Library Guides: Healthcare Marketing: Industry and Market Research

Finding NAICS Codes

The Census' NAICS page lets you do a keyword search for your industry on the left hand side of the screen or browse the Classification system.

Newer industries may not have a NAICS code yet. Social Networking, for example, were added to the 2017 NAICS and were not previously a recognized industry.

Industry Reports

Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Gale Business : Insights provides statistical data and authoritative information that enables researchers to explore real world application and develop analytical skills and allows researchers to easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text . Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business.

About NAICS Codes

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard for classifying business establishments and groups them according to similarity in the processes used to produce goods or services.

All industries will have at least one associated NAICS code from broader (2 digits) to more defined (6 digits).

For example:

62 = Health Care and Social Assistance
6211 = Offices of Physicians
621110 = General Surgical and Medical Hospitals
621111 = Offices of Physicians (except Mental Health Specialist)
621112 = Offices of Physicians, Mental Health Specialists

Use NAICS codes help you to identify competitors and find resources that will tell you more about your company's industry.

Health Related Databases

Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes encyclopedias, reference books, alternative health source, videos, news, and other sources.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine contains up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
MEDLINE (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database is a collection of consumer health information, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

Associations

Industry associations advocate for their members and their industry. Search for association websites to see if they provide any data that may be useful for class projects.

American Hospital Association
National Association of Community Health Centers
State data maps

Databases

NAICS Codes
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) website will allow you to identify an industry by either conducting a keyword search, or by browsing the official Classification System.

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect includes a company database with information on over 280 million businesses, consumer data for more than 98% of US households, Key Business Ratios, and business plan templates.
Help Guides
How to Videos
MRI-Simmons Catalyst This link opens in a new window
MRI-Simmons Catalyst (formerly the Insights platform) is a consumer intelligence and discovery platform that provides marketers with faster access to actionable consumer insights.