Skip to Main Content Winthrop University

New Titles @ Dacus

This guide lets you know about new resources now available at Dacus Library, the Music Library, and Pettus Archives.

Highlights

Riot and Rebellion in Mexico: The Making of a Race War Paradigm
Pushing Paper: Contemporary Drawing from 1970 to Now
Green Light for Green Flight
The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
The Gastronomical Arts in Spain
Responsibility in Environmental Governance
The Florentine Codex
Gender: a Graphic Guide
Machines Like Us: Toward AI with Common Sense

Complete list - the letters represent the call number range. A guide to the call numbers is in a box to the left.

EBook

Aristotle. Book lambda : metaphysics / translated with an introduction and commentary by Lindsay Judson.

Hinduism [electronic resource] : A Beginner''s Guide

Violence and Peace in Sacred Texts [electronic resource] : Interreligious Perspectives / edited by Maria Power, Helen Paynter.

Illicit Trafficking of Cultural Properties in Arab States.

Hunting : a cultural history / Jan E. Dizard and Mary Zeiss Stange.

Cultural dance in Australia : essays on performance contexts beyond the Pale / Jeanette Mollenhauer.

Communication and catastrophic events : strategic risk and crisis management / edited by H. Dan O'Hair and Mary John O'Hair.

Game strategies for business integration in the digital economy / edited by Elena G. Popkova.

Managing for Social Justice [electronic resource] : Harnessing Management Theory and Practice for Collective Good / edited by Latha Poonamallee, Anita D. Howard, Simy Joy.

Intersectionality as critical social theory / Patricia Hill Collins.

Doing Nothing Is No Longer an Option : One Woman's Journey into Everyday Antiracism.

History Teaches Us to Resist : How Progressive Movements Have Succeeded in Challenging Times.

Sexuality : a graphic guide / Meg-John Barker & Jules Scheele.

Gender : a graphic guide / Meg-John Barker, Jules Scheele.

On intellectual activism / Patricia Hill Collins.

Routledge handbook of critical studies in whiteness / edited by Shona Hunter and Christi van der Westhuizen.

Abolition. feminism. now. / Angela Y. Davis, Gina Dent, Erica R. Meiners, and Beth E. Richie.

The Science of Hate : How Prejudice Becomes Hate and What We Can Do to Stop It.

Greening of America's Building Codes: Promises and Paradoxes

Decolonizing design : a cultural justice guidebook / Elizabeth (Dori) Tunstall ; with illustrations by Ene Agi.

Narrative Complexity Cognition, Embodiment, Evolution / edited by Marina Grishakova and Maria Poulaki.

The Methuen Drama book of post-black plays [electronic resource] / edited by Harry J. Elam, Jr. and Douglas A. Jones, Jr.

Music/video : histories, aesthetics, media / edited by Gina Arnold [and three others].

Native liberty [electronic resource] : natural reason and cultural survivance / Gerald Vizenor.

A Raisin in the Sun.

Invisible man / editor, Robert C. Evans.

Looking for Lorraine : The Radiant and Radical Life of Lorraine Hansberry.

Machine learning for cyber security / edited by Preeti Malik, Lata Nautiyal and Mangey Ram.

Machines like us : toward AI with common sense / Ronald J. Brachman and Hector J. Levesque.

Cyber Security Meets National Security: International Perspectives on Digital Era Threats

The immortal life of Henrietta Lacks / Rebecca Skloot.

Instruments of embodiment : costuming in contemporary dance / Eric C. Mullis.

Dangerous Bodies [electronic resource] : New Global Perspectives on Fashion and Transgression / edited by Royce Mahawatte, Jacki Willson.

Urban crime prevention : multi-disciplinary approaches / edited by Miguel Saraiva.

A - Reference Works, Museums, Scholarship

 

B - Philosophy, Psychology, Religion

Be sure to check out the new ebooks in this subject area on the Electronic tab!

