Sport Management: Databases

Business Insights: Essentials

• Covers all aspects of business including the business of sports
• Indexes business journals, magazines, newsletters and other business sources
• Many items are full-text
• Use “Advanced Search” to combine search terms and to limit to peer-reviewed journals
• Use an * to truncate a search term
• Can email or print search results
• Click on “Help” or “Search Tips” for additional information and search hints

Business Source Complete

• Covers all aspects of business including the business of sports
• Indexes over 7,000 business journals, magazines, and other business sources
• Over 2,300 of these sources are full-text
• Can limit search to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals
• Use an * to truncate a search term
• Can email, print, or download search results
• Click on “Help” for additional information and search hints
• It is an EBSCOHost database

SportDiscus with Full Text

• Comprehensive coverage of sport, fitness, sports medicine, and related fields
• Indexes peer reviewed journals, magazines, books, and dissertations, some as far back as 1800
• Includes many full-text articles
• Can limit search to English language publications and publication type
• Use an * to truncate a search term
• Can email, print, or download search results
• Click on “Help” for additional information and search hints
• It is an EBSCOHost database

Multi-disciplinary Databases

 Academic Search Complete

• A multi-disciplinary index to more than 8,000 journals, about half of which are full-text
• Can limit search to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals
• Search results listed by relevance; can change to a date order listing
• Can use an * (asterisk) to truncate a search term
• It is an EBSCOHost database

JSTOR

• Full-text of several hundred international scholarly journals, many of them going back to the 19th Century
• Does not include “current” issues of journals; all have an embargo of several years before articles can be added to the archives
• Journals come from a number of disciplines, including 116 from education
• In “Advanced Search”, can limit by item type, date range, language, and discipline
• Be sure to use “ ” when searching phrases

Click on the links below for additional databases available for your use.