Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Winthrop University

Literary Criticism: Databases

Databases

SUBJECT SPECIFIC DATABASES

Artemis Literary Sources

  • Includes:  Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Something About the Author

  • Literature, history, culture, criticism, analysis

  • Scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals, journals

EBSCOHOST Research Databases

  • A collection of online databases and collections, offerring a variety of full text subject specific and general topic information

  • Includes the following literature specific databases:  MLA Bibliography and Literary Reference Center

  • Scholarly and popular commentary articles, books, journals, and reference works

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile

  •     Covers indexing from 1980 to the present

  •    Indexes journals and magazines in all subject areas, many of them full-text

  •    Can limit to "Peer-Reviewed (scholarly) Publications"

Academic Search Complete

  •     Covers indexing from 1975 to the present

  •    Indexes journals and magazines in all subject areas, many of them full-text

  •    Can limit to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals"

JSTOR

  •     A multi-disciplinary  peer-reviewed journal archive, including literature

  •    Mostly full-text

  •    Use quotation marks ( “ ” ) when searching for an exact phrase

  •    Includes foreign language publications

  •    Can limit by item type, date, and language

Research Help (Chat)

All Databases

Click on the links below for additional the databases available for your use.