Art History: Databases

Academic Search Complete

• A multi-disciplinary index to more than 8,000 journals, about half of which are full-text
• Information in this database dates back to 1975
• Can limit search to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals
• Search results listed by relevance; can change to order by date, soure or author
• Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term

Art Index

• Indexes both English-language and foreign-language journals and magazines
• Contains over 400 leading art publications with coverage back to 1984
• Use the print version of Art Index located in compact storage for coverage from 1929 to 1983
• Provides mostly citations with a limited amount of full text articles.  Does have Webridge link for quickly checking to see if issues are available in another database or in print format in Dacus Library
• Can limit to peer reviewed (scholarly) journals in the search options and/or by language (by using the "select a field" drop-down option in one of the search boxes)
• Automatically truncates search terms and phrases.  To search for an exact term or phrase, use “ ” around the term or phrase
• Search results are sorted by relevance, but can be changed to sort by date, source or author
• Can print, email, or download results

ARTstor

• Digital library of over 1,000,000 images in all areas of art and architecture
• Images can be printed or saved to a file

JSTOR

• Full-text of several hundred international scholarly journals, many of them going back to the 19th Century
• Does not include “current” issues of journals; all have an embargo of several years before articles can be added to the archives
• Journals come from a number of disciplines, including over 800 titles from art, art history, architecture and architectural history
• In “Advanced Search”, can limit by item type, date range, language, and discipline
• Be sure to use “ ” when searching phrases

Click on the links below for additional databases available for your use.

Chat:
The chat link is on the right side of the library website.

Email:
refdesk@winthrop.edu

Phone:
803-323-4501