Music-Related Database
RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) Abstracts
- Core database for the discipline of Music
- Structured and works like Academic Search Complete and ERIC
- International gateway to scholarly writings on music and music-related disciplines; has some full-text articles
- Covers 1967 to the present
- Can limit search to Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) publications
- Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term
- Can email, print, or download search results and articles
- Updated monthly
Education-Related Database
ERIC (EbscoHost)
- Structured and works like Academic Search Complete and RILM
- Provides access to more than 1.3 million records of journal articles and other education-related materials covering the entire field of education, including music, music education, music therapy, etc.
- Includes indexing for both non-journal materials (known as ERIC documents, or ED's) and journal articles (EJ's)
- ED's: From 1966 to 2004, available in microfiche on the second floor of the Library; from 1986 to the present, available in full text online
- EJ's: Full text of some articles available on ERIC; for others, use DOC to check for full text availability in another database or in hard copy print format in the Library
- Can limit search by year, language, or document type
- Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term
- Can email, print, or download search results
- Updated twice weekly
Multi-Disciplinary Database
JSTOR
- Full text of hundreds of scholarly (refereed or peer-reviewed) journals; all included go back to their very first issue
- Most journals included have an embargo of several years after initial publication before their articles can be added to the database ("Moving Wall")
- Multi-disciplinary; students in this class should use the Music and Education discipline areas
- Searchable; can limit by language, document type, and date, and to a specific discipline or even one or more specific journals
- Remember to use quotation marks around terms ( “ ” ) when searching for an exact phrase
- To print or download a document from a Library computer, first click the link for Download PDF, then the link I Accept, Proceed to PDF. Click the PDF Print icon to print the article. To save the article, click the Download icon, wait until the article appears on the screen, click the same icon again, and choose Save File, which will save the article to the Downloads folder on the Desktop. Then you can choose where to save the article (flash drive, your Z drive, Google Docs, Dropbox, etc.). To email an article from a Library computer, Download the article, open your own email program, and send the document as an email attachment.
