Library Guides: Entrepreneurship: Industry/ Market Research

Consumer and Market Data

MRI-Simmons Catalyst This link opens in a new window
MRI-Simmons Catalyst is a consumer intelligence and discovery platform that provides marketers with faster access to actionable consumer insights.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect includes a company database with information on over 280 million businesses, consumer data for more than 98% of US households, Key Business Ratios, and business plan templates.
Help Guides
How to Videos

More Resources

Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Gale Business : Insights provides statistical data and authoritative information that enables researchers to explore real world application and develop analytical skills and allows researchers to easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship is a comprehensive database that covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. The database features a variety of resources for entrepreneurs, including the entire Business Plans Handbook series; a tightly indexed collection of small business-focused eBooks from Gale, John Wiley & Sons, and other publishing partners; articles from journals and magazines like The Economist, Inc., Financial Management and The Tax Adviser; and content from local and national newspapers. Users also have access to downloadable podcasts and radio shows, directories, glossaries, and websites to keep up to date with todays industries.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text . Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business.
Value Line This link opens in a new window
Value Line is a comprehensive source of information and advice on stocks, industries, the stock market, and the economy.
Click here t for video tutorials on navigation, filtering to get results that meet your criteria, and charting information.

Industry Codes

NAICS Codes

NAICS (pronounced "nakes") stands for North American Industry Classification System.

It's the standard for classifying business establishments and it groups them according to similarity in the processes used to produce goods or services.

All industries will have at least one associated NAICS code.

NAICS Codes
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

Free Resources

U.S. Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
Provides census data on people and the economy, including the Economic Census, Industry Snapshots, Annual Survey of Manufacturers, NAICS-searchable business patterns (via CenStats) by county, US island territories, zip codes, and metro areas, County Business Patterns, data sets including the Zip Code Business Patterns, and custom search forms.

BLS: Industries at a Glance
Broad overview of industries and statistics from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Census Business Builder
The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format.