Library Guides: Company &amp; Industry Research: Financial Data and Ratios

Financial Statements

Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Gale Business : Insights provides statistical data and authoritative information that enables researchers to explore real world application and develop analytical skills and allows researchers to easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.

EDGAR: Company Filings
Access to EDGAR’s public database is free—allowing you to research, for example, a public company’s financial information and operations by reviewing the filings the company makes with the SEC.
Historical Annual Reports: UPenn Libraries
This digital collection consists of annual reports in PDF format from U.S. companies, and covers the period 1800 through 1968. Reports are continuously added.
Columbia Historical Corporate Reports
This collection targets corporations that operated in and around New York City. Approximately 36 companies are represented with a total of approximately 770 individual reports (ca. 17,300 pages) ranging from the 1850s through the early 1960s.

Other Libraries

Get a public library cards where you are eligible - you may gain access to additional financial resources, especially at larger public libraries.

If you are a resident of a county or city, you can get a public library card for free. Some public libraries also provide free access if you are local student, work in the county or city, or may have other types of cards available. Contact the public library where you may be eligible for more information.

Here is a selected list of public libraries with additional financial databases:

Financial Data

Value Line This link opens in a new window
Value Line is a comprehensive source of information and advice on stocks, industries, the stock market, and the economy.
Click here t for video tutorials on navigation, filtering to get results that meet your criteria, and charting information.

BigCharts
Provides access to interactive charts, quotes, reports and indicators on over 50,000 stocks, mutual funds, market indexes, and historical quotes back to 1985.

Industry Ratios

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (link to catalog) Dun and Bradstreet. (Ref. 5681 .R25 .I53 - Latest five years kept at the Reference Desk) --Covers 800 industry groups and calculates 14 ratios. Provides common-size analysis and a typical balance sheet for each industry based on the median total assets of the group