Skip to main content

Online Students Library Orientation: Articles

This guide is designed to help online students navigate library resources and services.

Accessing Articles from Off-Campus

The first time you need to access the library's online resources (including database articles) from off-campus, you will need to set up your library account.

You can find step-by-step instructions for setting up your library account on the "Off-Campus Access" tab of this guide.

Once your library account has been created, whenever you want to access the library's online resources you will simply be prompted to log-in with your username and password.

Searching for Articles

To locate articles, you should first access the Database listing page. There you can select from an alphabetical list of all databases to which Dacus Library subscribes or go to the Databases by Subject page which gives you the most appropriate databases for subject areas. From either place you then select an individual database to search.  For some helpful tutorials visit the Searching for Articles research guide.

Many of our databases do provide links to full text articles in either PDF or html format. If we do not have access to an online full text version, you may then search the Dacus Online Catalog (DOC) for the journal to see if we have access to it through another database. 

You can place an Interlibrary Loan order for the article if you cannot find it online or in Dacus Library. Remember, it can take up to 6 days for the library to receive articles ordered through Interlibrary Loan.

How to Get Help

Reference 803-323-4501
Circulation 803-323-4502

You can find the chat link on the right side of the library homepage.


The reference desk schedule will show you when a librarian is available.

Dacus on Social Media

Connect with Dacus Library on...





Outreach & Reference Librarian

Hope Johnson's picture
Hope Johnson
Dacus Library