Skip to main content

Research in Music: Websites

Library resources to help you begin your research in music.

Search Google

To search a phrase, put quotes (" ") around the phrase.

Websites

American Choral Music

Part of the Performing Arts Encyclopedia Web site at the Library of Congress, this site is devoted to choral music in the public domain which is available for users to download. Includes 73 compositions, the majority of which are from the collections of the Library of Congress. The 23 composers' works listed here are limited to a period beginning shortly after the Civil War and ending at 1922. The music selected includes accompanied music, a cappella, sacred and secular music, and works for mixed choirs, for women's and men's ensembles, and for children's choruses.

Dissertation Express 

A ProQuest Web site for the purchase of dissertations and theses. On the home page, click on the Dissertations Express link, then search for the dissertation or thesis you want (seach instructions included on page). Once you find what you want, click Order a Copy. You will be taken to a screen where you can order a dissertation or thesis online by selecting the format and pricing you want (not all dissertations are available in these formats): PDF (immediate download), Unbound, Softcover, Hardcover, Microfilm, or Microfiche.

National Association for Music Education (NAfME) 

Formerly the Music Educators National Conference (MENC).

Performing Arts Encyclopedia

The Performing Arts Encyclopedia (PAE) is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. The PAE provides information about the Library's collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, and other materials. Users can find digitized items from the collections; special Web presentations on topics and collections; articles and biographical essays; finding aids to collections; databases for performing arts resources; information on concerts at the Library; and a special Performing Arts Resource Guide which contains entries for hundreds of Library collections, Web sites, databases and exhibits.