Within the Digital Collections are several distinct projects. The South Carolina State Documents Depository is an online library of both current and historical state documents. The South Carolina Tombstone Project is a collaboration between the State Library and partner public libraries in the state to provide images and transcriptions of tombstones in local cemeteries. The State Library also partners with the South Carolina Digital Library to provide access to historical photographs of library service throughout the state, including bookmobiles, WPA library project, and children’s library service.
The South Caroliniana Library is one of the premier research archives and special collections repositories in the state of South Carolina and the southeastern United States. Its holdings are essential to the understanding of South Carolina and Southern culture over the last three hundred years.
The Louise Pettus Archives & Special Collections is located at 700 North Cherry Road, Rock Hill, S.C. (corner of Cherry Rd. and Charlotte Ave.) The Archives houses over six million items and has collections of original materials related to Winthrop University, Women, South Carolina, and the South in general.
Established in 1855, the South Carolina Historical Society is dedicated to expanding, preserving, and making accessible our invaluable collection, and to encouraging interest and pride in the rich history of our state.
Below are links that provide access to several leading organizations and/or departments that preserve historical, cultural, and genealogical information related to South Carolina and its history.
An independent state agency, caretaker to 325 years of government records and historic documents with the mission to preserve and promote the documentary and cultural heritage of the Palmetto State through archival care and preservation, records management, public access, preservation of historic sites, and education.
