World History (Non-U.S.): Periodicals

This is the first professional journal of American history and is published by the American Historical Association. It treats all facets of history and is ranked as the premier journal of American historians. Dacus Library has only the most recent print volumes, earlier ones are now available electronically, via either JSTOR or America: History and Life, which are in the library Databases listing.

The Historian is the official publication of the Phi Alpha Theta history honor society. It covers every aspect of history. Dacus has print issues up to 2000. More recent issues available via the History Reference Center, Academic OneFile, and several other Dacus Library databases.

Published by the University of Hawaii Press, the Journal of World History publishes research into historical questions requiring the investigation of evidence on a global, comparative, cross-cultural, or transnational scale. It is devoted to the study of phenomena that transcend the boundaries of single states, regions, or cultures, such as large-scale population movements, long-distance trade, cross-cultural technology transfers, and the transnational spread of ideas. Issues are available through Academic Search Complete, Academic OneFile, History Reference Center, and several other databases available via Dacus Library.

First published in January 1886, The English Historical Review (EHR) is the oldest journal of historical scholarship in the English-speaking world. It publishes original and exciting research relating to all parts of the world and all forms of historical inquiry from the Classical era onwards. The EHR includes major Articles and Review Articles, and an unusually extensive range of Reviews of books published throughout the world in English and other languages. On an annual basis it compiles Notices of Records, Texts and Reference Works, and provides a summary of a wide range of periodical literature. It is available through JSTOR, Academic OneFile, and several other Dacus Library databases.

The Journal of Modern History is recognized as the leading American journal for the study of European intellectual, political, and cultural history. The Journal's geographical and temporal scope—the history of Europe since the Renaissance—makes it unique: the JMH explores not only events and movements in specific countries, but also broader questions that span particular times and places. Available through JSTOR and other databases.

Published in cooperation with the Conference on Latin American History of the American Historical Association
Hispanic American Historical Review pioneered the study of Latin American history and culture in the United States and remains the most widely respected journal in the field.