Databases for Biological Research:
The following databases can be accessed from the Databases A-Z Link on the Dacus Library Homepage. Search to find full-text articles, abstracts, or citations. To obtain full-text articles, click the PDF link located on the results page or search for the Journal Title in the Dacus OneSearch Catalog to see if we have access to the journal in the library or through another database. Please check the date range of the journal to see if the library has access to the article that you need. If the library does not have access to the article, you can request it at no charge through Interlibrary Loan.
Science Direct - The world’s leading full-text scientific database offering over 12 million articles/chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals. Includes titles such as THE LANCET, Cell and Tetrahedron. Titles from 1995 to the present.
PubMed - National Library of Medicine provides access to over 23 million MEDLINE, journal, and book citations back to the mid-1960's. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Agricola - Agricola contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Agricultural Library. It encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology and earth and environmental sciences.
Google Scholar - Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Science.gov - Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance.
Science Reference Center - Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text (H.W. Wilson) - Contains indexing and abstracts for core English-language, scientific and technical publications. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.
*** Note: If the article that you want is not full-text, copy the journal title and perform an advanced journal search in the Dacus Online Catalog. Add the title of the journal in the Title box and Limit your Search by Format - Journal/Magazine. Click Search to see if the title is available in Dacus Library or in another database. A catalog record listing our dates of coverage for the journal will direct you to the full-text for that resource. If we do not have access to the article that you are seeking, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan. Fill in the form located on the library home page.
Academic Search Complete - Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context - Online library of current event topics - the facts, as well as the arguments, of each topic's proponents and detractors.
Directory of Open Access Journals - Over 3000 full text, scientific and scholarly, open access journals, with 1003 journals searchable at article level.
Biological AbstractsIf you are looking for older research, you should use a print index.
Interlibrary Loan
Many of our databases provide links to full text articles in either PDF or html format. If we do not have access to an online full text version, you may then search the Dacus OneSearch Catalog (DOC) for the journal to see if we have access to it through another database or in print in the library.
You can place an Interlibrary Loan order for the article if you cannot find it online or in Dacus Library. There is no charge for Interlibrary Loan but be aware that it can take up to 6 days for the library to receive articles ordered through Interlibrary Loan.
Unpaywall
Unpaywall is a free service that locates open-access articles and presents paywalled papers that have been legally archived and are freely available on other websites to users who might otherwise have hit a paywalled version. Since one part of the technology was released in 2016, it has become indispensable for many researchers. And firms that run established scientific search engines are starting to take advantage of Unpaywall.