ERIC
- Containing over one million records, ERIC indexes over 2000 journal titles covering the entire field of education, including, physical education
- Includes indexing for both non-journal material (known as ERIC Documents or ED’s) and journal articles (EJ’s)
- ED’s: from 1966 to 2004, available on microfiche in the library; from 1993 to present, available full text online.
- EJ’s: some full text of articles are available on ERIC; for the others there are links for checking Dacus Library holdings.
- Can limit to record type, including research reports. In one of the boxes identified as “Publication Type”, select “Reports - Research” from the drop-down list.
- Can limit to peer reviewed publications. (NOTE: Limiting a search to peer reviewed publications eliminates all ERIC Documents.)
- Can limit search by date, language and educational level or by other criteria
- Search results listed by relevance; can change to a date order listing
- Use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term
- Can email, print, or download search results
- It is an EBSCOHost database
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
- Topics covered include emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, and observational and experimental methods
- Provides full-text of over 500 peer-reviewed journals
- Most of the journals covered are also covered in PscyInfo
- Can limit to peer-reviewed journals only
- Use an * to truncate a search term or to search both the plural and singular forms
- Can email, print, or download search results
- Click on the “Help" for search hints and additional information
- It is an EBSCOHost database
PsycInfo
- Covers all fields of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law
- Covers over 1,300 journals, books, dissertations, and other resources
- Limited full-text access
- Coverage is back to 1897
- Can limit search to English language publications and publication types
- Use an * to truncate a search term
- Can email, print, or download search results
- Click on “Help” for additional information and search hints
- It is an EBSCOHost database
- Comprehensive coverage of sport, fitness, sports medicine, and related fields
- Indexes peer reviewed journals, magazines, books, and dissertations, some as far back as 1800
- Includes many full-text articles
- Can limit search to English language publications and publication type
- Use an * to truncate a search term
- Can email, print, or download search results
- Click on “Help” for additional information and search hints
- It is an EBSCOHost database
Multi-disciplinary Databases
Academic Search Complete
- A multi-disciplinary index to more than 8,000 journals, about half of which are full-text
- Can limit search to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals
- Search results listed by relevance; can change to a date order listing
- Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term
- It is an EBSCOHost database
JSTOR
- Full-text of several hundred international scholarly journals, many of them going back to the 19th Century
- Does not include “current” issues of journals; all have an embargo of several years before articles can be added to the archives
- Journals come from a number of disciplines, including 116 from education
- In “Advanced Search”, can limit by item type, date range, language, and discipline
- Be sure to use “ ” when searching phrases