C - History

D - World History

Becoming a Holocaust educator : purposeful pedagogy through inquiry / edited by Jennifer Lemberg, Alexander Pope IV ; foreword by Tanya Baker ; afterword by Sondra Perl.

Whose comfort? : body, sexuality and identities of Korean 'comfort women' and Japanese soldiers during WWII / Yonson Ahn.

France : a history : from Gaul to de Gaulle / John Julius Norwich.

Camino de Santiago : Camino Frances: St Jean - Santiago - Finisterre / Anna Dintaman, David Landis.

Be sure to check out the new ebook in this subject area on the Electronic tab!

E-F - History of the Americas

The papers of Thomas Jefferson, v.46 / Julian P. Boyd, editor ; Lyman H. Butterfield and Mina R. Bryan, associate editors.

The Florentine Codex : an encyclopedia of the Nahua world in sixteenth-century Mexico / edited by Jeanette Favrot Peterson and Kevin Terraciano

Riot and rebellion in Mexico : the making of a race war paradigm / Ana Sabau.

 

Be sure to check out the new ebooks in these subject areas on the Electronic tab!

G - Geography, Anthropology, Recreation

Selling Black Brazil : race, nation, and visual culture in Salvador, Bahia / Anadelia A. Romo.

A city on a lake : urban political ecology and the growth of Mexico City / Matthew Vitz.

The gastronomical arts in Spain : food and etiquette / edited by Frederick A. de Armas and James Mandrell.

H - Social Sciences

Thinking like an economist : how efficiency replaced equality in U.S. public policy / Elizabeth Popp Berman.

Responsibility in environmental governance : unwrapping the global food waste dilemma / Tobias Gumbert.

Fruit tramps : a family of migrant farmworkers / Herman LeRoy Emmet ; foreword by Cornell Capa ; introduction by A.D. Coleman.

Electrifying Mexico : technology and the transformation of a modern city / Diana J. Montaño.

Leveraged : the new economics of debt and financial fragility / edited by Moritz Schularick.

Reimagining Malcolm X : street thinker versus homo academicus / Seyed Javad Miri

Fame and fandom : functioning on and offline / edited by Celia Lam, Jackie Raphael, Renee Middlemost, and Jessica Balanzategui.

We are left without a father here : masculinity, domesticity, and migration in postwar Puerto Rico / Eileen J. Suárez Findlay.

Saving our own lives : a liberatory practice of harm reduction / Shira Hassan ; edited by Deana G. Lewis.

In camps : Vietnamese refugees, asylum seekers, and repatriates / Jana K. Lipman.

Landscapes of hate : tracing spaces, relations and responses / edited by Edward Hall, John Clayton and Catherine Donovan.

 

J - Political Science

K - Law

The documentary history of the ratification of the Constitution, v.38 / edited by Merrill Jensen.

Be sure to check out the new ebook in this subject areas on the Electronic tab!

L - Education

Critical race theory and social studies futures : from the nightmare of racial realism to dreaming out loud / edited by Amanda E. Vickery, Noreen Naseem Rodriguez ; foreword by Tyrone C. Howard.

Post-pandemic social studies : how COVID-19 has changed the world and how we teach / edited by Wayne Journell ; foreword by Joel Westheimer ; afterword by Tyrone C. Howard.

M - Music

 

Be sure to check out the new ebook in this subject area on the Electronic tab!

N - Fine Arts

Pushing paper : contemporary drawing from 1970 to now / edited by Isabel Seligman ; preface by Hugo Chapman

Déjeunons sur l'herbe : la beauté est-elle une secrète insulte ? / Guillaume Durand.

Be sure to check out the new ebooks in this subject area on the Electronic tab!

P - Language and Literature

The Department of Truth / writer, James Tynion IV ; artist, Martin Simmonds ; letterer, Aditya Bidikar.

Persepolis / Marjane Satrapi.

