highlights

The Sounds of Life
Wigs, Hair and Make-Up: A Backstage Guide
Chooch Helped
The Economics of Artificial Intelligence : Health Care Challenges.
The Last Stand
Islamic Architecture
The Oxford Handbook of Hip Hop Dance Studies
Living with the Gods
Reprogrammable Rhetoric

Complete list - the letters represent the call number range. A guide to the call numbers is in a box to the left.

EBook

Academic Integrity in the Age of Artificial Intelligence / edited by Saadia Mahmud.

Disability, Intersectionality, and Belonging in Special Education : Socioculturally Sustaining Practices / edited by Elizabeth A. Harkins Monaco, L. Lynn Stansberry Brusnahan, Marcus C. Fuller, Martin Odima Jr.

Curating Art Now.

How Digital Technologies Can Support Positive Psychology / Steven Barnes and Julie Prescott.

Teaching the Middle Ages through modern games : using, modding and creating games for education and impact / edited by Robert Houghton.

Reprogrammable Rhetoric : Critical Making Theories and Methods in Rhetoric and Composition / edited by Michael J. Faris and Steve Holmes.

Wigs, hair and make-up : A backstage guide / Helen Casey.

Normalizing the sports journalism niche : coexisting in a modern news landscape / Nicholas R. Buzzelli.

Automated Data Analytics : Combining Human Creativity and AI Power Using ChatGPT / Soraya Sedkaoui.

Seven Fundamental Concepts in Spacetime Physics / by Vesselin Petkov.

The Economics of Artificial Intelligence : Health Care Challenges.

Tackling the concussion epidemic : a bench to bedside approach / edited by Tom A. Schweizer, Andrew J. Baker.

Navigating the challenges of concussion / Michael Jaffee, Donna K. Broshek, and Adrian M. Svingos.

Grief and Trauma Counseling Education : Preparing Future Counselors / Michelle R. Cox.

Cool fuel : the science and engineering of cryogenic hydrogen / Jacob W. Leachman, Øivind Wilhelmsen, and Konstantin I. Matveev.

Sustainability Engineering for Enhanced Process Design and Manufacturing Profitability : Balancing the Environment through Renewable Resources / by Jeffery P. Perl.

AI Technology in Wealth Management: Leveraging Technology to Transform Financial Strategies

Psychotherapy in the Age of Political Polarization : A Guide for Mental Health Professionals

How Energy Considerations Have Shaped Our Fundamental Modern Theories of Physics : Theory and Key Historical Moments / by E. B. Manoukian.

Cross-Talk in Comp Theory: A Reader, 4th Edition

Sticky Cases in Higher Education Leadership : Addressing Innovation, Challenges, and Conflict.

A - Reference Works, Museums, Scholarship

Marketing strategy for museums : a practical guide / Christina Lister.

B - Philosophy, Psychology, Religion

The theory and practice of positive neuropsychology : new perspectives on nurturing wellbeing / K. Jayasankara Reddy.

Doing harm : how the world's largest psychological association lost its way in the war on terror / Roy J. Eidelson.

The invention of good and evil : a world history of morality / Hanno Sauer ; translated by Jo Heinrich.

Griffinology : the griffin's place in myth, history and art / A. L. McClanan.

Living with the gods : on beliefs and peoples / Neil MacGregor

The Greek myths that shape the way we think / Richard Buxton.

Centaurs and snake-kings : hybrids and the Greek imagination / Jeremy McInerney.

Cyclops : the myth and its cultural history / Mercedes Aguirre and Richard Buxton.

Romans / Christian A. Eberhart ; Mary Ann Beavis, volume editor ; Barbara E. Reid, OP, general editor.

C - History

The boundless sea : a human history of the oceans / David Abulafia.

G - Geography, Anthropology, Recreation

The blue machine : how the ocean works / Helen Czerski.

The Cambridge handbook of material culture studies / edited by Lu Ann De Cunzo, Catharine Dann Roeber.

The Oxford handbook of hip hop dance studies / edited by Mary Fogarty and Imani Kai Johnson.

Teaching and coaching lifestyle sports : research and practice / edited by Thomas M. Leeder and Lee C. Beaumont.

Game on : how sports media grew up, sold out, and got personal with billions of fans / David Bockino.

H - Social Sciences

Problem solving in economics : a quantitative approach / Monojit Chatterji, University of Cambridge, UK.

Microeconomics in words / Gregory Besharov.

The gift of transformative leaders / Nathan O. Hatch.

Navigating leadership : evidence-based strategies for leadership development / edited by Susanne Braun, Tiffany Keller Hansbrough, Gregory A. Ruark, Rosalie J. Hall, Robert G. Lord, and Olga Epitropaki.

The rules of public relations : legal and ethical issues in contemporary practice / Cayce Myers.

Global tariff war : economic, political and social implications / edited by Ramesh Chandra.

The adoption of FinTech : using technology for better security, speed, and customer experience in finance / edited by Syed Hasan Jafar, Hemachandran K, Shakeb Akhtar, Parvez Alam Khan and Hani El-Chaarani.

Modern relationships : romance, friendship, and family in the 21st century / Edited by Mahzad Hojjat and Anne Moyer.

Violence at the intersection : the interlocking impact of race, ethnicity, gender, and class on risk and resilience / Toya Z. Like.

Women & power : a manifesto / Mary Beard

The Central Park Five : a chronicle of a city wilding / Sarah Burns.

