These books are located in the reference collection and must be used in the library.
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World by
The world has seen dramatic changes since the publication of the first edition of The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World in 1993. In the post-Cold War world, globalization now offers wealth and opportunities on a broader scale, as well as greater international harmony, but threatens toreinforce the advantage gap between wealthy and poor regions and intensify environmental degradation. Conflict and squalor--expressed in brutal brushfire wars, epidemics, and chronic underdevelopment--vie with equally dramatic accounts of growth and democracy associated with a liberal politicalorder and the global diffusion of trade, investment, and communications. Drawing on the breadth of the first edition, this major new edition reflects the changing world with a reassessment of many of the core themes of the Companion, and new articles on the people, concepts, and events that have shaped the world since 1993. The second edition includes biographies ofKofi Annan, Tony Blair, Bill Clinton, and Gerhard Schroder; articles on events such as the Rwandan Genocide and the war in Kosovo; and coverage of international trade developments such as NAFTA and the World Trade Organization. Eighty-seven of the 672 articles in the Second Edition are completelynew; most others are thoroughly revised. This edition also features a substantial new set of articles, a dozen essays on critical issues written by influential figures. Recognizing the importance of including varying viewpoints, the editors have commissioned these essays to provide an informed and often passionate debate oncontroversial topics. Discussions include Lani Guinier and Glenn Loury on Affirmative Action; Francis Fukuyama and Milton Fisk on the Limits of Liberal Democracy; and Lloyd Axworthy and John Bolton on the United Nations. The contributors discuss nearly every nation in the world, including extensive information on institutions, political parties, leaders, and the sources of political mobilization and conflict. The volume also includes biographies of more than seventy-five political leaders and thinkers who haveshaped the contemporary political world. Articles include detailed discussions of critical historical developments and events, concepts, international law, and organizations. The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World, Second Edition is an accessible, timely, thought-provoking, and comprehensivereference that captures the complexity and vitality of contemporary world affairs.
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science by 
The Dictionary of Twentieth-Century World Politics by
"Alliances, treaties, wars, tariffs, weapons, international organizations . . . diplomats, terrorists, peacemakers, scholars, heads of state . . . hot wars, cold war, containment, detente, disarmament: the hallmark of our century is the emergence of a true global politics, with all the displacements, resistance, and triumphs that such a fundamental change involves. From the Balfour Declaration to the destruction of the Berlin Wall, our world has become interconnected through ties of politics, culture, and trade that can be difficult to unravel, yet are crucial for all of us to understand." "The Dictionary of 20th-Century World Politics teases apart these threads of history, custom, conflict, and change. Its four thousand lively and detailed entries cover the people, events, groups, laws, and ideas that have shaped world relations in our era. Organized in an A-to-Z format, it includes extensive cross-references that help readers consider topics from many angles; 143 photographs and illustrations; relevant quotations on many subjects from well-known figures; and boxed anecdotes, chronologies, and document excerpts." "For students, teachers, policymakers, and lay readers who want to better understand the morning's headlines, The Dictionary of 20th-Century World Politics is an invaluable reference tool."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought by 
Lend Me Your Ears by
The power of words in politics is well known, and Lend Me Your Ears, the fourth edition of the Oxford Dictionary of Political Quotations, brings together both words of wisdom and things that might have been better left unsaid. This unique reference not only charts the most influential political events of recent times through the things people said about them - including an international financial crisis and a watershed in American presidential politics - but also digs deeper than ever into the rich heritage of political history from around the world. A mouth-watering collection for anyone with an interest in history and politics, Antony Jay has assembled both a crash course in political wisdom past and present, and a treasure trove of politicians' blunders and put-downs. The book showcases a who's who of politics, covering everyone from Napoleon to Barack Obama, plus such notables as Mahatma Gandhi, Dorothy Parker, George Washington, Charles de Gaulle, Juan Peron, and Jean-Paul Sartre. The quotations cover every facet of political life--the pivotal and momentous, the sincere, the bemused, the tongue-in-cheek, and the downright rude. With 5,000 quotations in all and 300 new to this edition, Lend Me Your Ears is the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource for political quotations available. It also includes an essay by the political journalist Matthew Parris and keyword and subject indexes to help in tracing just the right quote. New quotations include: 'The inherited and permanent fact that North America speaks English.' Otto von Bismarck, when asked what was the greatest political fact of modern times 'British jobs for British workers.' Gordon Brown 'If I misspoke that was just a misstatement.' Hillary Rodham Clinton 'You never want a serious crisis to go to waste.' Rahm Emanuel 'A prince never lacks legitimate reasons to excuse his failure to keep his word.' Niccolo Machiavelli 'We are not going to give up our country for a mere X on a ballot. How can a ballpoint pen fight with a gun?' Robert Mugabe 'We will extend a hand if you are willing to unclench your fist.' Barack Obama.
The Macmillan Dictionary of Political Quotations by 
This link opens in a new window
You can also search OneSearch to find additional reference books.