Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Athletic Training/Exercise Science: Databases

Databases

Use these databases to locate full-text and/or citations of articles for your athletic training/exercise science research:

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

  • Indexes over 800 journals, nearly 550 of which are full-text scholarly journals
  • Can limit to peer-reviewed publications
  • Use an * to truncate a search term or to search both the plural and singular forms
  • Can email, print, or download search results
  • Click on the “Help” button for search hints and additional information
  • It is an EBSCOHost database

 

JSTOR

  • Full-text of several hundred international scholarly journals, many of them going back to the 19th Century
  • Does not include “current” issues of journals; all have an embargo of several years before articles can be added to the archives
  • Journals come from a number of disciplines, including 116 from education
  • In “Advanced Search”, can limit by item type, date range, language, and discipline
  • Be sure to use “ ” when searching phrases

 

Liebert Online

  • Founded in 1980, Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. is universally acknowledged for publishing authoritative peer-reviewed journals, books, and trade magazines in the most promising areas of biotechnology, biomedical research/life sciences, clinical medicine and surgery, and law.

 

 Medline

  • Indexes nearly 4,800 peer reviewed journals and other resources in the field of medicine, nursing, nutrition, psychiatry, and health
  • Includes foreign language publications
  • Can limit search to English language publications, publication type, and population type (humans or animals)
  • Coverage is from 1965 to the present
  • A few full-text articles are included. Does have a link for checking holdings in the library or for full-text on other databases
  • Use an * to truncate a search term
  • Can email, print, or download search results
  • Click on “Help” for additional information and search hints
  • It is an EBSCOHost database

 

Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews (Part of CAB Direct)

  • Indexes over 6,000 books, reports and  peer reviewed journals in the field of human nutrition
  • Includes many foreign language publications
  • Can limit by language and document type
  • Abstracts only, no full-text
  • Search terms are automatically truncated to find all forms of the term
  • Use “ ” (quotation marks) to search as a phrase

 

PubMed

  • PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

 

ScienceDirect

  • Contains over 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and over 10,000 books in the areas of science, technology, and medicine
  • Includes many full-text articles
  • Includes foreign language publications
  • Use quotation marks (“ ”) to search as a phrase; with multiple terms, the “and” connector is already included
  • Can limit search by broad subject category, document type, and date
  • Use an * to truncate a search term
  • Default ranking is by relevance; can change to a date ranking
  • Can email, print, or download search results
  • Click on “Search Tips” for additional information and search hints

 

SportDiscus with Full Text

  • Comprehensive coverage of sport, fitness, sports medicine, and related fields
  • Indexes peer reviewed journals, magazines, books, and dissertations, some as far back as 1800
  • Includes many full-text articles
  • Can limit search to English language publications and publication type
  • Use an * to truncate a search term
  • Can email, print, or download search results
  • Click on “Help” for additional information and search hints
  • It is an EBSCOHost database

Research Help (Chat)

All Databases

Click on the links below for additional the databases available for your use.