J - Political Science

Rhetorical democracy : how communication shapes political culture / Robert Danisch.

The return of geopolitics and imperial conflict : understanding the new world disorder / Francesco M. Bongiovanni.

How polarization begets polarization : ideological extremism in the US Congress / Samuel Merrill III, Bernard Grofman and Thomas L. Brunell.

A diplomatic history of US immigration during the 20th century : policy, law, and national identity / Benjamin C. Montoya.

L - Education

Maker literacies and maker identities in the digital age : learning and playing through modes and media / edited by Cheryl A. McLean and Jennifer Rowsell.

M - Music

Music in the role-playing game : heroes & harmonies / edited by William Gibbons and Steven Reale

N - Fine Arts

What is paleolithic art? : cave paintings and the dawn of human creativity / Jean Clottes ; translated by Oliver Y. Martin and Robert D. Martin

Vitamin V : video and the moving image in contemporary art / commissioning editor: Simon Hunegs ; project editor: Charlotte Flint ; editorial assistant: Jules Spector ; writers: David Ayala-Alfonso [and 31 others] ; introduction by Erika Balsom.

Queer art : from canvas to club, and the spaces between / Gemma Rolls-Bentley ; foreword by Sir Isaac Julien.

Black earth rising : colonialism and climate change in contemporary art / Ekow Eshun.

Plundering beauty : a history of art crime during war / Arthur Tompkins.

The world atlas of public art / Andrew Wasserman.

Roman architecture / Janet DeLaine.

Islamic architecture : a world history / Eric Broug.

Myth & marble : ancient Roman sculpture from the Torlonia Collection / edited by Lisa Ayla Çakmak and Katharine A. Raff ; with essays by Silvia Beltrametti, Lisa Ayla Çakmak, Katharine A. Raff, and Salvatore Settis.

Life, death & revelry : the Farnese Sarcophagus / edited by Christina Nielsen ; with contributions by Jessica Chloros, Patrick R. Crowley, Paul Kaiser, Anne Varick Lauder, Christina Nielsen, Chiara Pidatella, Jerry Podany, Holly Salmon.

The artist's palette : the palettes behind the paintings of 50 great artists / Alexandra Loske.

Sea of ink - forest of pens : the art of the Qurʼan in the Hossein Afshar Collection / by David J. Roxburgh ; edited by Aimée Froom.

Contemporary Black American ceramic artists / Donald A. Clark, Chotsani Elaine Dean.

Handmade culture : raku potters, patrons, and tea practitioners in Japan / Morgan Pitelka.

P - Language & Literature

Tracking classical monsters in popular culture / Liz Gloyn.

Screenwriting : the sequence approach / Paul Joseph Gulino.

Introduction to screen narrative : perspectives on story production and comprehension / edited by Paul Taberham and Catalina Iricinschi.

The wardrobe supervisor's toolkit : a comprehensive guide to wardrobe / Elizabeth Polley ; edited by Patricia Hoffman.

The playbook : a story of theater, democracy, and the making of a culture war / James Shapiro.

Maidens or monsters? : tales of Amazons, goddesses, queens & temptresses in medieval manuscripts / Chantry Westwell.

Consequential art : comics culture in contemporary Spain / edited by Samuel Amago and Matthew J. Marr.

The Enlightenment's most dangerous woman : Émilie du Châtelet and the making of modern philosophy / Andrew Janiak.

Institutions of literature, 1700-1900 : the development of literary culture and production / edited by Jon Mee, University of York, Matthew Sangster, University of Glasgow.

Q - Science

Mathematical modeling for environmental management / by Sajib Mandal, Md Haider Ali Biswas and Md Sirajul Islam.

Climate change and international history : negotiating science, global change, and environmental justice / Ruth A. Morgan.

Mysteries of the deep : how seafloor drilling expeditions revolutionized our understanding of earth history / James Lawrence Powell.

Where biology ends and bias begins : lessons on belonging from our DNA / Shoumita Dasgupta.

The sounds of life : how digital technology is bringing us closer to the worlds of animals and plants / Karen Bakker.

What is extinction? : a natural and cultural history of last animals / Joshua Schuster.

Taking flight : the evolutionary story of life on the wing / Lev Parikian.

What the body knows : a guide to the new science of our immune system / John Trowsdale.

R - Medicine

The deadly rise of anti-science : a scientist's warning / Peter J. Hotez, MD, PhD.

The disabled will : a theory of addiction / John T. Maier.

Contemporary chemical approaches for green and sustainable drugs / edited by Marianna Torok.

T - Technology

Augmentation technologies and artificial intelligence in technical communication : designing ethical futures / Ann Hill Duin and Isabel Pedersen.

From war room to living room : everyday innovations from the military / Tish Davidson and Scott Davidson.

The sustainable urban design handbook / Nico Larco and Kaarin Knudson.

Microplastics : detection, extraction, remediation techniques, and future perspective / edited by Nirmala Kumari Jangid, Rekha Sharma.

Abandoned America : the age of consequences / Matthew Christopher.

Federal Government Documents

United States reports : cases adjudged in the Supreme Court at ... and rules announced at ...

The Library collects children's books to support the Education curriculum. 

The Juvenile Collection also includes Young Adult fiction such as Harry Potter, and John Green.

The last stand / written by Antwan Eady ; illustrated by Jarrett & Jerome Pumphrey

Chooch helped / by Andrea L. Rogers ; illustrated by Rebecca Lee Kunz.