Skip to main content

South Carolina History: Databases

This is a guide covering the history, culture, and geography of South Carolina from colonial times to the present.

America: History and Life Database

America: History and Life is the most comprehensive index covering the history of the U.S. and Canada.  It indexes a number of journals relevant to South Carolina history. There are over 450,000 bibliographic entries in the database, but it is not full text.

Other Databases for SC History

Academic One File, Academic Search Complete,  and JSTOR are all full-text periodical databases covering a variety of subjects.  JSTOR is the most scholarly journal archive covering many disciplines.  Those areas most relevant in JSTOR  for SC history are: African American Studies, American Indian Studies, Anthropology, Archaeology, Architecture & Architectural History, Feminist & Women's Studies, Geography, History, and Political Science. SC Online Records Index, provided via the SC Department of Archives and history, indexes over 308,000 primary source records related to the state.

Newspapers Related to South Carolina

Newsbank provides the electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.  Major local resources included are: The State, The Herald (Rock Hill), and The Charlotte Observer.

Head of Content Services & Professor

Martha Smith's picture
Martha Smith
Contact:
803-323-2274
Subjects:COVID-19