Social Work: Reference Resources

People all over the world are confronted by issues such as poverty, a lack of access to quality education, unaffordable and or inadequate housing, and a lack of needed health and mental services on a daily basis. Due to these issues, there is a need for social workers who have access torelevant and timely scholarly materials in order to meet the needs of those facing these issues. The social, psychological, and biological factors resulting from these issues determine the level of a person's mental health at any given point in time and it is necessary for social workers to continueto evolve and develop to the new faces and challenges of the times in order to adequately understand the effects of these issues.In the first and second editions of the Social Workers' Desk Reference, the changes that were occurring in social work practice, education, and research were highlighted and focused upon. This third edition continues in the same tradition and continues to respond to the changes occurring in societyand how they are impacting the education, research, and practice of social work as a whole. With 159 chapters collaboratively written by luminaries in the profession, this third edition serves as a comprehensive guide to social work practice by providing the most recent conceptual knowledge andempirical evidence to aid in the understanding of the rapidly changing field of social work. Each chapter is short and contains practical information in addition to websites and updated references. Social work practitioners, educators, students, and other allied professionals can utilize the SocialWorkers' Desk Reference to gain interdisciplinary and interprofessional education, practice, and research.

This second edition of The Social Work Student's Research Handbook provides an essential guide for social work students beginning to participate in research. Practical and easy to use, this comprehensive handbook provides instant access to the nuts and bolts of social work research. Each chapter in this second edition has been updated to reflect the dynamic and changing nature of social work research, and three new topical chapters have been included that offer new food for thought on research context and ethics and on the role of evidence in professional practice. The book is intended as a resource to complement the dense and heavy research books available. This text provides the tools students need to fully engage with their research and is an essential reference aid for use alongside professional literature for selecting a problem for social work study with consideration of context and ethics; identifying a design type; developing or selecting an instrument; developing a sampling strategy; collecting and analyzing data; and organizing, writing, disseminating, and utilizing results in a politically sensitive way. The Social Work Student's Research Handbook is an invaluable resource for undergraduate and graduate social work students as well as practitioners new to the field as they apply what they've learned in research courses toward consuming research effectively, implementing original research projects, and ultimately, toward becoming an evidence-based practitioner.

The Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North Amercia is a unique reference book that will provide users with basic information about the history of social welfare in North America, including Canada, Mexico, and the United States. Since many themes and issues are similar in the three nations, entries will provide comparative information about common as well as distinctive concerns and developments. Significant events, influential persons, legislation, social problems, and societal responses are described in detail. Editors include specialists in the social welfare history of each nation, and they have collaborated with scholars from a variety of academic disciplines to prepare entries of varying length addressing these issues. Included in each entry are suggestions for further reading that will guide readers to the rich resources available for learning about the history of North American social welfare. The encyclopedia also provides cross-references for important topics. This volume will be a unique reference tool for students at all levels, for teachers, and for libraries serving anyone with an interest in the history of North American social welfare. Topics covered include: - Canada - Charity - Child welfare - Economic conditions and social welfare - Economics/tax policy - Health/Mental Health Policy - Landmark social welfare legislation - Mexico - Poverty - Race and social inequality - Social problems - Social security and income maintenance - Social welfare reform - Social welfare reformers - Social work - United States - Women and social welfare.

This new edition has been fully revised and updated to provide over 1,800 A-Z definitions of terms from the field of social care, concentrating on social work as a significant area within this field. Covering social work theories, methods, policies, organizations, and statutes, as well as keyterms from interdisciplinary topics overlapping with health and education, this is the most up-to-date dictionary of its kind available. It also provides extended entries on specialisms such as children and families, domestic violence, and residential care, and has been extensively updated toinclude new legislation.Useful appendices include a glossary of acronyms and a Table of Legislation, Regulations, and Codes of Practice, cross-referenced to Dictionary entries. Entry-level bibliographies and web links provide further resources and the web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companionwebsite.Written by two leading figures in the field, and a team of eleven contributors, A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care is a must-have for students of social work, social care, and related subjects, as well as for qualified social workers undertaking continuing professional developmentprogrammes.

A new, completely updated, revised and expanded 20th edition of this essential work coming February 2008 -- Order now and take advantage of our special prepublication price!Oxford University Press and The National Association of Social Workers are proud to announce that a new, completely updated, revised and expanded 20th edition of this essential work will publish in February 2008. The 400 articles this 4-volume set cover all aspects of social work from practice andinterventions, social environments, social conditions and challenges, to social policy and history.This new edition of the Encylcopedia includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, andtrauma and disaster. Each thoughtful article is written and signed by a top academic or social work practitioner and includes a bibliography for further reading. For even further ease of use, all volumes are fully cross-referenced and includes a complete Index.This convenient and authoritative core reference work is an essential tool for fact-finding, studying for licensing exams, supplementing course work, initiating literature searches, and supporting practice decisions. The Encyclopedia presents an in-depth look at the ever-changing field of socialwork. The foundation of any social work collection, the Encyclopedia will be a treasured addition to the library of practitioner, scholar, and student alike.

Encompassing community development, organizing, planning, and social change, as well as globalisation, this book is grounded in participatory and empowerment practice. The 36 chapters assess practice, theory and research methods.

What do you have to know, today, to be an effective group worker and what are the different group work approaches? With 110 articles and entries, this book provides a comprehensive overview of social work with groups from its initial development to its astounding range of diverse practice today with many populations in different places. The articles have been written by social workers trained in the group approach from the United States, Canada, England, Australia, Spain and Japan, and all involved are well known group workers, acknowledged as experts in the area. The book covers all aspects of social work with groups: including its history, values, major models, approaches and methods, education, research, journals, phases of development, working with specific populations and ages, plus many more. Each article includes references which can be a major resource for future exploration in the particular subject area. Both editors have many years of productive work in group work practice and other areas and are board members of The Association for the Advancement of Social Work with Groups. The Encyclopedia of Social Work with Groups will be of interest to students, practitioners, social work faculty, novice and experienced group workers.

A collection of the policy statements issued by the NASW. It includes over 60 topics, with a history and commentary on each, and also contains bibliographies for most topics.

SOCIAL WORK ALMANAC, the profession's most comprehensive sourcebook, is now 61 percent larger, with 69 percent more tables & 73 percent more figures. The latest facts have been rigorously researched & compiled to update the second edition of this practical compendium of statistical data related to social welfare. SOCIAL WORK ALMANAC, 2ND EDITION, contains entries on many areas of the human services, including children; crime & delinquency; health & mortality; education; mental health; older adults; social welfare; economic assistance, housing & homelessness; & social work professional issues. It also includes basic demographic data on the U.S. population. SOCIAL WORK ALMANAC is widely used by social workers, administrators, organizers, & human services professionals. The new second edition makes it even easier to find social work facts by succinctly presenting, in one source, the most current social welfare data available. A useful tool for identifying trends, substantiating reports, preparing fund proposals, & more - & an invaluable resource for writing papers. By Leon Ginsberg.