Ida Jane Dacus Library
The primary goal of the Ida Jane Dacus Library is to support the instructional and research activities of the Winthrop University academic community. The Winthrop Library is the primary provider on campus of scholarly information in all forms from print to electronic.
The purpose of the Louise Pettus Archives and Special Collections is to provide physical protection for historically valuable materials and to make them available to individuals interested in researching and writing about the history of South Carolina.
Ida Jane Dacus Library
Dacus Library: Continue to improve the library facilities to provide an aesthetically pleasing, comfortable, and appropriate environment to meet patron needs and study patterns.
Louise Pettus Archives and Special Collections: Continue to meet preservation archival standards for the long term health of the collections while improving the Archives facilities to provide an aesthetically pleasing and comfortable area to meet patron needs.
Goal: Library Development: Seek involvement, input, support, and adequate funding from students, faculty, staff, university administration, and community for library and archives resources and services.
Goal: Marketing and Communication: Develop new avenues to encourage better communication and public relations within the library, the Winthrop community, the local community, and among the library patrons.
Goal: Resource Sharing: Engage in sharing resources through inter-institutional cooperation and agreements.
Goal: Resources and Collections: Acquire, organize, maintain, and preserve resources which complement and support the curriculum, research, and information needs of the University.
Goal: Services: Provide assistance and instruction to patrons, individually and in groups, to aid users in identifying, locating, and using resources.
Goal: Staffing: Recruit, hire, and train a competent, well-qualified, and diverse workforce. Provide opportunities for retraining, continuing education, and professional development for all Dacus Library staff and faculty and the staff and faculty in Louise Pettus Archives and Special Collections.
Goal: Technology: Maintain an accurate and up-to-date web presence and continue to explore emerging technologies and equipment to identify those most appropriate for Dacus Library, the Louise Pettus Archives and Special Collections, and the patrons.