Une gourmandise : roman / Muriel Barbery.

Une heure de ferveur : roman / Muriel Barbery.

La place / Annie Ernaux.

Les années / Annie Ernaux.

The best American short stories, 2022.

Be sure to check out the new ebooks in these subject areas on the Electronic tab!

Q - Science

An introduction to statistical learning : with applications in R / Gareth James, Daniela Witten, Trevor Hastie, Robert Tibshirani.

Clinical studies on nutraceuticals and dietary supplements / Sreeraj Gopi, Augustine Amalraj, Akhila Nair and Chandradhara Divya.

Molecular mechanisms of functional food / edited by Rocio Campos-Vega, B. Dave Oomah.

Flaxseed : evidence-based cardiovascular and other medicinal benefits / Robert Fried and Richard M. Carlton.

R - Medicine

S - Agriculture

T - Technology

Be sure to check out the new ebooks in this subject area on the Electronic tab!

U - Military Science

Z - Bibliography, Library Science

Making medieval manuscripts / Christopher de Hamel.

Be sure to check out the new ebook in this subject area on the Electronic tab!

State Government Documents

Federal Government Documents

Health status of the disadvantaged chartbook 1986.

Green light for green flight : NASA's contributions to environmentally responsible aviation / Peter W. Merlin.

Promise denied : NASA's X-34 and the quest for cheap reusable access to space / Bruce I. Larrimer.

The Library collects children's books to support the Education curriculum. 

The Juvenile Collection also includes Young Adult fiction such as Harry Potter, and John Green.

Standing in the need of prayer : a modern retelling of the classic spiritual / written by Carole Boston Weatherford ; illustrated by Frank Morrison.

Just a girl : a true story of World War II / Lia Levi ; illustrations by Jess Mason ; translated by Sylvia Notini.

Star child : a biographical constellation of Octavia Estelle Butler / Ibi Zoboi.

Ain't burned all the bright / by Reynolds & Griffin.

The life and crimes of Hoodie Rosen / by Isaac Blum.

Where wonder grows / by Xelena González ; illustrated by Adriana M. Garcia.

Wildoak / by C.C. Harrington ; drawings by Diana Sudyka.

Freewater / Amina Luqman-Dawson.

The last mapmaker / Christina Soontornvat.

The words we keep / Erin Stewart.

All my rage / Sabaa Tahir.

Burn down, rise up / Vincent Tirado.

The talk / Alicia D. Williams ; illustrated by Briana Mukodiri Uchendu.

Knight Owl / Christopher Denise.

Me and the boss : a story about mending and love / Michelle Edwards & April Harrison.

Maizy Chen's last chance / Lisa Yee.

Resources added to the collections of the Louise Pettus Archives and Special Collections include:

The moral bugle call : an address delivered in the Old South Church, Boston, Massachusetts, at the morning service, April 22, 1923 / by Rev. George A. Gordon.

Historical sketch of the battle of King's Mountain : fought between the American and British troops, at King's Mountain, York Co., S.C. October 7, 1780 / by Robert Lathan.

Counting the days, by James S. Tippett, with pictures by Elizabeth Tyler Wolcott.

The tale of two bad mice / by Beatrix Potter.

Shadow and the stocking : a true story / by James S. Tippett ; pictures by Morgan Dennis.

Learning why / by Thomas I. Dowling [and others] ; illustrated by Jean Busby [and] J.M. Swanson

Vinzi, a story of the Swiss Alps, by Johanna Spyri ... translated by Elisabeth P. Stork; illustrations in color by Maria L. Kirk.

An old-fashioned girl / by Louisa M. Alcott.

On the plantation : a story of a Georgia boy's adventures during the war / by Joel Chandler Harris ; with twenty-three illustrations by E.W. Kemble.

The Osborne Collection of Early Children's Books ... : a catalogue / prepared at Boys and Girls House by Judith St. John ; with an introduction by Edgar Osborne.