World History (Non-U.S.): Books : Reference

Chambers Dictionary of World History features more than 7,500 entries in a straightforward A-to-Z format. This impressive reference covers the key figures and events in world history, with an in-depth focus on the period from A.D. 1000 to 2000. From the Norman Conquest to the Normandy campaign, its comprehensive coverage includes wars, treaties, plots, and political movements as well as nations of the world, international organizations, and biographies of major figures. Entries include a clear and helpful system of cross-references that makes the book ideal for browsing and highlights connections among individuals, ideas, and events. More than 60 sidebars cover significant themes of ancient and modern history, and specially commissioned historical and thematic maps supplement the dictionary entries.

With over 170,000 entries, the Columbia Gazetteer of the World is an authoritative A to Z encyclopedia of geographical places and features. Whether you're looking for the ten highest mountain peaks in North America, the major commercial crops in Brazil's economy, all the rivers in Southeast Asia, the former name of the city of Yangon, or the natural resources available in Sub-Saharan Africa, the Gazetteer is the one-stop resource for all your information needs. First published in 1998, the Gazetteer now features new entries and extensive revisions to reflect recent administrative divisions in countries around the world. It also contains new maps, population figures, and an expanded glossary of geographical and geological terms. With its long history of accuracy and authority, there is no other encyclopedia like Gazetteer. The Columbia Gazetteer covers: * The political world-countries, provinces, regions, states, counties, capitals, cities, towns, villages, and neighborhoods. * The physical world-continents, oceans, seas, lakes, lagoons, rivers, bays, inlets, channels, and streams, along with islands, archipelagos, peninsulas, atolls, mountains, mountain ranges, canyons, deserts, valleys, and volcanoes. * And special places-national parks and monuments, historic and archaeological sites, harbors, ports, airports, nuclear plants, canals, and destinations of interest.

Spanning the period from the emergence of humankind to the present, the Atlas illuminates world history with 192 magnificent full-color detailed maps and clear, highly readable commentary. Each main section of the Atlas begins by focusing on an overview of the world, then follows with chapters on specific regions around the world, incorporating relevant themes of the period, including: religion, agriculture, economics, trade, war, and population. Colorful maps, time lines, and clear text combine to make The Complete Atlas of World History an invaluable resource for studying the entire human story. Presented in three volumes --Volume 1: Prehistory and the Ancient World 4,000,000 years ago-AD 600 (includes the Ancient World, 4,000,000 years ago- 500 BC and the Classical World, 500 BC-AD 600) --Volume 2: The Medieval and Early Modern World AD 600-1783 (includes the Medieval World, AD 600-1492 and the period from Columbus to American Independence, AD 1492-1783) --Volume 3: The Modern World 1783-Present (includes the Nineteenth-Century World, AD 1783-1914 and the period from World War I to the Present, AD 1914-1997) Each main section of the Atlas first focuses on a world overview, then follows with chapters on specific regions around the world, incorporating certain relevant themes of the period, including: religion, agriculture, economics, trade, war, and population. Throughout, colorful maps, time lines, and clear text combine to make The Complete Atlas of World History an invaluable resource for studying world history.

This wide-ranging dictionary contains a wealth of information on all aspects of history, from prehistory right up to the present day. Over 4,000 clear, concise entries include biographies of key figures in world history (living and dead), separate entries for every country in the world (summarizing key historical events), and in-depth entries on religious and political movements, international organizations, and major conflicts and events and their after-effects. For this new edition, existing entries have been revised and updated to reflect the very latest global events including changes in leadership, wars, political situations, and the statistical information given for each country (population counts, currency, languages, religions). New entries have been included for key figures who have recently come to prominence and world events. Available via Oxford Reference database.

The three-volume ""Encyclopedia of Historic Places, Revised Edition"" identifies and provides fascinating background information on cities, towns, districts, territories, and nations around the world. With more than 9,000 A-to-Z entries and a full-color insert in each volume, this revised set is much more comprehensive and colorful than the previous edition. In addition to current place names, cities, and states, this encyclopedia also has a substantial listing of ancient and classical places that are no longer in existence. There have been many changes in the geography of the world over the past 25 years, including the fall of the Berlin Wall, the collapse of the Soviet Union, and the birth of the European Union, to name a few. All of these changes, and many more, have been updated in this new edition to make the information as current as possible. The revision also includes new entries from every region of the world, with an added emphasis on how industry and technology have changed the geography of the modern world. The entries include: The Alamo; Berlin; Congo; Dakar; Erie Canal; Fort Knox; Hawaii; Ionian Islands; Java; Kabul; London; Mecca; New Orleans; Omaha Beach; Paris; Rome; Salzburg; Tibet; Tokyo; Vicksburg; and Windhoek.

