Library Guides: Open Educational Resources: OER Content

Open Access Resources from our Databases A-Z List (A-O):

ABYZ News Links This link opens in a new window Find online news sources from around the world. It is primarily composed of newspapers but also includes many broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.
Baseball Index (TBI) This link opens in a new window The Baseball Index (TBI) is a free catalog to baseball literature. TBI is an ongoing project of the Society for American Baseball Research to catalog the entirety of baseball literature, from the earliest references to the present day. TBI has citations for more than 250,000 books, articles, song sheets, yearbooks, advertisements, films, cartoons, poems, media guides, cartoons, and more.
Congress.Gov This link opens in a new window Information on current Congressional activity from the Library of Congress. Includes bills, Congressional Record, votes, laws, etc.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window The DPLA brings different viewpoints, experiences, and collections together in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) This link opens in a new window Includes peer reviewed books which are in Open Access and meet academic standards. (Publisher's blurb)
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
FindLaw: Cases & Codes This link opens in a new window FindLaw's Cases and Codes section contains resources and links for both state and federal laws. This includes resources pertaining to constitutions, statutes, cases and more. - See more at: http://caselaw.findlaw.com/#sthash.7Rx7BtJE.dpuf
FindLaw: Internet Legal Resources This link opens in a new window This comprehensive guide includes links to resources in over 30 practice areas, case law and codes, legal associations, law schools, law reviews, and more.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window An open access partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive This link opens in a new window A free video resource curated by America's longest running dance festival. Click ARTIST, GENRE, or ERA to find dance clips spanning from the 1930s to today. The collection is constantly growing, and you can click SIGN UP to receive notice of all new videos. Also, check out the Jacob's Pillow Archives.
Knowledge Unlatched This link opens in a new window Includes scholarly content, covering a wide range of topics. The online platform provides libraries worldwide with a central place to support Open Access models from leading publishing houses and new OA initiatives.
MetaLib GPO This link opens in a new window A service of the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) which searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online. To learn more, view additional brief or detailed search information.
National Agricultural Library (NAL) This link opens in a new window Bringing AGRICOLA, PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collection together, SEARCH is the USDA NAL's main search tool. It provides one-stop access to millions of records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
National Security Archive This link opens in a new window The National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions in one non governmental, non-profit institution. The Archive is simultaneously a research institute on international affairs, a library and archive of declassified U.S. documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act, a public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information through the FOIA, and an indexer and publisher of the documents in books, microfiche, and electronic formats.
O*NET OnLine This link opens in a new window The O*NET database includes information on skills, abilities, knowledge, work activities, and interests associated with occupations. This information can be used to facilitate career exploration, vocational counseling, and a variety of human resources functions, such as developing job orders and position descriptions and aligning training with current workplace needs. O*NET is sponsored by the United States Department of Labor.
Open Textbook Library This link opens in a new window Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
OpenBook Publishers This link opens in a new window Open Book Publishers, a UK company, includes books published in hardback, paperback, pdf and ebook editions. The eBook and PDF versions can be downloaded, reused or embedded anywhere. Interactive books are also included. Topics include social sciences, sciences, and interdisciplinary studies, among others.
OpenStax This link opens in a new window A collection of open access texbooks for use by college and AP classes. Subjects range from algebra to U.S. History. OpenStax is a nonprofit based at Rice University and the first openly licensed college textbook was published in 2012.

OER Repositories:

LibreTexts
A "multi-institutional collaborative venture" that aims to provide open and freely accessible textbooks.

Mason OER Metafinder
Searches seventeen OER targets in real-time, instantly returning the top several hundred most relevant hits from each site.

MERLOT
Provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners, and researchers.

MIT Open Courseware
Includes online textbooks that are open-licensed electronic versions of print books.

OASIS
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier.

OERCommons
A teaching and learning network offering a broad selection of OER that are freely available online to use and adapt to support individualized teaching and learning practices.

Open Course Library
A collection of sharable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.

Teaching Commons
Brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.

The WAC Clearinghouse
Publishes open access journals, books, and other resources for teachers who use writing in their courses.

Open Access Resources from our Databases A-Z List (P-Z):

Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window Includes over 54,000 free eBooks of the world's great literature, especially older works for which copyright has expired. Open access.
PubAg This link opens in a new window PubAg contains full-text articles along with citations to peer-reviewed journal articles with links to publisher sites and elsewhere for full-text access. PubAg covers agricultural sciences including nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural imports and exports, agricultural statistics, extramural research, and Extension education.
PubAg is the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), National Agricultural Library's (NAL) search system for agricultural information.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
SC.gov This link opens in a new window Official state government web site. Leads to all South Carolina state government web pages.
Science.gov This link opens in a new window Science.gov contains reliable information resources selected by federal government agencies as their best science information. Two major types of information are included—selected authoritative science Web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials. (The specific content varies by database.) The selected Web sites can be explored from the science.gov homepage.
SEC Corporate Filings via Free Edgar (web) This link opens in a new window FreeEDGAR provides convenient searching and navigation features to access SEC filings filed through the SEC’s EDGAR system.
South Carolina Census State Data Center This link opens in a new window Part of the South Carolina Revenue and Fiscal Affairs Office, this website contains economic, demographic, and social data related to South Carolina, produced and published primarily by the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes housing, income, and population data.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is dynamic reference work maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics This link opens in a new window The U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision making..
U.S. Census Bureau This link opens in a new window Statistics about all aspects of life in the United States, collected by the government.
U.S. Congress, House of Representatives Judiciary Committee This link opens in a new window The Committee on the Judiciary has been called the lawyer for the House of Representatives because of its jurisdiction over matters relating to the administration of justice in federal courts, administrative bodies, and law enforcement agencies. Open access.
U.S. Congress.Gov This link opens in a new window Online guide to United States government information and services. Open access.
U.S. Government Information This link opens in a new window Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. MetaLib GPO This link opens in a new window A service of the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) which searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online. To learn more, view additional brief or detailed search information.
United States Department of Agriculture: National Agricultural Library This link opens in a new window PubAg contains full-text articles relevant to the agricultural sciences, along with citations to peer-reviewed journal articles with links to publisher sites and elsewhere for full-text access.

Open Textbook Collections:

Open Textbook Library
Includes 635 high quality books that are 66% reviewed that have open-licenses with more added weekly. Textbooks can usually be downloaded in PDF, EPUB and HTML formats. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.

OpenStax
Includes 40+ open textbooks that meet scope and sequence requirements for most courses. These are peer-reviewed texts written by professional content developers. Includes tens of thousands of "learning objects" called "pages" or modules.

OER Commons
includes ten thousands of college level OER open textbooks from higher education institutions around the world.

Milne Open Textbooks
an open textbook project of the State University of New York Libraries, funded by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology grants.

MERLOT Open Textbook
includes a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty developed resources, including web sources, PDF, videos, images, and much more.

Affordable Learning Solutions
a program of the California State University System partnering with higher education institutions, professional societies, and industry.

BCcampus OpenEd
provides a curated collection of open textbooks. Many of these textbooks have been reviewed and vetted by BC post-secondary faculty.

College Open Textbooks
approximately 100+ peer-reviewed open textbooks collected. Includes a range of formats and copyright licenses are free for use.

Lumen Learning
discover affordable, simple-to-adapt OER course materials that improve learning.

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
Includes 16,000+ academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 317 publishers. The aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of open access books.

Open Educational Resources: OER Content

Faculty Select Portal