ART DATABASES
Art Index
- Indexes both English-language and foreign-language journals and magazines
- Contains over 400 leading art publications with coverage back to 1984
- Use the print version of Art Index located in compact storage for coverage from 1929 to 1983
- Provides citations only, no full text available. Does have link (Webridge) for quickly checking to see if issues are available in another database or in print format in Dacus Library
- Can limit to peer reviewed (scholarly) journals and/or by language (by using the drop-down option in one of the search boxes)
- Automatically truncates search terms and phrases. To search for an exact term or phrase, use “ ” around the term or phrase
- Search results are sorted by relevance, not date
- Can print, email, or download results
ARTstor
- Digital library of over 1,000,000 images in all areas of art and architecture
- Images can be printed or saved to a file
COMPREHENSIVE SCHOLARLY DATABASES
Academic Search Complete
- A multi-disciplinary index to more than 8,000 journals, about half of which are full-text
- Can limit search to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals
- Search results listed by relevance; can change to a date order listing
- Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term
JSTOR
- Full-text of several hundred international scholarly journals, many of them going back to the 19th Century
- Does not include “current” issues of journals; all have an embargo of several years before articles can be added to the archives
- Journals come from a number of disciplines, including 200 from art, art history, and architecture and 116 from education
- In “Advanced Search”, can limit by item type, date range, language, and discipline
- Be sure to use “ ” when searching phrases
EDUCATION DATABASES
Education Full Text
- Indexes hundreds of education-related magazines, journals, and books
- Many articles are full-text
- Can limit to year and publication type
- Can limit to peer-reviewed journals only
ERIC
- Containing over one million records, ERIC indexes over 2000 journal titles covering the entire field of education; including, art, art education, art therapy, etc.
- Includes indexing for both non-journal material (known as ERIC Documents or ED’s) and journal articles (EJ’s)
- ○ ED’s: from 1966 to 2004, available on microfiche on the top floor of Dacus Library; from 1993 to present, available full text online
- ○ EJ’s: some full text of articles are available on ERIC; for the others there are links for checking Dacus Library holdings
- Can limit search by year, language, publication type, and/or educational level
- Can use an * as a truncation symbol to find all variations of a search term
- Can print, email, or download results
Professional Development Collection
- Full text for more many education journals including:
- Booklist, Education,
- Education Digest,
- Educational Leadership,
- High School Journal,
- Reading Teacher, etc.
- Content includes:
- abstracted and indexed journals,
- full-text journals,
- peer-reviewed, abstracted and indexed journals,
- peer-reviewed, full- text journals, and
- educational reports.
Teacher Reference Center
- Provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of peer-reviewed education journals.
PSYCHOLOGY DATABASES - COGNITIVE PROCESSES OF LEARNING & KNOWLEDGE ACQUISITION
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
- Indexes over 500 psychology journals, nearly 400 of which are full-text
- Can limit to peer-reviewed journals only
- Search results listed by relevance; can change to date order listing
- Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate search terms
- Can print, email, or download search results
PsycINFO
- Indexes over 1,300 journals in 25 languages as well as books, dissertations, and technical reports
- Can limit to peer-reviewed journals only
- Coverage is from 1887
- Can limit searches by language, date, age group, publication type, population group, and methodology
- Search results listed by relevance; can change to date order listing
- Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate search terms
- Can print, email, or download search results