This book was so popular during the lifetime of the original author that it went through six editions. This reprinting of the acclaimed seventeenth edition of Vincent’s revision of Haydn’s work is a delightful reminder of the basic information that was considered so important during the advent of the classic encyclopedias and reference works being produced in the nineteenth century. Arranged alphabetically, this historic work contains hundreds of articles that pertain to important dates and events in human history.

This is the compact edition of a 4-volume set covering 3000 BC to 2005 AD. The full set is also available online through the Dacus Library online catalog.

Companion to world history, ranging from the early civilizations of Mesopotamia, Egypt, and China to the Balkan States and ex-Soviet republics. Earlier edition is available in print at REF D9 .H87 1993.

In order to broaden our perspective and gain the deeper understanding necessary to function effectively in today's global arena, we need to focus on big picture trends and phenomena, religion and philosophy, science and technology, political organization, art and culture, population changes, environmental interactions, human migrations across many countries and regions, rather than dwelling on the dates and details of traditional country-based history. This is what study of world history in the 21st century requires and what ABC-CLIO's 21-volume World History Encyclopedia provides. E-version only; Print volume not available in Dacus Library.

Six decades of biographical indexing of primarily magazines and books. This is an index and refers one to the appropriate periodical or other source for the full text of the biography.

The Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia is the authoritative single-volume reference work on people, both living and dead. In addition to its thousand or more pages of A-Z entries, the book offers an invaluable Ready Reference section with lists of political leaders and rulers, Nobel Prizewinners, patron saints, sports champions and many more. Acclaimed on its first publication in 1994 as a new kind of biographical reference book, the Encyclopedia is now established as a reliable source of information on over 26,000 people, fully cross-referenced. The book's international coverage and devotion to important figures - both historical and contemporary - in science and the arts as well as sports and popular personalities make it unique. This Second Edition has been comprehensively updated and supplemented with new entries.

Marking the centenary of the first publication of a now-classic volume, this thoroughly revised and updated edition continues the tradition of excellence offering over 17,500 profiles of notable achievers. With more than 3,000 completely new entries, the Chambers Biographical Dictionary provides expanded coverage of contemporary figures including a wide range of luminaries such as Nadine Gordimer, Alan Greenspan, Wayne Gretzky. Still notable for its global and historical perspective - from Alexander the Great to Nelson Mandela - this new book covers an ever broader spectrum of human achievement including the arts, science and technology, popular entertainment, sports, religion, the media, politics and business. Each fascinating biography includes the historical and social context. A more attractive and readable volume than ever, each also entry now features a convenient at-a-glance summary under the name, while particularly important and influential people are highlighted in special boxed entries. Fully indexed with alphabetical and subject indexes. The Chambers Biographical Dictionary remains an essential reference for the general reader as well as writers, journalists and researchers. Later edition available via Credo Reference database, a Dacus subscription.

Presents brief biographical sketches which provide vital statistics as well as information on the importance of the person listed in 22 volumes: v. 1. A-Barb -- v. 2. Bard-Bria -- v. 3. Bric-Chi -- v. 4. Chipp-Dic -- v. 5. Did-Forb -- v. 6. Ford-Gril -- v. 7. Grim-How -- v. 8. Hox-Kie -- v. 9. Kil-Lou -- v. 10. Lov-Mica -- v. 11. Mich-Orl -- v. 12. Oro-Rad -- v. 13. Raf-Sche -- v. 14. Schi-Stua -- v. 15. Studi-Vis -- v. 16. Vit-Zwo -- v. 17. Index -- v. 18-22. Supplements.

Brief biographical sketches of persons both real and literary or mythical. Also available via Project Gutenberg and other Internet sites.

World historical figures 1897 to 1970. Selected deceased persons compiled from Who' Who volumes. Available up to 1980 via Hathi Trust Digital Library: https://catalog.hathitrust.org/api/volumes/oclc/64210743.html.

This compact, best-selling introduction to the study of history equips students with all the skills they need to succeed in a history course. A thoroughly class-tested guide through eight editions, the ninth edition provides students with even more practical tools and features; including new, hands-on exercises; that reinforce basic skills and explain tricky issues, saving instructors valuable classroom time.