Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art History: Pre-History Through the Middle Ages

Reference Resources

Listed below are peer-reviewed reference books that are available for your use.  Some of these are located on the shelves near the reference desk, others are available online.

1000 Symbols

(Ref. N7740 .S54 2002)

 

The Atlas of Mysterious Places:  The World's Unexplained Sacred Sites, Symbolic Landscapes, Ancient Cities, and Lost Lands

(Ref. CC175 .A85 1987)

 

The Book of Signs, Which Contains All Manner of Symbols Used from the Earliest Times to the Middle Ages by Primitive Peoples and Early Christians

(Ref. AZ108 .K62 1955) (also in the General Collection)

 

Complete Dictionary of Symbols

(Ref. GR931 .C66 2005)

 

The Continuum Encyclopedia of Animal Symbolism in Art

(Ref. GR705 .W47 2004)


The Dictionary of Art

(Ref. N31 .D5 1996)

 

Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art

(Ref. N7560 .H34 2008)

 

Dictionary of Symbolism : Cultural Icons and the Meanings Behind Them

(Ref. AZ108 .B5313 1994)

 

The Dictionary of Symbols in Western Art

(Ref. N7740 .C29 1995 - Kept at the Reference Desk)

 

The Encyclopedia of Tibetan Symbols and Motifs

(Ref. N7346.T5 .B43 1999)

 

Encyclopedia of World Art

(Ref. N31 .E533)

 

Facts on File Encyclopedia of Art

(Ref. N31 .F33 2005)

 

How to Get Help

Phone:
Reference 803-323-4501
Circulation 803-323-4502

Chat:
You can find the chat link on the right side of the library homepage.

Email:
refdesk@winthrop.edu

Subject Guide

Hope Johnson's picture
Hope Johnson
Contact:
johnsonhs@winthrop.edu
Subjects:Art, Design