Music-Related Databases
Naxos Music Library
- Streaming access to thousands of CDs in classical, contemporary jazz, jazz/folk/blues legends, and world/folk genres
- Search by composer, work, genre and CD label, using keyword or advanced search
- Liner notes for most recordings
- Users can create personalized playlists
- Numerous extra features; updated monthly
Oxford Music Online
- Combines the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed., 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd ed., 2002), The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), and The Oxford Dictionary of Music (2nd ed., rev. 2006). Recently added: 216 articles from the forthcoming 2nd ed. of The New Grove Dictionary of American Music
- Searchable full text with advanced capabilities
- Includes sound examples
- Updated regularly
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
- Part of the EbscoHost family of databases; structured and works like Academic Search Complete
- International gateway to scholarly writings on music and music-related disciplines; has some full-text articles
- Covers 1967 to the present
- Can limit search by language, document type, year of publication, etc.
- Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term
- Can email, print, or download search results and full-text articles
- Updated monthly
Multi-Disciplinary Databases
Academic Search Complete
- Part of the EbscoHost family of databases; structured and works like RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
- Multi-disciplinary index to more than 8,500 journals, just over half of which are available in full text
- Can limit search by document type, year of publication, etc.
- Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term
- Can email, print, or download search results and full-text articles
- Updated daily
JSTOR
- Multi-disciplinary, multi-language, full-text database of hundreds of scholarly journal articles; all journals included go back to their very first issue
- Includes "current" issues of two music journals (19th-Century Music and Journal of the American Musicological Society); all the rest have an embargo of several years before articles can be added to the database ("Moving Wall")
- Includes 52 journals in Music
- Can search the database, and limit by language, document type, and date, and to a specific discipline or even one or more specific journals
- Remember to use quotation marks around terms (" ") when searching for an exact phrase
- To print or download a document, click the link for View PDF, then the link for Proceed to PDF to get the document. To email a document from a Library computer, save it to the Desktop, open your own email program, and send the document as an email attachment
