Library Guides: Mathematics: MATH 400

OneSearch

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, an early awareness journal.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of applied science specialties.
Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for specific mathematicians to get started with biographical research, or search by occupation for a list to browse.
JSTOR Archival Journal and Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Archive of core journals in academic disciplines.
Artstor images are now incorporated into JSTOR. More information on this is available on their website. Instructional videos can be found on their YouTube channel.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) provides full text publications, including peer-reviewed journals. Multidisciplinary coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.

Mathematicians, history:

Hippocrates - search Hippocrates AND math* to find the ancient mathematician not physician. In math databases, Hippocrates of Chios retrieves articles about the mathematician.
Quadrature
Pythagoras - also Pythagorean Theorem
Euclid - also Euclid's number theory
Archimedes - also Sphere and Cylinder
Heron - also Heron's triangle - Heron was also known as Hero of Alexandria.
Hipparchus
Classical mathematics
Fibonacci (also known as Leonardo of Pisa, ca.1170-1249 A.D.)
Leonardo da Vinci (search for Leonardo da Vinci AND math* focuses on his mathematical contributions - he applied math to art, )
Galileo (search "Galileo and mathemat*)
Gerolamo Cardano - also: cubic
Isaac Newton - also: binomial, gravity
Gottfried Wilhelm von Leibniz
Bernoulli - also: Jacob Bernoulli, Johann Bernoulli, Daniel Bernoulli
Brachistochrone
Pierre de Fermat
Leonhard Euler - also Euler's number theory
Joseph-Marie Jacquard
Benjamin Banneker
Ada Lovelace
Charles Babbage
Mary Somerville
Cantor - also transfinite numbers, continuum theory, infinite numbers, infinite cardinals

For tips on finding library resources, see "Search Strategies" to help you with your searching for mathematical topics and historical research.

Modeling

economic forecasting
personal & business finance
biomathematics
product & project costing
business valuation
complexity theory
forecasting of climate and astronomy events (e.g. US Naval Observatory's interactive calculators for sunrise/set, twilight, moon, eclipses etc)

Physical Sciences

Spaces, Movement

Folding

Rankings & Descriptive Data

sports team ranking
country rankings in:
- World Economic Forum’s annual Global Competitiveness Report
- Fraser Institute's Economic Freedom Index (choose latest year)
- United Nations Development Programme's Human Development Index
Patchwork Nation - US county demographic & economic data, visualized with interactive map tool

Computation, Patterns, Textiles

Statistics