Library Guides: English Language and Literature Research Guide: Finding Articles

Database Best Bets -- English Language and Literature

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
Learn advanced searching techniques for MLA: https://www.mla.org/bibtutorials
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A source for literary research on writers and their works throughout history and the world. Content is obtained from Facts On Files print literature collection, Harold Blooms essays, and critical articles published by noted scholars under the Blooms Literary Criticism imprints. Content includes overviews, synopses, analyses, and literary criticism. Also, contains advice on how to write quality essays on frequently assigned authors.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Series include: Children's Literature Review; Classical and Medieval; Contemporary; Drama; Literature from 1400-1800; 19th Century; Poetry; Shakespearean; Short Story, and 20th Century.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Academic Journals -- English Language and Literature

MELUS
MELUS is a journal published by the Society for the Study of the Multi-Ethnic Literature of the United States.
Modernism/Modernity
Modernism/modernity is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal that covers methodological, archival, and theoretical approaches to modernist studies in the long modernist period.
American Literary History
American Literary History is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal published by Oxford University Press that covers all periods of American literature.

Finding Articles

Here's a quick tutorial on how to use the library's search engine, OneSearch -- this tutorial provides search strategies you can use in any of our databases as well. Also, if you aren't finding what you need in the databases listed on the right, you can use OneSearch for broader results! OneSearch is integrated with our databases and includes search results from all our databases.

Subject Librarian

Phillip Hays

Email Me

Subjects: Anthropology, English and Literature, Sociology