Statistics: Finding Books

Call numbers are useful for browsing physical books in our collection, in addition to using them to locate a specific book you've found in OneSearch.

• QA 273 - QA 276 -  (mathematical statistics)
• HA (entire section) - (applied statistics and statistical data analysis)

Note:  Applied statistics materials (books, videos, etc) end up in the call number area to which the statistics are applied. For example, data about economics and social sciences end up in the H section; physical science statistics end up in the Q call numbers, biostatistics in R, etc.

Reference Books

Here are a few example reference books available in the library:

• CRC standard probability and statistics tables and formulae. REFERENCE   -   QA273.3 .Z95 2000
• A dictionary of statistics. REFERENCE   -   QA276.14 .U67 2002
• Dictionary of statistics & methodology : a nontechnical guide for the social sciences. REFERENCE   -   HA17 .V64 2005
• The Oxford dictionary of statistical terms. REFERENCE   -   HA17 .K4 200

Book in the Stacks

Here are a few example books (in the stacks) available in the library:

• 100 statistical tests. GENERAL COLLECTION   -   QA277 .K35 1993. A classic on statistical tests.
• Altered states in the Palmetto State : statistical indicators of illegal drug use. GENERAL COLLECTION   -   HV5831.S65 .A57 2008
• The cult of statistical significance : how the standard error costs us jobs, justice, and lives. GENERAL COLLECTION   -   HB137 .Z55 2008
• Food security, poverty, and nutrition policy analysis : statistical methods and policy applications. GENERAL COLLECTION   -   HD9017 .I58 2009
• An introduction to decision theory. GENERAL COLLECTION   -   QA279.4 .P48 2009
• Statistical rules of thumb. QA276.12 .V36 2008
• Statistics for terrified biologists. GENERAL COLLECTION   -   QH323.5 .V33 2008
• Thinking and reasoning with data and chance. GENERAL COLLECTION   -   QA1 .N3 68th