Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources: OER Content

OER are teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others.

OER Repositories:

LibreTexts
A "multi-institutional collaborative venture" that aims to provide open and freely accessible textbooks.

Mason OER Metafinder
Searches seventeen OER targets in real-time, instantly returning the top several hundred most relevant hits from each site.

MERLOT
Provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners, and researchers.

MIT Open Courseware
Includes online textbooks that are open-licensed electronic versions of print books.

OASIS
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier.

OERCommons
A teaching and learning network offering a broad selection of OER that are freely available online to use and adapt to support individualized teaching and learning practices.

Open Course Library
A collection of sharable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.

Teaching Commons
Brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.

The WAC Clearinghouse
Publishes open access journals, books, and other resources for teachers who use writing in their courses.

Open Textbook Collections:

Open Textbook Library
Includes 635 high quality books that are 66% reviewed that have open-licenses with more added weekly. Textbooks can usually be downloaded in PDF, EPUB and HTML formats. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network. 

OpenStax
Includes 40+ open textbooks that meet scope and sequence requirements for most courses. These are peer-reviewed texts written by professional content developers. Includes tens of thousands of "learning objects" called "pages" or modules. 

OER Commons
includes ten thousands of college level OER open textbooks from higher education institutions around the world. 

Open SUNY Textbooks
an open textbook project of the State University of New York Libraries, funded by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology grants. 

MERLOT Open Textbook
includes a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty developed resources, including web sources, PDF, videos, images, and much more.

Affordable Learning Solutions
a program of the California State University System partnering with higher education institutions, professional societies, and industry.

BCcampus OpenEd
provides a curated collection of open textbooks. Many of these textbooks have been reviewed and vetted by BC post-secondary faculty. 

College Open Textbooks 
approximately 100+ peer-reviewed open textbooks collected. Includes a range of formats and copyright licenses are free for use.

Lumen Learning 
discover affordable, simple-to-adapt OER course materials that improve learning.

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books 
Includes 16,000+ academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 317 publishers. The aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of open access books.

Open access courseware:

Hippo Campus
Multimedia content--videos, animations, and simulations--for various general education courses. For K12 and college.

Khan Academy
Contains practice exercises, instructional videos, dashboard analytics and other teacher tools.

MIT Open Courseware
Virtually all MIT course content. While this university site is known for its open courses, it also includes an online textbook page with links to the textbook files used in the courses. It's especially useful for finding course materials in areas where OER is sparse: civil, electrical, environmental and mechanical engineering; material and nuclear sciences; and aeronautics and astronautics, among other subjects.

Open Course Library
A collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google docs making it easy to access, browse and download.

Open Yale Courses
Provides lectures and other materials from selected Yale College courses to the public free of charge via the Internet. The courses span the full range of liberal arts disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, and physical and biological sciences.

PHET
Free online physics, chemistry, biology, earth science and math simulations. Available in multiple languages.

Smart History
High-quality introductory art history content. Multi-media and articles.