Library Guides: Human Nutrition: Finding Articles

Best Bet Databases

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains titles in the disciplines of science, technology and medicine. Current subscription includes access to current year plus 4 years of rolling backfile. Winthrop does not subscribe to ScienceDirect books.

View a tutorial
Agricola This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Agricola contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agricultures National Agricultural Library. It encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology and earth and environmental sciences.
MEDLINE (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.
Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews (Part of CABI Digital Library) This link opens in a new window
Dacus subscribes to the CABI Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews Series A - an abstract database covering issues related to food and health. It includes papers relevant to human nutrition selected from over 4,500 academic journals, books, report, and conference proceedings. You can filter your results to the library's subscribed content using the Only Content I Have Full Access To filter on the right.

Learn More Search strategies in 2 minutes!

Research Jargon

There are a lot of words that you will hear and say "what does that actually mean?" Here are some explanations:

Peer-Review (Refereed): The process an article may go through prior to being published. Peer-review involves multiple experts in a particular field reading an article, making comments and suggestions, and sending back to the author for revision. Not all articles are peer-reviewed.

Scholarly: An article whose intended audience is experts in their field and is written by experts. While most scholarly publications are peer-reviewed, they are not always. However, if an article is peer-reviewed, it is typically scholarly.

Popular: Articles that are published without going through the peer-review process. They are typically written for the general public. Examples of resources that offer popular articles include The New York Times, Time, and People. Popular articles may be edited, but this is not the same as peer-review.

Primary Sources: are immediate, first-hand accounts of a topic, from people who had a direct connection with it.

Secondary Sources: are one step removed from primary sources, though they often quote or otherwise use primary sources. They can cover the same topic, but add a layer of interpretation and analysis.

Learn how to search!

OneSearch Tutorial

Science Direct Tutorial